We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't forget the Scuba Diving!”
Review of Aguila de Osa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aguila de Osa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Forest Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't forget the Scuba Diving!”
Reviewed April 29, 2010

We just returned from an exciting trip to the Osa Peninsula and Aguila de Osa. All of the above water activities and the service at Aguila were outstanding, but so was the diving. We did 10 dives over five days, and while there aren't a great number of sites out at Cano Island, we were never bored. Giant Pacific Mantas, a Bull Shark, many many White Tip Sharks, Turtles, Morays and Dolphins may have been the highlights, but the overall health of the schooling fish was exciting to see in an of itself. The dive master Sandra is solid, the boats were comfortable and even when we had to work around the snorkeling schedule we never felt crowded or rushed. There's a lot to do on land here that shouldn't be missed, but don't forget the diving.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FishNerd7238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    57
    12
    4
    9
See reviews for
130
239
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for four nights to finish our honeymoon. I had read good things about La Aguila and La Paloma, but La Paloma was closed in September.

We did the 4 night trip and went to Cano Island/snorkeling, one day hiking in Corcovado Nat Park, and one free day/massage. The snorkelling is ok, not as clear of water as the Carribean, but visibility of around 30 feet and nice fish species. Basically it is not a snorkelling/scuba destination, but while you are there it is worth doing. The Nat Park is great, we saw a lot of monkeys, scarlet macaws, a faimly of coati, and crocidiles. The day trip only takes you through the edge of the park.

The food is really good, huge portions at dinner in a family style tables. The lunches during the treks were as good as I've had for packed lunches. We were upgraded to sweet since we were on our honeymoon. Actually, there were 4 other couples there also on their honemoons, from all over Europe so it must be a popular honeymoon spot. We had monkeys running across our rooftops two different mornings which was so cool to watch them around you hanging out in the trees.

Also, the bug lady is as good as everyone says!! My wife doesn't like bugs and she really enjoyed it also!

Pros:
the rooms are pretty secluded, surrounded by jungle (2 or 3 rooms per building)
great location, near Corcovado nat park
great day activities
great staff
free kayak rental
amazing food

Cons:
no real sand beach or pool (but we were busy doing other stuff anyways)
considerably more expensive than anywhere else in Costa Rica

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottFromCincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Our family of 5 (3 boys aged 18, 14 and 11) just returned from 8 days in Costa Rica. Each and every day of the 4 days we spent at the Aguila de Osa were a highlight. From the riverboat ride and thrilling entry into the open ocean before pulling up to the inn's dock, to the warm welcome from Brad and Carlos, to the delicious meals prepared by Dixon in the most beautiful kitchen on earth, to the well led excursions (thanks Gabriella, Tony, Willy, Ezekial and Alex!) followed by restful siestas on our porch and leisurely strolls on the jungle path to the pueblo and the beach (with Coco tagging along), and relaxed evenings enjoying the company of the other guests and staff (Claudio, Luis, Carlos), the experience we had could not have been any better. We will cherish the memories of our stay at this special property in this remote tropical paradise!

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank atgme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

If you are looking for a luxurious full service lodge in an out of the way, non-tourist location, I highly recommend Aguila de Osa Inn. It is located on Drake Bay at the north end of the Peninsula del Sol. Guests are warmly greeted at the hotel's private dock with a delicious fruit beverage: then everything is "explained" by a charming English-speaking hostess. All meals are included - and they are well prepared with many locally grown vegetables and fruits. Guests order individual breakfasts from a menu, but lunches and dinners are served family-style at tables for ten guests. There are a variety of foods, so it's likely that even picky eaters will find many pleasing choices. The Inn has an international "flavor". Our dinner companions were from France, Belgium, Scotland, Columbia and Germany. I don't recommend the hotel for families with small children or for people with mobility limitations. All rooms are built into the hillside, which means walking up and down stairs. Guides to Corvado National Park, Cano Island and for full day Birding outings were excellent. [Ask for Carlos if you are a birder!] Water landings onto the shore require agility getting in and out of a bouncing boat. The grounds are beautiful and our room was exceptional with a wide veranda and view of the Pacific Ocean. A three night stay seemed just right.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BirdingMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Aguila de Osa was our last stop in a 10 day Costa Rica trip and we definitely saved the best for last! We joined Brad, the owner, on the boat trip to the inn. You really feel like you are in the jungle here. From the water you can't even see much of the inn, it's blends in with the surroundings so well. The cabins are hidden along the hillside among the lush landscaping. There is electricity here, but no AC. Ceiling fans help with a breeze. The three daily meals were all scrumptious - we really ate well here. Meals with the other guests gave us all a chance to tell about the animals, birds and fish we saw during the day and talk about what we were planning next. The tours to Corcovado Park and Cano Island were wonderful. Tony is a former park ranger and spotted crocodiles, coatimundi, spider monkeys and more on our small group tour (just us and another couple). Gabriella took us snorkeling and named every fish we saw, in addition to the white tipped reef sharks, nurse shark and devil ray. And Carlos, the birdman, knows about everything! When not on an organized tour, there are trails to walk, kayaks for paddling around the river or bay, and many places to just sit and relax. There were scarlet macaws in the trees around the inn and a caiman sunning in the river mouth. Just a fabulous place. We'd go back in a heartbeat! Thanks for a great place, Brad (and Coco)!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leswes-pgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountain lakes, nj, usa
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Aguila de Osa---by far our favorite place that we stayed in Costa Rica. The employees were accomodating and friendly. The owner Bradd made everyone feel at home. The layout of the hotel was great! We enjoyed the family style dining, the high vaulted ceilings, the view from our porch, and the general atmosphere of the hotel. Highly recommend this to others UNLESS you're the type of person who needs a pool, A/C, and a short walk to your room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauriefid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2010

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Aguila de Osa. First of all, the location is amazing. Osa Peninsula is one of the purest, cleanest, and most beautiful places I have ever seen. Upon arrival, the staff are so welcoming and accommodating. You cannot find a friendlier staff. The owner, Brad, makes you feel like family. How many other resorts can you say you know the owners name, and he knows yours?!?! The rooms have screen windows to allow for the breeze. You stay cool enough at night for a good sleep. The porches with the hammocks are very relaxing and look out over the ocean. Wildlife is right outside your door. The monkeys, macaws, and iguanas are truly your neighbors. The excursions are well organized and run by friendly staff. We did the ziplining, night tour, cano island, and a full day of fishing. The food is excellent, far exceeded my expectations. The kitchen packs your lunch for excursions, which is a nice touch. I loved having the opportunity to eat with the other guests. We met wonderful people and had a chance to compare stories and recommendations. It was a safe area of Costa Rica, I never felt threatened.
You definitely stay wet with the humidity. Just be prepared. It is totally worth it though. I would return in a heartbeat! Thank you Brad and staff for an amazing experience. It was a honeymoon to remember, Love Shannon & Matt.
Ps: hugs to Coco!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCEverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.1 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
21.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#6 of 8 in Drake Bay
363 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 45 in Drake Bay
389 reviews
23.2 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aguila de Osa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguila de Osa

Property: Aguila de Osa
Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aguila de Osa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainforest and Marine Adventure Lodge: Nestled amidst the jungle-covered hillsides overlooking the tranquil waters of Drake Bay, Aguila de Osa is an exquisite rainforest and marine adventure hotel. It’s here where you will experience life right on the edge of the Osa. Aguila de Osa is the destination for adventurers from around the world, offering the most convenient access to Corcovado National Park, Caño Island Biological Marine Reserve, and a full array of adventures including world-class sport fishing, scuba diving and snorkeling, plus bird watching, hiking, beach trips, river kayaking, mangrove estuary tours, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aguila de Osa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguila De Osa Hotel Drake Bay
Hotel Aguila De Osa
Aguila De Osa Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing