We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aguila de Osa
Nearby Hotels
Pirate Cove(Drake Bay)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Poor Man's Paradise(Osa Peninsula)
$114
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge(Corcovado National Park)
$390
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
La Paloma Lodge(Drake Bay)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Tranquilo Lodge(Drake Bay)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drake Bay Getaway Resort(Drake Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Oleaje Sereno Hotel(Punta Arenas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveler rating
424
61
14
4
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
61
14
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmangrove tourthe riverfishother guestscorcovado national parkmaster suitecosta ricacocktail hourscuba divingscarlet macawsboat ridethere is no air conditioningour honeymoonan adventurefamily styledining areascreened windows
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
405 - 410 of 513 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2008

This was one of the worst experiences and I've traveled to 25+ countries around the world.

1) You arrive by an unnecessary 15 minute van, followed by a 1 hour small boat ride crammed with the other tourists. There is a closer airport but the travel agents don't seem to book that flight.

2) As you approach the "Inn", it is like one of Marlon Brando's scenes from Apocalypse Now. The cicadas (insects) are so loud that someone said it sounded like a fire alarm. They quit down about 10PM. Then at about 5AM, you are awoken by birds.

3) It is unbearably hot and humid and you have no A/C. You only have screens, no windows. The hot water is intermittent. You must walk the equivalent of 5 flights of stairs to and from your room.

4) You are forced to eat together with the other tourists at large picnic tables. There is no privacy. The food is mediocre, at best. The music is blaring.

5) The dangerous, rocky, ugly beach is a 30 minute hike through the jungle along a muddy, slippery trail. You walk it because you are trapped with nothing to do and the ocean is the only way to escape the humidity. I injured my knee on the hidden rocks.

There is no reason to go to Osa Peninsula. You can see all of the animals at Manuel Antonio. There are much better places to dive/snorkel. We traveled for 2 weeks in Costa Rica and loved the rest of the trip. Costa Rica is incredible but this place should be avoided. There is a great deal of positive feedback but I frankly don’t see the appeal.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mack_10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

Although this hotel is in a beautiful bay, and has lovely surroundings—everything you could want in a hotel—they do something that i find totally offensive. They purposely bait monkeys.

Their kitchen area is "inside" under the roof, but yet they have their produce, like fruit and bananas, close to the opening and near the slanted roof where monkeys can perch. I personally witnessed monkeys stealing bananas (which are not their preferred diet btw) and eating them on the roof to the delight of patrons who then took pictures. Then the patrons became even worse, trying to feed the monkeys more food, and trying to touch these monkeys. These were Capuchin, or white-faced monkeys, and these monkeys can get mean and will bite! Yet no one from the restaurant did anything to stop or discourage this behavior.

Everyone—yes everyone—knows that feeding monkeys is a bad practice! Not only does it disturb the natural barrier between wildlife and humans, it can make the monkey dependant on humans, and they can injure when upset or want food. Very bad.

I spoke with the manager at the time, and his response was "What can I do? We do have our food inside. And, the patrons like it. am i supposed to stop them?" He was non-plussed and unconcerned.

If you truly love the monkeys, use your dollar power and refuse to stay here if you see this behavior. Or ask before you confirm a reservation. Perhaps we can kindly help them correct this problem.

Stayed: January 2008
8  Thank SeaShellL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

This is an incredibly well run resort. It is listed under the B&B's, but I am sure it would rank high against all the other Costa Rica lodges. They are very organized and make their best effort to ensure you get out and participate in all the activities. Each evening while munching on yummy appetizers, you plan out your next day's activities. No hounding of a clueless receptionist here, you get to talk to the actual nature guides and dive masters for advise about the trips and activities.
The food is of excellent quality and very abundant. At dinner there is usually 3 main courses: fish, chicken, and beef or pork. Meals are served family style at two or three large tables, so you get to mix with the other travelers. There is always enthusiastic discussion about the flora, fauna, and what is going on.
The grounds are beautiful, with many orchids and other flowering plants such as torch ginger. There is much wildlife up close, including monkeys, iguanas, sloths, and numerous birds including toucans and scarlet macaws,
I am not sure why the estimated price is listed here at $600 per night, it is much cheaper than that; a great value for the money. Look on their website for pricing.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Charlene_Strong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

The setting is interesting. Getting to and from the lodge requires a wet landing. I feel this should be handled differently especially on departure as I was headed home and this becomes inconvient but overall a minor inconvience.
At least while I was there the guests were fantastic and made for a very friendly and enjoyable time. Which was the best part of this particular stay.
The problem is with the guides at least one seemed to not really enjoy doing what he was and made for a somewhat unpleasant time.
In addition, the reception person left a bit to be desired.
Further the rooms are somewhat dark and worn particularly the bathrooms.
The lodge could be somewhat more accommodating in that it would be easy to provide a walking stick for hikes. In addition they provide ponchos in the boats but don't make an attempt to keep them dry. Providing a soaking interior to the poncho. Hang them up after each use.
It is an expensive lodge and you expect better.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

This place is incredible!! We can't say enough great things about the Aguila de Osa. We stayed for 4 nights and had one of the best hotel experiences possible. It is extremely well managed and organized with competent, knowledgeable and friendly guides and employees. We scheduled a scuba/snorkeling day, a canopy tour, a Corcovado Nat'l Park tour and a night rainforest hike. Every one of them ran like clockwork. Even on the tours they serve a delicious lunch with beers, soda, water or juice. The dinners are incredibly large and delicious, many featuring fish caught that day. The setting is remote and spectacular and the hotel is beautifully kept. Every other guest at the hotel was friendly and cool and all said they would love to return again. This is a great value

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews