We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE!”
Review of La Paloma Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Paloma Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We booked our stay through Nature Tours. Upon arrival, the La Paloma had no record of our reservation! Nature Tours had not confirmed our reservation with the lodge. Susan, the owner, quickly began scrambling, and gave us her room for our first night; we were then transferred to our Sunset Rancho the following day. Other than this small snafu, our stay was PERFECT! Everyone at the lodge is dedicated to perfection. The tour guides that partner with La Paloma are very knowledgeable and professional. Jess, Alex, and the entire staff made our stay beyond belief...we hated to leave! One word of advice...book directly with the La Paloma!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jmr0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzy06osa, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

All's well that ends well!
While we do continually strive for perfection, we never believe that we have it and so we are always looking for ways to improve the experience of our guests.
We all thoroughly enjoyed the fish you brought back for us and look forward to your next stay here at La Paloma Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 503 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

Perfect service, fantastic food, neat and clean cottages with great views over the rainforest to the ocean, amazingly educated guides, spectacular meeting with uncountable wild animals in the rain forest, the number one place to stay in Costa Rica

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzy06osa, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thanks Gert for your succinct review. What you have described is what we always aim to provide for all of our guests, here at La Paloma Lodge.

We hope to see you here again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We couldn't have been happier with our stay at La Paloma! Every single aspect of our La Paloma experience was extraordinary. Every staff member was friendly, caring, and helpful. Jessica, our activities director and hostess, was there to meet our every need with a smile and always made sure that we knew where to be and what to bring. Randall, our guide in the Corcovado National Park and on our snorkeling trip to Cano Island was a true delight...enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and sooo much fun. Every guide that we had later in our trip in other parts of the country paled by comparison. The food was abundant, unbelievably delicious, and beautifully prepared. We had the option of dining "family style" with other guests...our shared meals were an absolute blast with lots of laughter and sharing of stories. I wish that we could have stayed longer. Three days was not long enough to take in all of the sights and sounds of this beautiful place. Definitely plan to stay longer if you have the good fortune of visiting the Osa Peninsula and definitely, definitely stay at La Paloma.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzy06osa, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you Deborah for your positive review. It was a pleasure to have met you all and shared your time in the Osa Peninsula with you. We hope here at La Paloma that our seasoned guides will enhance our guests' visits. The family style dining allows fellow travelers to recount the days events and share experiences. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the dock of La Paloma Lodge, the staff, accommodations, and scenery went far beyond any expectations that I had. Jessica was there to greet us with her warm smile and upbeat personality. There was fresh fruit and bread waiting for us upon our arrival, and my husband and I were able to drop our bags and instantly go in to vacation mode. The lodge was pristine, the staff was attentive, and the food was amazing during our entire visit.

If you are looking for a authentic visit to the Costa Rican rain forest, you have to visit La Paloma Lodge. The bungalow views are spectacular filled with the sounds of the ocean and wildlife sitings are constant. The staff was good about setting up a telescope to share views of the sloth that lives on the property. Monkeys were in abundance and macaws could be heard daily. Being surrounded by these animals was one thing, but then you add in the hired tour guides that La Paloma offers, and I learned more in my 5 day stay than I could learn from multiple books. While you are there, I would recommend snorkeling at Cano Island and hiking in Corcovado National Park along with taking a zip line tour. The staff at La Paloma will provide you with dry bags for your belongings, and appropriate clothing in case you forget anything. Just remember your hiking shoes!

My husband and I look forward to being able to share our experiences with our children the next time we go (and we will go back!) We also look forward to seeing the outcome of the renovations that were underway when we visited. The owners' vision and determination to make La Paloma paradise within paradise is felt from the moment you arrive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzy06osa, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Kari,
Thank you for your encouragement. The vision here has always been to have our guests experience the incredible beauty of the jungle in a tranquil, comfortable setting.
Hope to see you again,
Jess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I first visited La Paloma Lodge in 2006. My fiancée and now wife we're blown away by the beauty surrounding the lodge. The lodge itself is perched atop a hill overlooking the ocean where we would relax, eat fresh fruit and snacks, and enjoy the wildlife. Every morning/day we took an adventure and relaxed at the beach after. We loved it so much we went back in 2009 and it was equally as impressive. It's the place I tell friends is the "safest bet for a vacation you can make." If you don't fall in love with this place, you didn't go.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank WaldoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzy06osa, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for your feed back about your experiences with us at La Paloma. It makes us happy to hear that we have succeeded in providing a safe and comfortable environment to enjoy the unique wildlife in the Osa Peninsula and continue to strive to create the memories of a lifetime.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Jess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My Wife and I just returned from a 5 day stay at La Paloma Lodge. I can't stop thinking about the experience and already want to plan another trip and take our 4 children. The Lodge and surroundings are paradise, the staff is friendly, and the food was excellent. My favorite part was the adventures we had each day taking the tours offered through the lodge. Randall was our guide for the Corcovado rainforest hike as well as our guide for the snorkeling adventure off Cano Island. He works for the Lodge and is very knowledgeable and passionate about his work. I learned so much from him about the different animals, plants, fish, etc. which made the tours educational as well as fun. I would recommend La Paloma to anyone looking for a clean, safe, adventurous experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzy06osa, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Hi Justin,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

It was a pleasure to have you and Kari stay with us and we truly look forward to having you back here with the rest of the family.

Our aim is to always provide a safe and comfortable environment to enjoy the various eco-systems that the Osa Peninsula has to offer.

Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our second stay at La Paloma and it is just magical. The setting on the Osa Peninsula is spectacular- we stayed in a beautiful bungalow with a view of the ocean and everywhere we went we were surrounded by wildlife. The food was delicious, served as all of the guests sit together and talk over the day's adventures. The staff at La Paloma are some of the best we have ever met in years of travelling and staying in hundreds of hotels. They are there to help in ANY way -even loaning us some of their own "jungle appropriate " clothing when our luggage was delayed. The guides were very knowledgeable- top notch wildlife spotters and also well informed on the history, culture and political realities of modern-day Costa Rica. I am sure that we will return to La Paloma and when we do we will feel like we are visiting old friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gypsygirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizzy06osa, Manager at La Paloma Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your experience with us at La Paloma Lodge.

We aim to enhance what the Osa Peninsula has to offer, by providing freshly prepared meals and a high level of personalized service to all of those guests that visit us and will always go the extra mile when we can.

We look forward to your next visit with us. Hopefully your luggage will land with you next time!

Warm regards,

Jess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.3 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
486 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.2 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
368 reviews
5.8 mi away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#2 of 2 in Corcovado National Park
332 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Lodge

Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range: $280 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Paloma Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have outstanding views of Drake Bay and the Pacific Ocean from our Lodge. Our standard rooms are large and include a private bath and an ocean view balcony. Our ranchos are one and two-story private cabins that also offer balconies with stunning ocean views. They hold up to 6 people and are very spacious. Some are equipped with a bathroom on both the upper and lower level, and are suitable for families or two couples traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your La Paloma Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Paloma Hotel Drake Bay
La Paloma Drake Bay
La Paloma Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing