We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Paloma Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Paloma Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I went to La Paloma Lodge for the first part of our honeymoon. It was really quite the experience. We had the rancho room, which had complete privacy, and it's own amazing view. I think every room has a great view, along with bathrooms that allow you to look out into the jungle. We had a private table for meals as well as the family style that they offer. We really liked that option because you get to talk with other friendly guests about the day's travels. We went on the mangrove tour, and the guide was great. The walk to Rio Claro was a lot of fun as well. I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    43
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
146
210
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place is amazing! It has several individual small houses they call “ranchos.” I love how they are sort of hidden by all the vegetation, but still so close to the main lodge. I stayed in rancho number two and it has an amazing shower. It feels like you are taking a shower in the middle of the jungle, with the luxury of hot water. Everything is clean and the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Rancho number 1 or 2 are both amazing! Best views, and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaH45956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

It has a great location and you can use it as a base for a large number of activities: whale watching, trekking Corcovado, snorkelling, visiting the mangroves etc. There is a sloth which lives on the hotel grounds and you can see it if you are lucky, much better than you can see sloths elsewhere. Also on the hotel grounds you can see monkeys and a lot of birds, including hummingbirds and toucans.

Rooms are good too. The only snag is the food of which there is very little choice - you eat what they give you and it is not very good either.

One tip: when you arrive, you have to board a dingy at a beach to be taken to the lodge, so expect to get your feet wet. Better arrive in shorts and sandals than in trousers, shoes and socks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

La Paloma Lodge was the highlight of our Costa Rican vacation. It is the real pristine Costa Rica were wanted. The staff at the lodge are so sincere and humble. They truly wanted us to be as excited to see the wildlife and enjoy the nature beauty as every other guest before. The lodge is elegant in that it does not compete with nature but rather allowed us to enjoy the rainforest as it's very best. The guides are top class and well seasoned. Our snorkel guide was enthusiastic and helped my daughter feel comfortable with the whole experience. By far our two favorite tours were the Mangrove tour and the Night Tour. The Mangrove tour offered more wildlife than we expected. Randall our guide gave us great insight to the ecology, sociology, and economics about the area. It was like a college level tropical biology class.
It has been several weeks since we returned and our family has decided that "when" we return to Costa Rica we will spend the whole time at La Paloma. We still have beaches to explore and to use the kayaks and boogie boards.
The value is superb- we all know the ol' saying - you get what you pay for. This well oiled machine works from the top to the bottom. Rapid response from the reservations, seamless transfers, personalized service, excellent healthy meals, quality linens, mind boggling detail in the rooms to the picnics, the view, the pool, and monkeys, sloths, and birds galore. So for our family we didn't want the stress of an unknown place so we chose paradise. Thank you La Paloma Lodge!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseZ Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Far and away the best little resort I've ever experienced. Service, staff and food was over the top. Gorgeous setting where outdoor opportunities abound in the sea and jungle. Hope to make there again someday. I give it a "Don't Miss".

Room Tip: take a headlamp
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Pictures and stories will never do this place enough justice...you truly have to go there yourself to understand it's raw beauty and the majesty of this place. The journey there is every bit worth it, because when you arrive via boat and unload at the dock where you're greeted with smiles, this is only the beginning. As you walk up the hill to La Paloma the sounds of the jungle turn on, as if someone is controlling it with the biggest sound system you've ever heard. There are intricate stone pathways that lead you from one "Rancho" to the next, to the pool with an ocean view, to the beach, to the Clubhouse where you will make lifelong friends while eating the most delicious meals, made with the freshest ingredients. The care and attention to detail that have gone into this place will blow your mind.

The rooms itself are each it's own sanctuary, where you're whisked away by the sounds of the jungle and the Pacific Ocean breeze gliding through your room. So special and romantic, you will be overcome with gratitude for being in such an incredible place.

Now beyond the aesthetics are the real heart of this place: the staff! Jess and Tebbs are an amazing team and they make you feel so welcome - like family. Mike and Sue and their family have done an unbelievable job to make this place what it is, and you can tell that every detail has been thought through. From the cleaning and laundry service, to your own sarong and dry bag upon arrival, to sunset happy hour for mingling after a day of activities, to impeccable planning for day trips that include diving, horseback riding, zip lining, fishing, in-room massages, a tour at Corcovado National Park...what else can I say? This place is a true gem!! I honestly can't rave about it enough. You just have to go see for yourself!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed 4 magical nights and it was so very hard to leave. This place is majestic with an incredible staff.,..they truly make you feel like family. I cannot recommend this special place enough. A true gem, I hope all can experience. I am already planning my next visit..I may just have to stay indefinitely!
La Paloma,"Eco-Living", Cano Island and Cocovado National Park are truly spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane-DeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.9 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.3 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
21.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Lodge

Property: La Paloma Lodge
Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Paloma Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have outstanding views of Drake Bay and the Pacific Ocean from our Lodge. Our standard rooms are large and include a private bath and an ocean view balcony. Our ranchos are one and two-story private cabins that also offer balconies with stunning ocean views. They hold up to 6 people and are very spacious. Some are equipped with a bathroom on both the upper and lower level, and are suitable for families or two couples traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your La Paloma Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Paloma Hotel Drake Bay
La Paloma Drake Bay
La Paloma Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing