We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite places in Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my favourite places in Costa Rica”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I've traveled extensively across Costa Rica and I think Drake Bay is one of my favourite spots. The Wilderness Resort is a great place to stay. All of the staff are wonderful and went above and beyond to help us with whatever we needed. The resort is right on the ocean and has spectacular views. We saw dolphins swimming in the ocean right in front of our suite and by the pool. The rooms are clean and very comfortable (but you'll want to spend most of your time outside anyway!!). The salt water pool is divine. At night the grass all around the pool lights up with fire flies and it is truly magical. The food is excellent and they were very catering to my vegetarian diet. They also have an awesome bartender who can whip up a pretty mean sangria.

The day trips to Corcovado and Cano Island are a must. We saw tons of wildlife, both on land and in the ocean (4 types of monkeys, scarlet macaws, toucans, boa constrictors, lizards, crocodiles, sea turtles, humpback whales, dolphins, tons of fish). Our guide Manuel was very knowledgeable and great at scouting out all the animals in the jungle and under the sea.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berecca_Tep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    56
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
103
120
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you want to stay in one of the most beautiful places on the planet, at affordable prices, have clean rooms and be attended to from the moment you arrive. The staff are unbelievably friendly.

Room Tip: Each room has it's advantage. I personally prefer the ones that were just set a little back from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The location is awesome. The staff so nice. But there are parts of the experience that could have been better. The meals are so-so (though the kitchen staff super-nice). The price-to-value ratio not very favorable in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Prince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We came 5 people to the osa peninsula, we called the hotel ,asking to pick us up just to see the rooms before we decide if we stay or not, as soon as we arrived
We decided to stay , adrian was super nice and helpful

The rooms are clean , and cleaned every day, the food was delicious , adrian arranged us a fresh makarel fish and made us an amazing dinner

They also arranged us the tour to the corcovado park , with our guide manuel, who was super nice as well

They also have free kayak all day
And you can paddle into an amazing river with crocodiles


We recommend this hotel to all of you when you visit osa

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotelNautilusCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our four nights spent here proved to be the highlight of our holiday. This was our final destination after a two week tour of Costa Rica. We were greeted with refreshing cold towels and cold drinks before being offered superb accommodation; a beautifully appointed air conditioned room, with the most stunning views of the Bay and the Pacific Ocean. Marleny, Marvin and all the staff were welcoming, happy and helpful. Kenneth presented us with the most delicious meals and Nellie and Cinnia made sure we were well looked after in the dining room. Manuel and Memo were excellent and passionate guides. During our amazing trips to Corcovado, Cano Island and the Sierpe mangrove swamps we were so fortunate to see tapir, all four species of monkey, numerous Humpbackwhales and Scarlet Macaws aswell as a wide range of of other colourful birds and animals. Thanks to Marleny finding a spare memory card, I was able to return with underwater photos, taken by Gustavo our snorkelling guide, of myriads of colourful fish, aswell as a Hawksbill turtle...one of many dreams fulfilled throughout our holiday. Thankyou Marleny and to Zac for your technical support! We have already recommended this wonderful place, with its gorgeous gardens and seawater pool, to family and friends, and would not hesitate in returning in the future.
David and Jane - from United Kingdom

Room Tip: We were in Room 45...accessed by 50 steps, but the views were well worth it. Other rooms are at grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Drake bay resort in mid August, the weather is fine, with only one afternoon short period of rain fall. We took a boat at 11:30 from Las Vegas restaurant from Sierpe, after 1.5 hours secenic and adventuous boat ride, we were greeted by big smiles, welcome drinks, and cold towel. We were quickly checked in, and told lunch is already prepared for us. Then from there, we had 2 days of best meal we had in costa rica, and the best part of the meal is the vegetable, yes, you don't many times find vegetable tasty, yet, it tasted so good we asked for more. The room amenity is very simple, basic but super clean. Housekeeping changes the sheet even for the bed we do not sleep on. Daily laundry service is a huge plus. The location of the resort is perfect, the ocean is in front of you, the back is the river flowing through. We had many crocodile and monkeys encounters while kayaking in the river. The tour organized by hotel is also wonderful, Manuel is very knowlege, patient, and new happy dad. On the way to canes island, we even spotted mama and baby whales, dolphins. The experience is surreal. Drake bay resort is a place you don't find all the high tech and modern, sleek feel, but a home. We talked to volunteers coming from US just because they completely fell in love with the place. We feel the same, the grounds, people, setup, stories how food is produced, picnics in the tours, you feel like you are very comfortable and at home. We will come back with kids for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 6 with AC, its closest to the dining room. overall rooms are all facing ocean, hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellofrisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houten, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A big thank you to Marleny and her team who made our last days in Costa Rica a perfect end!
The guides (Manuel and Tico) were very knowlegeable and gave us some great encounters with the wildlife in Corcovado and the Pacific (all 4 Monkey types, tapir, Boa, whales, dolphins, macaw, tucan and many more).
The hotel service was excellent with lunch boxes during trips and a great variety on diners. Also the free laundry service, use of kayaks and homemade cookies (Marleny) were very welcome!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are to be prefered over the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28Jeroen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.1 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
21.8 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
173 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake Bay Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Bay Wilderness Resort

Property: Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Address: Desembocadura del Rio Agujas | Bahia Drake, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since it was founded in 1985, Drake Bay Wilderness Resort has continued to be a family run business. Our focus has been to take good care of our guests so that they'll feel right at home. We try to be as flexible as possible, taking into consideration people´s needs and we do our very best to fulfill special requests. For instance, we will prepare meals for special diets. Furthermore, the hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful locations in the area. It has large open areas with a bounty of beautiful flowers, tropical plants, big mango trees, and beach almond trees that attract the raucous macaws. The property gives you the feel of being in a private island since the river flows along the backside of the property and the whole front side meets the ocean. In addition to this, most visitors come to us by boat and the access by land to the hotel is a small path, unreachable by car, that is submerged in a jungle. Best of all, there is a paradise like view of the bay and ocean, reflecting the deep blue sky and, beyond that, hills bound in lush forests.We offer all sorts of extras that help make our guests' stay more comfortable and enjoyable. For example, we include a full laundry service. Kayaks close to the water are always at our guests' disposal. We have a restaurant, bar, swimming pool, dock, and hammocks to relax under the shade of a tree with the cool ocean breeze blowing on you. From our hotel we take guests on adventures in snorkeling, hiking, diving, canoeing and whale watching. Visitors often see four species of monkeys, sloths, tapir, caiman and a myriad of birds, including the scarlet macaw, mangrove hawk, toucan... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Drake Bay Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drake Bay Wilderness Hotel Drake Bay
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing