We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach from”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Beach from”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

These is one of the best places to stay in town is really nice and comfortable places to stay in Drake, take have different rooms some with AC and also they have a nice swimming pool in from of their bar. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corcovadoinfocenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    55
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
98
119
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

The adventure starts with the flight from the San Jose airport on a 4-seater plane to the Drake Bay airport with a dirt landing track. Then the ride in the ancient Land Rover, fording the river 3 times, to the coast. Grab your luggage (pack light!) and wade through the surf to catch your boat to the resort. You know you're in the middle of nowhere when you can't get there by road! Absolutely stunning! Small & secluded - a hideaway from the world. No radios, No TVs. No phones. No clocks. Absolute peace! Meals are served family style - everyone gets to know everyone else because there are so few guests! One of our fellow travelers was there to fish - and we ate at dinner what he caught that day!!! They even made a birthday cake for me! We did the Corcovado National Park safari (just the two of us and our guide) and also opted for a combo swim with the dolphins/snorkel/beach picnic. The water is so clear it's purple! You can see 90 feet! Put away your wallets - just a tick mark next to your name at the outdoor bar and you're all set for a libation and a game of Janga!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
260 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here on a last minute vacation change. We were not happy with accommodations, or activity selection in Dominical. Checked the internet, made a couple of phone calls and we were off to Drake Bay. Left our car at a secure lot in Sierpe ($6.00 a day) and took a boat to Drake Bay. Boat ride was just over an our and we arrived in Drake Bay just before dark. We were greeted with a cool, wet towel and chilled papaya juice. All meals are included and you are never hungry. They will arrange your travel for activities and pack you a lunch. All you pay for extra is alcoholic drinks which are charged to your room. We were there for Thanksgiving and stayed for 4 nights. The first two nights there were 5 people total and last two ten. Private, hiking to beaches, Corcavoda Park, Cano Island. No television but there is wifi access. Staff are very friendly and they will do your laundry as part of their service. Prices were about 90 per person per night and boat transportation 20 per person each way. The place to go to get away from it all. Right on the bay. Air Conditioned rooms, hot water, pool and if you need anything just ask at the desk, someone will be happy to help you.

Room Tip: During the wet season access by car is very difficult and taking the boat is a must. Even in good w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I booked this trip as a birthday surprise trip for my husband and we ended up with some really outstanding days. Flying in from San Jose, beautiful Nature Air flight, pick up to the hotel, nice turn with the boat and then the surprise, a real jewel of the Peninsula Osa.
Marleny and her staff are very friendly, warm and helpful. The food is absolutely outstanding, they even arranged a candlelight dinner for us as a birthday surprise, put a table directly to the sea and served us if we were sitting in the restaurant. What a wonderful dinner and what a great service! Also the massage and the Spa treatments were wonderful and relaxing.
They were also helpful with any tips and trips like Corcovado National Park and wale watching and helped enormously when my husband lost his glasses in the ocean to get new ones per plane from San José.
We can warmly recommend this palce and encourage you to not hold back with any personal wishes. The staff loves to make your days really special.

Room Tip: We believe all rooms are great, but ask for one close to the sea. Please travel light, they get your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DagmarMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you're going to the Osa Peninsula, this is the place to stay! Right on the water, excellent views, trails, beaches. Before we went, we read some negative reviews about the service, friendliness, and food Drake Bay Wilderness has to offer, and after going, I can't say enough positive things about the entire place. We will definitely be back soon! Thanks to all who made our trip wonderful!
-- The Morgans

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mallory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiantown, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Having to travel by plane, small, plane, boat , and jeep to get here was so fun! My husband and I seriously felt like we were in an Indiana Jones movie. The staff and service is amazing. The views spectacular. And the food was so so good. Everything was included. We took a night time bug tour at my husband's request and ended up really enjoying it. Perfect for Hiking. our favorite part was talking to the staff about the nature, hiking to the town, and hiking to Rio Claro.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very lovely spot, well kept, basic lodging and excellent food. Staff was very helpful. Beautiful grounds, great service, wonderful views. Rooms are basic but clean. Ceiling fans (no a/c), running hot and cold water. Nice salt water pool. The local guide, Manuel, was knowledgeable and went above and beyond to make sure we developed a greater appreciation of the wildlife and flora of the area. Short boat ride to Corcovado National Park and about a half hour to diving/snorkeling off of Cano Island. The area is VERY humid so do not expect wet items to dry. Have non-slip flip flops to wear in your room, the tile gets wet and stays slick

Room Tip: I do not think there is a bad room in the place. They all face the ocean and are an adequate distan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana78131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.1 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.3 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake Bay Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Bay Wilderness Resort

Property: Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Address: Desembocadura del Rio Agujas | Bahia Drake, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since it was founded in 1985, Drake Bay Wilderness Resort has continued to be a family run business. Our focus has been to take good care of our guests so that they'll feel right at home. We try to be as flexible as possible, taking into consideration people´s needs and we do our very best to fulfill special requests. For instance, we will prepare meals for special diets. Furthermore, the hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful locations in the area. It has large open areas with a bounty of beautiful flowers, tropical plants, big mango trees, and beach almond trees that attract the raucous macaws. The property gives you the feel of being in a private island since the river flows along the backside of the property and the whole front side meets the ocean. In addition to this, most visitors come to us by boat and the access by land to the hotel is a small path, unreachable by car, that is submerged in a jungle. Best of all, there is a paradise like view of the bay and ocean, reflecting the deep blue sky and, beyond that, hills bound in lush forests.We offer all sorts of extras that help make our guests' stay more comfortable and enjoyable. For example, we include a full laundry service. Kayaks close to the water are always at our guests' disposal. We have a restaurant, bar, swimming pool, dock, and hammocks to relax under the shade of a tree with the cool ocean breeze blowing on you. From our hotel we take guests on adventures in snorkeling, hiking, diving, canoeing and whale watching. Visitors often see four species of monkeys, sloths, tapir, caiman and a myriad of birds, including the scarlet macaw, mangrove hawk, toucan... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Drake Bay Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drake Bay Wilderness Hotel Drake Bay
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing