We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Aguila de Osa - highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aguila de Osa Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aguila de Osa Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Aguila de Osa - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were there in late May and loved it. The location is beautiful, the property is well maintained, the rooms are comfortable, the staff is very friendly and welcoming and the food was excellent.

The one thing you need to keep in mind is that the whole Osa peninsula area is very rustic and they keep it that way on purpose. This guarantees that the wildlife have a great environment and you will see all sorts of creatures all over the place. The flip side is that it's rustic so much of what one takes for granted in the US is very different there. For example, the inn has no A/C. The rooms have those large tropical ceiling fans, but it can get very humid - you're in a rain forest, after all. And we did have visitors - a frog and a crab at different points - in the room. Oh - and because their septic systems in the area aren't robust, you put used toilet paper in the trash basket by the toilet. It gets emptied daily, but takes a little getting used to.

But if you go in with an open mind, understanding that this isn't the Hyatt in Maui, you'll have a wonderful experience.

Re: wildlife, there were land crabs scuttling all over the place, two 6-8 foot crocodiles swam up the river right in front of the lobby on our first afternoon, there was a boa living on the roof of the lobby that slithered down onto a neighboring palm, iguanas all over the place, monkeys, frogs, etc.

I would definitely go back. Already thinking about it, actually.

Room Tip: I think pretty much all the rooms are similar. They are more or less cabins divided down the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    46
    8
    4
    9
See reviews for
117
216
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was our 2nd stop on our Costa Rica trip, as we wanted to do some scuba diving off of Isle de Cano. After arriving in Drake Bay (an adventure in itself as there are river crossings and the road is challenging), we were met by a boat that took us across the bay to the resort. You can hike (or kayak) from the town to the resort, but not with luggage! First, the staff was extremely friendly, and they were very knowledgeable about local wildlife. The food was good (you had two choices for lunch and dinner). The rooms were great; we stayed in a junior suite that had a beautiful patio with views of the bay. The diving was better than we expected--there were many schools of fish and lots of sharks, eels, turtles, really, we were pleasantly surprised. The dive boat was roomy and comfortable. We got some great pictures of dolphins swimming in its wake! The owner, Brad, is so down to earth and nice! After just a short time with him, he felt like an old friend! I would highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: The larger the room number, the farther you have to walk to the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pzamanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had traveled to Costa Rica in May 2014 for our honeymoon and this was by far our favorite hotel. The staff are very friendly and the views could not be better. We had travelled during the off season so there was only one other couple there with us but that didn't stop the staff from great service and ridiculously amazing food. Nothing even compares to the states. A very isolate location and had to arrive by boat which just adds to the seclusion. NO COPLAINTS!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon. It was nice to be here in the off-season because there are fewer people staying at the resort, which makes the family-style dinners and happy hours more communal.

I'm not terribly outdoorsy but thought that while in Costa Rica it would be worth trying the open-air casita. At night it was a little difficult (it gets so dark here and there are so many critters) to adjust but it was lovely waking up with the sun and the birds every morning as the light poured in. The rooms are clean well maintained. The high ceilings and fans make it so that it does not get too hot. Outside are hammocks that overlook the surroundings (jungle, garden, and distant ocean) which are perfect for a snooze or rest after a morning activity.

The breakfasts and lunches are amazing! I especially love the fresh fish every day as an option for dinner. Dinner every night is 3-courses, delicious, but got to be a bit much for me every day (sometimes I would just ask for the main course and dessert). The food and menu are all good, but sometimes a little on the salty side.

The tour guides are great and everything runs very smoothly. We enjoyed the hike through Corcovado, Snorkeling at Cano Island, Night Tour, and Early Morning Birdwatching. The snorkeling was okay, the water is a little choppy off the island and the tour guide kind of wants everyone to follow in a line, which is not ideal. Everything starts bright and early and gives you time to relax in the afternoon.

Overall, it was a great experience of a trip I won't forget!

Room Tip: Room 11 is on on the end so no one walks by, which is good since these are screened in rooms. Altern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife and I just returned from our trip to CR with a 4 night stay at Aguila de Osa and we can't say enough great things about the location, the facility or the staff. From the moment you arrive you are immersed in an exotic/intimate retreat and welcomed to what will be your new "family" for the next several days.

The Staff - Simply amazing. Many live on premise and you get to know them (and they you) well during your stay. Meals are relaxed, but amazing, excursions are well planned and staffed by knowledgable and friendly guides, and the premises are meticulously maintained.

THe Osa peninsula - unreal. This place is exactly what you see on nature documentaries/travel books. It is so lush and beautiful and the wildlife is abundant and diverse. Truly a magical place.

Overall just an amazing experience. If you were considering a trip to Costa Rica and the Osa peninsula/Aguila de Osa, dont hesitate a second to book, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I just returned from CR, where we spent 4 days (and nights) at Aguila de Osa Inn. I would easily give 5 stars to the Inn, its staff, and its food (the chef is an AMAZING cook). The food, especially the dinners with a choice of freshly-caught fish from Drakes Bay or perfectly cooked meat, was a highlight of our stay. All of the staff were very well-trained and a pleasure to be around.

The only real "issue" was the fact that we were there as the rainy season began (late May), so we were 2 of only 4-6 guests during our stay. That works fine for service on the property, but a number of the activities require more people (or you pay premium prices for boat, guide, etc.) While understandable, this is a risk you face if you go in the off season. That said, the peace and quiet of this beautifully located and well-maintained eco-lodge was well worth the price and the visit. The guides for the rainforest are not of equal ability. Ours, Randall, was exceptionally well-educated and took a great deal of time to explain the flora and fauna of the rainforest. Another couple had a guide who spent far less time and gave far less info. But the Innn was not responsible for that, and I give very high marks to it. Great place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This resort sitting above Drake Bay couldn't have a lovelier setting. The inn allows you to be as active as you wish while still affording the tranquility and natural setting many desire.

Food is excellent. Each night one is offered a choice of either fish or some type of meat. The fresh fish is simply prepared and always delicious. The happy hour which precedes dinner by an hour is a meal in itself. Meals are served in a community fashion which allows your luxury cabin mates to become friends. From what we could tell, everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

Carlos greets each new guest like an old friend and arranges excursions and special requests. Don't miss out on the sunset boat ride around the point. The sunsets are as dramatic and lovely as any in the world. The service is friendly and attentive. This inn is all inclusive for meals but alcoholic drinks are extra. Get a guaro lemonade after a long day in the jungle!

Most guests opt for a combo package which includes a hike at Corcovado National Park and snorkeling at Cano Island. We found that most guests thought the mangrove tour to be even more rewarding if one enjoys wildlife and bird watching. The scarlet macaws are a site to behold and will let you know they are in the vicinity.

There is no activity after dinner. However, most guests are worn out from the activities of the day. Tropical birds will wake you at sunrise.

This is a beautiful unspoiled locale not to be missed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Luigi53SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
1.1 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.2 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
0.2 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#1 of 38 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aguila de Osa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguila de Osa Inn

Property: Aguila de Osa Inn
Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aguila de Osa Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aguila de Osa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguila De Osa Hotel Drake Bay
Hotel Aguila De Osa
Aguila De Osa Inn Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing