We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“WOW, what a fantastic stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aguila de Osa Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aguila de Osa Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“WOW, what a fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I am an artist and nature photographer and Aguila de Osa was a perfect match. We had 4 days in this luscious location on Drake Bay, with great views, a spacious room with a wall of windows and rocking chairs on the porch. The garden is amazingly rich with flowers, butterflies and birds. Well prepared food and the freshest fish often caught that day. Tours, don't miss them. The mangrove boat trip was full of spectacular wildlife and guide Carlos is the best. Snorkeling around Cano island with turtles and numerous fish, Dolphins on the return and lunch on a great beach, this is hard to beat. My only regret was not taking a full day trip to Corcovado, half a day was not enough for me. The staff was wonderfully helpful and attentive and again my thanks to Carlos, an outstanding nature guide. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottmcintire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    46
    8
    4
    9
See reviews for
117
216
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
216 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

It is hard to add more to what others have said about Aguila, but here goes. It is a beautiful setting on Drake bay with nature abounding at every turn. Brad the owner has obviosly put a lot into making this such a beautiful place to be.

Highlights were bird tours with Carlos, the mangrove tour with Carlos and most all interactions with him! What a guy. We were very focused on photography and it is a photographer's paradise too. He put us on magnificent birds, crocs, monkeys and vistas.

The other hightlight was dining and the service we received from everyone, but especially the guys who served meals. As mentioned before, meals are mostly preplanned except for breakfast and you eat at three or four large table so it is very socialble as well as delicious. The evening cocktail hour featured fresh fish and other tasty morsels. It was so nice to quickly meet other folks from all over the world with similar interests. Families there could not have been nicer or more well behaved. Rarely today do we see so much outgoing and respect by young kids amoung adults. They brought much joy to our visit.

You do need to know that getting to your room involves a steep climb of something like 150 steps or inclines. At 79, it took a couple of rest stops each time. It's certainly doable, but if limitations, be aware. The fact that it was very hot made that a little tougher in mid day. There was some breeze at times, but the large vegetation cuts it off depending on the direction of the wind.

Room Tip: This is a tough one since most are all the same and fairly close. There are 13 rooms with the highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wandotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My parents (a very young 73 & 74 yo) and adult children (ages 20, 23, 24) spent 6 fantastic days at Aguila de Osa. The lodge and grounds are beautiful ... steep and rugged, lush and green, flowers and birds everywhere. We enjoyed tours in the AM (Sirena Corcovado hike, Canopy Tour, Mangrove Tour & the Night Tour with the Bug Lady). Beach time & kayaking in the afternoon. We especially enjoyed the front porch and the rocking chairs for reading & just hanging out. The staff was attentive, and the food was good, albeit a little over-spiced at times. We highly recommend this lodge, the staff and the overall experience. We had a wonderful time and priceless memories.

Room Tip: 6, 7 & 8 had a fantastic view of Drake Bay. These standard rooms are up high and get a nice bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KHoffmanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My (adult) daughter and I stayed at Aguila De Osa in February 2013. We had had an amazing stay, location to die for, fantastic, friendly and attentive staff & a warm, sociable atmosphere. The hotel has such a relaxed atmosphere, meal times are incredibly sociable with guests sharing large tables where everyone can discuss the day's adventures and enjoy good, fresh food and a cocktail or two.Brad and his staff make this hotel a place I definitely want to return to.

Dorothy & Ruth, Newcastle upon Tyne, UK

Room Tip: The hotel is set on a hilly site, it is not a place for people who are not reasonably fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel and staff can not do enough for you to make your trip unforgettable. The Captain of the Tenacity and mate on the fishing boat is simply the best in the world.The diving and staff on the dive boat are the best. The food was incredible. The views breath taking. Just cant say enough good things. I think everyone should visit at least once in their life. Thank You for such a great trip.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richardhennessey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I may have left the Aguila de Osa last month,(2/13) but my mind often travels back to all the wonderful experiences there. Staff, food and accomodations are "over the top." Snorkeling with Gaby, touring the mangroves with Tony and Dennis, kayaking, and awaiting the daily late afternoon arrival of macaws stand out in my mind. Guests from all over the world were congenial and interesting. It was not easy to leave at the end of our stay, but a return visit will be planned.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azmamajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

After five amazing days, we’d give Aguila de Osa Inn the highest marks. Five stars! Closeness to nature, food, ambience, activities, friendly and personal service and especially the other guests made this a super-memorable stay.

This hotel made us feel at home right away. The manager Olman talked us through the basics in a clear and open way. We took advantage of almost all the included items (meals, kayaks, coffee, filtered water) and several of the extras (bird walks, horseback riding, mangrove tour).

Arriving at Aguila de Osa was a bit of an adventure. The 4-wheel drive vehicle had to ford a river to reach the town of Drake Bay and from there we were picked up by boat for a short ride to the hotel. Drake Bay immediately felt like one of the more wild and unspoiled places we’d been, even before we learned of the crocodiles that inhabit the river mouth outside the hotel!

The lush tropical jungle surrounding the hotel was perhaps the strongest argument for staying here. The landscaping with native plants made it easy to observe birds (including toucans, scarlet macaws and beautiful hummingbirds), butterflies and lizards from the veranda outside our rooms. All rooms had a view of the ocean from rocking chairs on the veranda and some had hammocks. Walking up the steep hill to the rooms was an adventure at all times. People saw frogs and lizards on a regular basis.

Our walk to the beach on day one was another great adventure. Coco the dog followed her instincts and “herded” us pleasantly to our rooms and then to the beach, a 15- to 20-minute hike on a well-trodden path through some amazing jungle. The kids loved this.

The staff was personable and highly interactive. Ian lent me a pillow for my back during dinner. Gabrielle and Claudio learned our names and remembered how many of us were vegetarians. Dennis took my daughter and me kayaking and showed both of my daughters a sleeping sloth and two floating crocodiles. Fortunately, they showed no interest in eating us. Tony led a great tour to Corcovado National Park. He showed us lots of wildlife.

We can’t say enough about Carlos Gonzalez, our bird and wildlife guide. His card says “The Bird Watching Pro” – true! Between us, my daughter and I took three bird walks with Carlos and we wound up seeing dozens of species. Our family also took the 5-hour “mangrove tour” with Carlos and boat pilot Dennis and we saw many birds and animals including monkeys (3 species!), snakes and a cayman. Carlos knows where the nests are and we caught (and photographed) macaws and toucans in their nests. Spectacular.

Food and drinks at Aguila de Osa were incredibly good. Food was almost gourmet quality with several options for each meal. Be aware that the chef is happy to make rice & beans or pasta (fruit on the side) as an alternative to the main courses. One of our kids took full advantage. The drinks were not included in our package so we quickly ran up a bill on cokes and mango smoothies as well as beer and Pina Coladas for Dad. Laundry was not included but very reasonable at $12 for a 10-pound load.

This is a wilderness location so be prepared for the humidity and pests. Also be prepared for 5:15am wakeups by the birds – no panes in the windows. The flip side was that we saw amazing wildlife incredibly close to the hotel all the time.

We got to spend some pleasant and informative time with Brad, the American-born owner of Aguila de Osa Inn. We learned about the history of the hotel. We really enjoyed that. The Inn is a labor of love for Brad and his affection for the staff and the area is infectious.

Above and beyond the amenities, what really made this hotel a special experience for us was the other guests. We made some new friends and benefited over and over from having wise and pleasant companions at meals and on our excursions. Our kids (11 and 9) were the only kids at the Inn and they always felt comfortable, largely due to the kind attention of the staff and the other guests.

Room Tip: The lower the room number, the shorter the hike up the hill (but it's still a hike).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BostonFrequentTrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
1.1 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.2 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
0.2 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#2 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#1 of 37 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aguila de Osa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguila de Osa Inn

Property: Aguila de Osa Inn
Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aguila de Osa Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aguila de Osa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguila De Osa Hotel Drake Bay
Hotel Aguila De Osa
Aguila De Osa Inn Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing