We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3 night stay”
Review of La Paloma Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Paloma Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent 3 night stay”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Almost from beginning to end we were amazed at the care, consideration and facilities provided by this out of the way lodge. It was ideal for the type of holiday we had expected, using the time to explore the rainforest and mangrove environments. The guiding was excellent and the hosting by the lodge staff could not be faulted. We definitely recommend the 'bug lady' night walk. We have read some adverse comments from other people staying here, but feel that they were at fault for choosing such a lodge for the type of holiday (beach) they wanted. We certainly had no problem with communicating with all the staff in English.

Room Tip: Rancho Number 7 is the furthest from the dining room so is quite a hike and you certainly need a tor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Paloma_Lodge, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We appreciate your positive comments about La Paloma Lodge. We strive to provide a comfortable environment in which to enjoy the surrounding jungle. We have long-term seasoned guides to further enhance our guests experience here.

We hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    43
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
150
214
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beausejour, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Just got back from a four night stay at the La Paloma Lodge.
It was a very nice place.Room was nice size for two people.It had a king size bed that was very firm (which I like) it was newly renovated with air,big patio doors.There are no screens on the windows or the door not sure why but it didn't seem to be a problem?They could trim the trees a little bit to allow for more breeze to help cool you down and use the the air less,not to mention the view which was nice would have even been better!Bathroom was clean and big enough for the two of us.It could have used some where to hang more towels up on the walls ?
Food was very good!Lots of it ,three meals a day with some snacks if you needed them(we did't)The fresh fish was very good,they have steak one night that was good even for a Canadian man like me.We had a few times food could of been hotter,but all in all they did a great job keeping us ready for our next trip into and around the beautiful jungle.
The staff was Fantastic.I can't say enough about Jazz and Alex and the cooks and all the other staff whose names I forget(sorry) that made our stay there " GREAT".
O.K. the bad parts!The climb up from the water is at first very much like work.After you have been there a few days its still a bit hard to walk up from the ocean from a swim,or go out with your guide on a tour!Its not how far it is,its the steepness of the trails you need to walk on that get you and your knees working.You will do a lot of walking up hills in Costa Rica!
The tours that are available for you are all worth the money,but the Guides and the knowledge they have and the way the share it with you make even a very hot ,humid ,some times challenging trip worth it all! (thanks Randall!)
We met some great people while we were there,sitting down having dinner together at the end of our day was always a treat!.
I would go back in a Heart Beat to this lodge.
.

Room Tip: If view is what you are after than go with the rooms with two or more beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Paloma_Lodge, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thanks for your positive review of La Paloma Lodge and feedback on the newly renovated rooms. We have since trimmed back the trees to allow for an even better view as suggested. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at La Paloma Lodge and we all hope that we will see you again in the future.

Saludos!
Jess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O' Lakes, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had such a wonderful family vacation over
Christmas! The accomodations were
spectacular. Tours, food, people, grounds - wow!! Jess, Victor, Walter,
Gabby were a joy to meet and so helpful - everyone was. We'd love to come
back some time and will recommend to everyone. Thank you so much for making
our stay perfect! Ken and Ann

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Paloma_Lodge, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
And a special thanks to our Turtle Dove!

It was a pleasure to be a part of your family vacation. We hope to see here again.

Have a wonderful 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We just returned from 3 idyllic days at La Paloma. The location is breath taking - perched on a verdant hill overlooking the pacific. Our rancho was sparkling clean and well laid out for our family of 4 - my husband and me upstairs and our two grown boys downstairs. There were 2 bathrooms We all loved the hammock on the deck overlooking the water. But it was the service that really set La Paloma apart. From the moment Jess greeted us on arrival every need and want was taken care of. The food was delicious - the sesame coated ahi tuna I had for New Year's eve dinner was the best fish I've had. We went on 2 excursions - a hike in Corcovados national park and a mangrove trip. The mangrove trip especially memorable with our fantastic guide Randall and sightings of monkeys, sloth, turtle, boa etc. We would return in a heartbeat,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara3141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Paloma_Lodge, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for reviewing La Paloma Lodge.

By using experienced guides we hope to further enhance our guests experience here in the Osa Peninsula.

We would love to see you all again.

Have a great 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I honeymooned here and couldn't be happier with our choice. Got a recommendation from a friend and it was perfect. The staff thinks of everything you will need to be comfortable and happy. They offer to do helpful and nice things for you the whole time and make you feel very welcome. It's amazing that each person there is so genuinely kind. The rooms are great, food is excellent and plentiful. The other guests were really pleasant too. Met some fine people there. Can't say enough about this place

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brettandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Paloma_Lodge, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing La Paloma for your honeymoon. We aim to make every guests experience unique.

We hope you had a great new year and wish to see you here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I first stayed at La Paloma lodge in 1998 on a local's tip, and I can't believe how lucky we were to find this place. This past Christmas, we returned there with our two children, and found the place even better than we remember it. The accommodations have been meticulously maintained, and the hospitality, led by Welsh manager Jessica, was better than ever. We ate every outstanding meal overlooking the Pacific (and the resident sloths and birds that live in the tree downhill from the lodge), and enjoyed dinners served family-style, giving us the opportunity to chat with other guests from around the world. We also enjoyed wonderful day trips organized by the hotel. These included a guided hike in Corcovado National Park and a boat tour of the mangroves. One of the nicest experiences we had was kayaking up the river next to the hotel (also completely organized by the hotel--they take everything to the dock for you. All you have to do is get in the boat and paddle!). Howler monkeys, rare birds, exquisite jungle on the grounds of the hotel, and a perfect swimming beach just a very short walk down the hill. If you do stay at La Paloma--and you absolutely should--DO NOT MISS the Night Bug Tour with "the Bug Lady." It's worth booking ahead for that--she's amazing. Our family will not wait another 15 years to return to La Paloma. We had one of the best trips of our lives there!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, but you can choose from a casita or a "regular" room. We prefer th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetpack22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Paloma_Lodge, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Happy New Year!

Thank you for your review of La Paloma Lodge. It was delightful to have you return after so long and we look forward to seeing you sooner then in 15 years time!

Have a great 2014

Jess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Co
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent several days over the Christmas holidays at LaPaloma Lodge the past two years and absolutely loved it. The location is ideal for those wishing to experience the beauty of the rainforest and the abundant bird and wildlife. The staff at LaPaloma are all extremely friendly and accommodating. Jess, the onsite manager, makes it all look easy in her laid back friendly manner and she does a terrific job of arranging each guest’s tours, accommodations, food preferences as well as any other request to meet their individual needs. The food is fresh and delicious – we ate fresh fish every day, although other choices were offered as well. And it is fun to meet and get to know the other guests during meal times in the main lodge. We stayed in Rancho #7 during our last visit and #6 the year before. Both were lovely and have great views out over the bay. We had good views of toucans and a sloth right from our balcony. We took the Mangrove tour with Randall both times and it was a definite highlight. Randall has extensive knowledge of the wildlife, habitat and history of the area and you are guaranteed to see many species of wildlife and birds on this tour. We took the rainforest hike into Corcovado with Walter both years as well and had a great time. Walter shares our passion for birding and even took us on a tour around the LaPaloma grounds to find even more species of birds that we otherwise would have missed. We also enjoyed the snorkeling and scuba tours to Cano Island with Danny and Vincent as our guides. On our own, we enjoyed kayaking up and down the Agujitas river at high tide and walking the beach trail and the trail into town. LaPaloma is a top notch facility made even better by the friendliness and hard work of the staff and guides. Thank you LaPaloma! We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WyoKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Paloma_Lodge, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thanks for your review of La Paloma Lodge. We are pleased to have now shared 2 Christmases with you and hope there will be more in the future!

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.9 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.3 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Lodge

Property: La Paloma Lodge
Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Paloma Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have outstanding views of Drake Bay and the Pacific Ocean from our Lodge. Our standard rooms are large and include a private bath and an ocean view balcony. Our ranchos are one and two-story private cabins that also offer balconies with stunning ocean views. They hold up to 6 people and are very spacious. Some are equipped with a bathroom on both the upper and lower level, and are suitable for families or two couples traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your La Paloma Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Paloma Hotel Drake Bay
La Paloma Drake Bay
La Paloma Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing