We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont know what was good here...”
Review of Aguila de Osa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aguila de Osa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013

staff was terrible, food nothing special. overall this place is overpriced for nothing really...location is nice but once u find a scorpion in your room u realize that it is not as important....
my advice is to avoid this place....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Aritea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 481 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

My family and I (wife, 16 year old daughter, 11 year old son) spent Thanksgiving week 2013 at Aguila de Osa. In short the place is fantastic. The rooms, the service, the food, the activities, the staff were all outstanding. From the moment we were greeted at the dock by Carlos until we begrudgingly departed 6 days later every one in our group had the time of their lives. We traveled with another family, some lifelong friends, that also had two children. They felt exactly as we did. Each day we had an excursion/activity planned. We kayaked, we took a boat tour of the mangroves, we snorkeled at Cano Island, and we fished. Each one was wonderful, especially the fishing (yes, there is some male bias involved). My buddy and I, and our two sons (11 and 13) fished with Davy and Dana on the Albatros for two full days. We stayed inshore since sails, tuna, dorado, and marlin were not our targets for this trip. We caught Roosters (tons of them), Baracuda, Jack Crevelle, loads of bonita for live bait, tuna, and some of the biggest, meanest, Cubera Snapper and Amberjack found anywhere (15 fish in the 30 to 60 lb range).. We had the ocean to ourselves, and El Capitan and the mate were the best fishing crew I have ever fished with anywhere, and my buddy and I have fished all over the world with a whole lot of captains and mates. Admittedly there were a few "San Gochos", but that's all part off the fun. Our crew was extremely friendly, fun loving, and really knew how to fish those waters. The chef cooked some of our catch every night for dinner. The fish along with all the entrees were suberb. The owner, Bradd, even brought in turkeys from San Jose for a fantastic Thanksgiving dinner with a tropical Costa Rican flair. I can't say enough about the staff. The wait staff, Luis, Mike, et al, were always friendly, attentive, and remembered everyone's name and their favorite drinks. They even stayed up with us several nights and gave our daughters dance lessons - Bradd joined in the festivities Thanksgiving night - we kept the monkeys up quite late that night! The rooms were very nice - comfortable, clean - no bugs!!!! I can't recommend this place highly enough. My wife and I and our friends like to visit different places in the world to explore and fish, but we will definitely be returning to Aguila de Osa - hopefully more than once!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We spent the final 3 days of our two week trip to Costa Rica at the Aguila de Osa Inn, or as I prefer to call it: Paradise. As a previous writer noted, the access to and from the lodge via small plane, stream fording truck and boat is a definite part of the experience. We were greeted upon arrival at the dock by the hotel manager, Olmond. Like the rest of the staff, he made us feel welcome and special. By the end of the first day, the staff knew our names and could not have been more friendly and attentive. There are only 13 rooms and these are divided into 2 and 3 room cabins on the side of a hill with verandas overlooking the water. The rooms have large screened windows (no glass) and we were awakened in the morning to the sounds of birds and sometimes monkeys. The landscape was lush and jungle-like with beautiful tropical flowers. There were many birds to entertain us from the wood and leather rocking chairs on our verandas. Three communal meals a day are offered as well as ample snacks and appetizers during the pre-dinner cocktail hour. It was fun to get to know the other guests. Fortunately, the hike up the hill to our rooms helped work off some of the calories from the delicious food. There many outings to choose from each day, beaches to walk to, kayaks to paddle or just plain relaxing. We loved the beach in a quiet, private cove about a half mile from the lodge. Our favorite outing was the mangrove boat ride with Carlos the naturalist and Denis at the helm. We saw three kinds of monkeys (the 30-40 squirrel monkeys put on quite a show), crocs, kaimans, three and two toed sloths and too many beautiful birds to name among others. The last day was my birthday and the staff treated me like a queen, even serving a personalized birthday cake for dessert that night. I would love to return for another vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank capecodflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The hotel is nestled in the most lush tropical forest ever! The staff is extremely helpful and kind. The family style dinners allow you to meet the other the travelers and is wonderful. The have a beautiful fishing boat with an outstanding crew. Diving close to Cano island was pretty good. Lots of sharks, rays, and some turtles. We also saw humped backed whales on the ride to Cano island. The canoeing close by is wonderfully relaxing. Over all I can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohammad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed for five days during the transition from the rainy season to the "not so rainy season" in November of 2013. The first day it rained in the morning during our arrival. Then it rained all night and all of the second day. This was not a problem because we used the down time to rest from traveling. The next three days were mostly sunny and we spent each day on a different tour/excursion. The staff was extremely accommodating. The food was outstanding. The grounds are beautiful. We met guests from several different countries and enjoyed the communal meal time with them in the awesome open dining area. Luis gave dance lessons. Carlos did bird and monkey calls. Ian was very helpful and friendly. We found the Inn to be very intimate. Everything was neat and extremely clean. The wood floors and furniture were amazing. Getting there from the Drake Bay "airport" was part of the overall adventure that we were looking for on our vacation. We rode on the back of a stake truck, forded a river, and boated to reach the Inn. The white-faced monkeys, macaws, and toucans in the lush vegetation around the Inn were colorful and entertaining. The remoteness of the Inn is one of its best qualities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim and Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent the third and final week of our honeymoon here in April 2013. Its a paradise literally carved out the hill side of Drake Bay and my goodness...its amazing!

The food is fantastic, the service is second to none and the suite we stayed in is luxurious and has panoramic views of Drake Bay...truly idilic. We had a balcony spanning the whole side of our suite and could spend afternoons relaxing in the hammock, watching the humming birds, and just enjoying nature or indulge in the full range of excursions from fishing to jungle treks to mangrove tours...we did them all and had a thoroughly good time.

I have nothing but praise for the attentiveness, friendliness and dedication of the staff there. Everything about our experience was just fantastic. I would very much recommend this place, its excellent value for money and will provide good lasting memories....will we return? absolutely!

Many many thanks Aguila

Room Tip: The suite at the top of the path is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I came to Aguila De Osa for a retreat from our hectic lives and busy schedule. We wanted somewhere secluded and outside the tourism trap. When we arrived, everything at Aguila De Osa was better than we could have ever hoped for. Since getting there was a commercial flight, a regional flight, a taxi service, AND boat ride away, the secluded portion of our trip was satisfied. The staff were more than accommodating and the extra steps they took to get to know you personally made us feel at home. The grounds were immaculate and the scenery was incredible. The views from the rooms were breathtaking and the relaxed atmosphere was just what we needed.
We really enjoyed the organization and the preparedness of the activities. Every evening before dinner, an event coordinator would sit individually with the guests and go over the plan for the following day. LOVED that.
We did a lot of scuba diving during this trip and had a blast with Sandra (our guide). She was extremely knowledgeable of the underwater wildlife and made our diving experiences very memorable.
After this trip, we felt refreshed and wonderful. Every detail was perfect and Aguila De Osa was amazing. If you want to experience a tranquil, secluded, safe, and incredible journey, this is the place to do it. We take many vacations and this one will be very hard to top.

Room Tip: Tip: Spend the little extra and get the junior suite! The location is higher up on the mountain and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
1.1 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.1 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
21.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
358 reviews
5.9 mi away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#2 of 2 in Corcovado National Park
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#2 of 8 in Drake Bay
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aguila de Osa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguila de Osa

Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range: $392 - $732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aguila de Osa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainforest and Marine Adventure Lodge: Nestled amidst the jungle-covered hillsides overlooking the tranquil waters of Drake Bay, Aguila de Osa is an exquisite rainforest and marine adventure hotel. It’s here where you will experience life right on the edge of the Osa. Aguila de Osa is the destination for adventurers from around the world, offering the most convenient access to Corcovado National Park, Caño Island Biological Marine Reserve, and a full array of adventures including world-class sport fishing, scuba diving and snorkeling, plus bird watching, hiking, beach trips, river kayaking, mangrove estuary tours, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aguila de Osa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguila De Osa Hotel Drake Bay
Hotel Aguila De Osa
Aguila De Osa Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing