We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review for active people :-)”
Review of Aguila de Osa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aguila de Osa Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Review for active people :-)”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We can only agree with all positive reviews! But for those who are divers, trail runners, kayakers, and / or mountain bikers, here are some special information. We are Swedish adventure racing veterans and exercise a lot. I am a diving instructor PADI and CMAS and have dived in many places around the world since the 80's.

The kayaks are of simple type "sit on top" but works well to paddle with the small river and in the bay. The kayaks are both K1 and K2 design, paddles are made of aluminum and a good workout if you normally use carbon :-) The equipment is well used but works. Paddling in the small river is most appropriate when the tide is high but it is not possible to get further up the river than about one kilometer.

MTB bikes are Cannondale hard tail M size 26 'with the old brake system and poorly functioning front shock absorbers, standard pedals. Otherwise I do not think the bikes have been used very much. We had a very good guide, but make sure he has the hardware to fix a flat tire; he had to bike and get it in a village nearby when we got a puncture. The bicycle paths are very nice and hilly, both single track and dirt road. It would have been incredibly fun to ride my own 29'er on these roads!

This is a paradise for experienced trail runners. It is hilly and technically diverse paths to run on. It is possible to run long (several hours) south on a beautiful path along the beach. Important is good shoes that work when it's wet, it is often the need to wade across streams and rivers. Real trail running shoes are important, thin running shirt and running pants (not cotton) are also recommended. Do not forget to bring liquid-belt or Camelback!

It is expensive to bring overweight on the flight to Drake Bay, therefore, I left my own dive gear at home. Osa Aguila has good diving equipment but bring your own mask, first and second stage. I dived with their very simple first and second stage but it would felt better with my own more modern and better equipment. BCD that Aquila has is Scubapro, Swedish quality :-) Also, this equipment is well used but works. Aguila has by far the best dive boat in the area that takes you quickly and comfortably to the island. The dive guide was dedicated and experienced at the location. The actual dive site I am not going describe here, there are descriptions on the web.

Room Tip: The Junior suite is fantastic and worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HamiltonSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    57
    11
    4
    9
See reviews for
127
238
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Aguila de Osa Inn was excellent. Remote yet lots to do... Hikes, night walks, kayaking, walk to town, beaches, trips to Corkovado park and Cano Island to snorkel and hike. Saw whales, dolphins, monkeys, birds, snakes, iguanas, frogs, etc., etc., etc. The staff was superb, very friendly and accommodating ( I have a food allergy and they couldn't have been more accommodating - thank you). Room was lovely, but damp feeling at times, but you get used to that. We would go back in a second and highly recommend this Inn for a genuine Costa Rica experience.

Room Tip: Ask for one closer to the Dino area. Ours was right at the top and it was quite a hike each time to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed in. And I've been to every type of hotel you can imagine. I loved it. Loved it, Loved it, Loved it. It all starts out by the staff picking you up by boat and transporting you to the hotel. When you arrive, Carlos greets you with "welcome to paradise". He isn't kidding. The hotel itself is amazingly beautiful. This isn't a four seasons, nor is it pretentious like one. Here you are literally part of a family. They treat you like guests staying at their own house. Every staff member is genuinely nice and caring. You are not a number here. The owner sits down and talks with you too like he's known you forever.

Food is included - You go down to the main area to eat 3 x a day family style and the food is great. Breakfast you can order pretty much whatever you want. Lunch is usually sandwiches or something and dinner is usually a choice between fish or meat.

The room is amazing. We stayed in room 14 - a master suite (highly recommended). The lower suite numbers are on the main walkway so, if you want privacy you'll want a higher number like 10,12 or 14. The view is amazing from the balcony and the room. The room is complete screens, so you'll hear every noise the jungle makes. There's also no TV or internet in the room. There is however wifi in the restaurant area. A warning though - the higher the room number, the longer and harder the walk is up to the room, it's also very slippery when wet.

For tours we did the jungle adventure package which was a snorkeling tour (she was awesome) and also a corcovado tour with Tony (he is awesome!). We also did a night tour with Carlos (lots 'o bugs!). Around the hotel there are numerous trails to go hiking as well as a really cool hanging bridge and tons of beaches. Just walk on the hiking trail and you'll come across beach after beach...most of which you'll be the only person at. On a day you're not doing a tour, ask the staff to drop you off at a private beach by boat and they'll pack a lunch for you and everything.

There's also a very small cute town, called "Town" :)... just a few minutes walk away from the hotel. But by town, adjust your expectations....it's very little, but nice. There's a little market there and some restaurants and such. Mostly homes though.

My trip to CR consisted of one night in SJO (get out of there quickly), then flew to Drake Bay and stayed at Aquila for 5 nights. Then flew back to SJO and rented a car and drove to Arenal (stayed at Nayara - also extremely nice), then finished the trip in playa conchal at the westin. if I had to do it over again, I would stay at only Aguila and Nayara if I could. These are some of the best hotels I could ever imagine.

A special thanks to Carlos, Claudio, Tony & Morgan. Thanks for helping make this the best vacation ever!!

Stop reading reviews and go book this hotel!!!

Room Tip: The room is amazing. We stayed in room 14 - a master suite (highly recommended). The lower suite n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeandmylens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We had a memorable vacation at Aguilla de Osa in early december and experienced great diving, hiking and most of all, wonderful people on the staff. We felt welcome from the minute we stepped on the property and had unbelievable help in organizing our tours and diving. The diving was some of the best we ever had as far as quality of fish life and we had our first experience seeing Pacific fish and did not have to fly 15 plus hours to do it! We will definitely return and hopefully in the next year!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pflori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We spent 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. The whole experience started with the fantastic boat trip from Sierpe (brilliantly captained by Dennis). We were welcomed at the jetty by Carlos (customer liason and wildlife guru) with the words "welcome to paradise." And he was not wrong!

This beautiful hotel is situated on the beach, overlooking the sea and surrounded by jungle - a perfect paradise. The service was excellent throughout fronted by Claudio and the food from breakfast to dinner was fantastic. The standard rooms are all well appointed, however we upgraded our room for the last 3 nights and it was well worth it. We had huge room with a private deck overlooking jungle and the bay, with rocking chairs and a hammock (and scarlet maccaws, toucans and monkeys in the trees).

During our stay we went on some great trips including walking in the Corcovado, night walk and scuba diving - again all excellent.

I cant recommend this hotel enough - it really was paradise and we were very sad to leave.

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites ( we room numer 12)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinnoroxon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We spent 3 days at this remote wonderland in August 2011. The hospitality blew us away. The kindest most accomodation staff I have ever met. Food was excellent. Staff taught us salsa dancing, assisted us with expanding our Spanish and gave us access to their personal computers to do emails. We felt like the staff were our long lost relatives that were now taking care of us. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at Aguila de Osa on our honeymoon in August. Drake Bay and Agulia de Osa is the place to truely get away from everything, yet still have the staff and amenities of a 5 star resort at your disposal. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner were all freshly prepared by the staff and every meal we had was great! As great as the resort is you probabaly wont spend much time there. We spent the days scuba diving with the sharks at Cano Island, Hiking in an untouched tropical rainforest, fishing for Roosterfish, and Kayaking up a river cut through a canyon that looked like something out of Jurasic Park. If you plan to fish or dive in drake bay, then Aguila de Osa is the place to stay, they have 30ft+ dive boat and a 30ft+ fishing boat that are much nicer than other hotels boats in the area.

Room Tip: Splurge for one of the suites higher up the hillside. More privacy and better views up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
1.1 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.1 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
21.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 47 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aguila de Osa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguila de Osa Inn

Property: Aguila de Osa Inn
Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aguila de Osa Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aguila de Osa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguila De Osa Hotel Drake Bay
Hotel Aguila De Osa
Aguila De Osa Inn Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing