We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Paloma Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Aguila de Osa(Drake Bay)
$415
$388
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Pirate Cove(Drake Bay)
$186
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Poor Man's Paradise(Osa Peninsula)
$114
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge(Corcovado National Park)
$390
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Luna Lodge(Carate)
$207
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tranquilo Lodge(Drake Bay)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Drake Bay Getaway Resort(Drake Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveler rating
461
46
9
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
46
9
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmangrove toursunset ranchocosta ricacorcovado national parkother guestsfishprivate tabledry roomsan josetwo storynight hikescarlet macawsthe riveropen airdiverse wildlifeboogie boardsfamily style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 524 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I spend the winters in southern Costa Rica and have been to the Osa peninsula several times. La Paloma is our hands down favorite lodge. The staff is extremely gracious and helpful, the guides extraordinarily knowledgable and the facility a beautiful blend of elegance and jungle living. We were traveling with my elderly father and everyone was so helpful and accommodating. We had monkeys and toucans cavorting in the treetops right outside our bedroom window.
The food is simple, fresh and well made. The various tours and activities deliver all they promise.

Room Tip: Rancho 2 has an amazing bedroom overlooking the bay....it's very quiet and private..except for the monkeys and toucans at play in the treetops all around you!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We just spent six nights at La Paloma in the Osa Peninsula in Costa Rica. It is an eco lodge set in the jungle and built overlooking the Pacific Ocean just outside the tiny hamlet of Drake Bay. To get there from San Jose requires an hour flight to Drake Bay (we flew on Nature Air and had wonderful flights both ways), a van pickup and then a short boat ride to the lodge. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The lodge has a very homey, friendly feel to it - and everything about it is first rate. The staff are wonderful, the meals are more than delicious and wholesome with every need catered to. We are vegetarians and had no problems at all. The bread is baked fresh every day, the local fruits - papaya, pineapple, watermelon, bananas etc - are abundant and always available. The grounds are gorgeous and well kept and provide ideal bird and monkey watching. We were 4 in our party and shared a Sunset Rancho - a 2 storey "cabin" perched on the hill overlooking the Pacific. We could sit out on the balcony which ran the width of the unit and bird from there - toucans, scarlet macaws, hummingbirds, flycatchers, honeycreepers - the list goes on and all the while be enjoying the sounds of the waves crashing against the rocks below. There are also various activities and tours from the lodge - and 2 are included in the price. We did the Mangrove tour, 2 hikes in the Corcovada National Forest, a snorkelling tour to Canos Island, a night insect tour with the amazing "Bug Lady" and a birding trip on the trails around the lodge. Guides are available for hire and are very knowledgeable if you prefer private tours. When our six nights were up we were sorry to leave. If you are a birder, or just enjoy what Mother Nature has to offer, we highly recommend a stay at La Poloma Lodge. There is simply not a single negative thing to be said about it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadaweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place was an answered prayer.

I practically work 24/7, and my wife was hounding me to take her on a great getwaway. We had heard of la Paloma from one of our friends who travels to Costa Rica often.

It met every expectation of getting away from it all. We had such a relaxing wonderful time. I gotta say, it was almost like a second honeymoon.

The scenery was incredible. The employees were gracious and knowledgeable about the Osa Pennisula and all the wildlife in the area.

If you need to hit reset, this is the place to do it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place is very remote and beautiful, We had an amazing time - it was one of my favorite vacations.

Pros:
- employees are wonderful. Everybody was nice and helpful. It reminded me of summer camp (in a good way). They told us the best time of day to go kayaking, to the beach, snack time, etc.
- it is remote, and we saw dolphins, macaws, monkeys while sitting in our lodge.
- we were upgraded to a 2 story lodge. We had an amazing view of the bay overlooking the jungle.
- the food was not gourmet, but I think that it was good and the choices were sufficient. The snacks in between meals were good and perfect after a day of activities.
- there was group dining in the evenings, which was fun. A group of us typically stayed having drinks after dinner (not included, but not expensive).
- the bug tour was surprisingly really interesting. I highly recommend it. We also went scuba diving. It wasn't the most interesting scuba diving we've done, but we still enjoyed it.
- the tour of the neighboring island was fun - we saw different types of monkeys, toucans, a boa and other interesting animals.

Cons:
-if you are looking for luxury, this is not the place for you. It's amazing for being so remote, but it's not like staying at the Ritz. The lodge is open so there is no a/c, but I never felt uncomfortable sleeping.

As a side note, it was extremely humid while we were there, and I had wished I had brought more clothes (at least 2 changes during the day and one at night). I would have probably brought several tank tops per day.

Room Tip: I didn't see the one story lodges, but I loved our two story lodge. I would try to get a two story lodge if we ever went back.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zambo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at La Paloma with our adult daughter, and thought we were in Paradise. The setting is superb, on a bluff overlooking the ocean with beautiful tropical gardens all around you. The cabins are "luxury rustic", well-appointed and equipped, with panoramic views. The staff is wonderful--very friendly (learned our names immediately) and helpful. The food is very nice, and healthy (a bonus after two weeks of over-indulgence elsewhere.) The tours are excellent, and the guides are top-notch. We snorkeled one day, hiked in Corcovado National Park a second one, and did the mangrove tour the third. Saw monkeys (some very close), all kinds of birds, lizards and crocodiles, spiders, flowers, etc. Thankfully, no snakes (though they exist.)

Bring some kind of rain protection--it's very humid in this part of Costa Rica. We had a big storm the last night we were there, and if it hadn't stopped raining by morning, we would have had a very wet trip back to the airstrip.

We had two complaints. First, there were a lot of insects--I know it's an eco-lodge and they don't use pesticides, but screens on the windows to keep the insects out of the rooms would be a nice addition. Second, we found the tours to be a little too long. Each could have been cut down by an hour or so without losing any of the benefit. By the time we got back each afternoon and showered and changed, there wasn't much time left to enjoy the beach or the pool.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the ocean. We had one of the two sunset ranchos, which have unbelievable views.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccdoerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews