We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love La Paloma Lodge”
Review of La Paloma Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Paloma Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Co
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love La Paloma Lodge”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent several days over the Christmas holidays at LaPaloma Lodge the past two years and absolutely loved it. The location is ideal for those wishing to experience the beauty of the rainforest and the abundant bird and wildlife. The staff at LaPaloma are all extremely friendly and accommodating. Jess, the onsite manager, makes it all look easy in her laid back friendly manner and she does a terrific job of arranging each guest’s tours, accommodations, food preferences as well as any other request to meet their individual needs. The food is fresh and delicious – we ate fresh fish every day, although other choices were offered as well. And it is fun to meet and get to know the other guests during meal times in the main lodge. We stayed in Rancho #7 during our last visit and #6 the year before. Both were lovely and have great views out over the bay. We had good views of toucans and a sloth right from our balcony. We took the Mangrove tour with Randall both times and it was a definite highlight. Randall has extensive knowledge of the wildlife, habitat and history of the area and you are guaranteed to see many species of wildlife and birds on this tour. We took the rainforest hike into Corcovado with Walter both years as well and had a great time. Walter shares our passion for birding and even took us on a tour around the LaPaloma grounds to find even more species of birds that we otherwise would have missed. We also enjoyed the snorkeling and scuba tours to Cano Island with Danny and Vincent as our guides. On our own, we enjoyed kayaking up and down the Agujitas river at high tide and walking the beach trail and the trail into town. LaPaloma is a top notch facility made even better by the friendliness and hard work of the staff and guides. Thank you LaPaloma! We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WyoKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Paloma_Lodge, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thanks for your review of La Paloma Lodge. We are pleased to have now shared 2 Christmases with you and hope there will be more in the future!

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    43
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
149
213
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is the third time that my husband and I have stayed at this lodge in the past 14 years. The previous times we called a couple of days before and the folks there accommodated us. The second time we were there with our 4 month old grandson, they let us stay in the owner's residence because there was no other rooms available. This time around was going to be at Christmastime so I started making arrangements in August. I was informed that there were no accommodations during Christmas week. But the the standard rooms got renovated in time for our visit and so we had reservations. The family had a fantabulous time. The area around the lodge has changed quite a bit from our last visits - trees have grown taller and more dense, more "ranchos" have been added and the common area and some rooms have been upgraded. The staff there - Hernan, Priscilla, Dinia, Alex, Michelle, Gabrielle - were wonderful - friendly, efficient, and on top of things. And Jess the manager - she is amazing - so personal, so friendly, so solicitous and so really, really nice. It got us wondering if we had ever met anyone nicer. And wondered how she handled cranky guests. We felt very pampered. The family did the trip to Cano Island, the Corcovado rainforest, the canopy tour on the zip line, and horseback riding. From our previous experience, we wanted the whole family to have the Bug Tour and Tracey the guide slotted us into her full schedule; it was as amazing as we had anticipated. We did the mangrove tour for the first time; our tour guide, Randall, was excellent - showed us many of the elusive fauna and so informed about the workings of and in the mangrove forests. My 9 year old grandson wants us to come back to La Paloma every Christmas. "When I grow up I want to come and work here", he announced. Very nice compliment from a kid that is not easily impressed. Each time we return it is as if we're there for the first time - we don't cease to be amazed. I don't believe I have managed to convey what a great experience it is at La Paloma Lodge and the pictures (with my little Canon powershot) don't either. Suffice it to say - we WILL return there.

Room Tip: We've stayed at the Rachos, the standard rooms and the owners rooms and all of those are highly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanitaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Paloma_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We are glad that you had a great time. Thank you for the great review and have a great 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is great place for bird watching , whale watching and being with nature. You will see and hear Howler monkeys, Toucans, Scarlet Maccaws, monkeys etc., etc., etc. too much to mention. The rooms are basic and just know that since you are in wilderness critters will sometimes come in your room. Embrace this and look at it as a unique experience. We had a beautiful tree frog perched on top of the shower. Loved it! The rooms have a nice deck with a relaxing hammock.
This is a great place. We would love to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiveIn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Paloma_Lodge, Guest Relations Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for visiting as at La Paloma Lodge and thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to know what we could do to improve to make your stay even better if you choose to visit us again in the future. Have a great 2014 :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This place is exceptional in every way! The staff make it something special. Thanks Jess!!!! We travelled with out 12 year old son and 14 year old daughter.

The Bug Lady night hike was a wonderful addition to our trip, don't miss her!

The food was always fresh, plentiful and well presented. My husband and 12 year old son arranged via the hotel, for a 4 hour fishing trip. They caught 10 huge fish, brought them back to the lodge and they prepared and served much of it for dinner to the guests. A great experience!

Accommodations were perfect, we took the unit with the wrap around deck...do that!! They are newly renovated and have air (although we never turned it on). Talk about getting a wake up call with a knock on the door and a pot of hot coffee....pura vita!!

The guides associated with the lodge made the trip memorable. They're so knowledgeable and passionate. TIP WELL.

Go, enjoy this amazing lodge and it's staff. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldTravellerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzy06osa, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We appreciate your positive review of your stay with us here at La Paloma.

Fresh ingredients for our meals (made easier by guests who bring back a good catch) and knowledgable, passionate guides are an important part of providing the basis for a memorable vacation here at in the Osa Peninsula at La Paloma Lodge.

Having guests like yourselves stay with us makes it Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We booked our stay through Nature Tours. Upon arrival, the La Paloma had no record of our reservation! Nature Tours had not confirmed our reservation with the lodge. Susan, the owner, quickly began scrambling, and gave us her room for our first night; we were then transferred to our Sunset Rancho the following day. Other than this small snafu, our stay was PERFECT! Everyone at the lodge is dedicated to perfection. The tour guides that partner with La Paloma are very knowledgeable and professional. Jess, Alex, and the entire staff made our stay beyond belief...we hated to leave! One word of advice...book directly with the La Paloma!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jmr0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzy06osa, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
All's well that ends well!
While we do continually strive for perfection, we never believe that we have it and so we are always looking for ways to improve the experience of our guests.
We all thoroughly enjoyed the fish you brought back for us and look forward to your next stay here at La Paloma Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laakirchen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Perfect service, fantastic food, neat and clean cottages with great views over the rainforest to the ocean, amazingly educated guides, spectacular meeting with uncountable wild animals in the rain forest, the number one place to stay in Costa Rica

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzy06osa, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thanks Gert for your succinct review. What you have described is what we always aim to provide for all of our guests, here at La Paloma Lodge.

We hope to see you here again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We couldn't have been happier with our stay at La Paloma! Every single aspect of our La Paloma experience was extraordinary. Every staff member was friendly, caring, and helpful. Jessica, our activities director and hostess, was there to meet our every need with a smile and always made sure that we knew where to be and what to bring. Randall, our guide in the Corcovado National Park and on our snorkeling trip to Cano Island was a true delight...enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and sooo much fun. Every guide that we had later in our trip in other parts of the country paled by comparison. The food was abundant, unbelievably delicious, and beautifully prepared. We had the option of dining "family style" with other guests...our shared meals were an absolute blast with lots of laughter and sharing of stories. I wish that we could have stayed longer. Three days was not long enough to take in all of the sights and sounds of this beautiful place. Definitely plan to stay longer if you have the good fortune of visiting the Osa Peninsula and definitely, definitely stay at La Paloma.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzy06osa, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you Deborah for your positive review. It was a pleasure to have met you all and shared your time in the Osa Peninsula with you. We hope here at La Paloma that our seasoned guides will enhance our guests' visits. The family style dining allows fellow travelers to recount the days events and share experiences. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.9 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.3 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
21.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Lodge

Property: La Paloma Lodge
Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Paloma Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have outstanding views of Drake Bay and the Pacific Ocean from our Lodge. Our standard rooms are large and include a private bath and an ocean view balcony. Our ranchos are one and two-story private cabins that also offer balconies with stunning ocean views. They hold up to 6 people and are very spacious. Some are equipped with a bathroom on both the upper and lower level, and are suitable for families or two couples traveling together. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Paloma Hotel Drake Bay
La Paloma Drake Bay
La Paloma Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing