We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience”
Review of La Paloma Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Paloma Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2012

My family and I spent four nights at the Paloma Lodge over the Xmas vacation; we had an amazing time- the rooms are spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. The staff is very helpful and the owner, Sue, makes sure that every guest, young or old, is well taken care of. I very highly recommend it.

Room Tip: every room is special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilanaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 493 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

Soo much fun, it is simple but very nice, the food is excellent

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtraveleraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My family of 4 had 6 memorable days and nights at La Paloma. We stayed in a stunning Sunset lodge with breathtaking views of the ocean and Cano Island.

The staff was warm and helpful, discussing each day what our following day's activities would be, should we want to venture off, and assisting us in every possible way. The Waterfall Swim and Hike at Corcovado Park was a highlight, as well as the Night Hike Bug Lady tour and the Canopy Tour. All were easily done by both boys, and healthy energetic adults were able to keep up on the hikes as well. Our Keen water-sandals proved invaluable on most tours, as you almost always splash through a small stream to get to wherever you're going - watch out for slippery rocks and crocodiles! My husband and I also enjoyed massages on the patio with the soothing ocean and forest sounds, and our boys loved the small but deep pool for a couple of hours each day while we relaxed after a fun morning of kayaking (3 min walk to dock), playing in the ocean (6 min walk to beautiful beach) or zip-lining (2 hours of tree-top fun just 30 minutes ride away). We had fun horseback riding and snorkeling, too.

We were a bit nervous about the family style dining, as we didn't want to disturb others with our sometimes energetic boys, but they were so exhausted after all the fun and fresh air they just sat and visited and ate, ate, ate! Food was usually a choice between 2 or 3 fresh dishes and you are served 3 full meals a day, plus afternoon snacks if you are peckish. Staff wait along the pathways with flashlights after the evening meal to ensure you find your way safely back to your lodge.

Our boys (9 & 12) slept on the main level of our lodge and we slept upstairs, both floors boasting the amazing view through sliding windows that could be opened so you feel you are part of the surrounding rainforest. Monkeys would swing by in the mornings to then rest on the tree outside our window. The outside feel of the shower was very cool - took one time for me to get used to, and now I miss it.

I can not speak highly enough of La Paloma Lodge and it's wonderful staff. (Sue chatted with us and assisted us for 2 days, taking our shoes to the drying room, getting us fresh sarongs, making bookings, etc, before I realized she was the owner!) I had a million email questions before and after booking, and all were answered promptly and enthusiastically.

Till we meet again, La Paloma - buenos noches!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TLJ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We just finished a long trip to Costa Rica. We spent 4 days at La Paloma. It was very nice but I think it is important to realize you are in the REMOTE parts of Costa Rica. No A/C, No TV, No Phones, Occasional Internet!! Lots of animals, and Bugs!! The rooms were big and the views great. However, you are Really away from civilization!! That may be great for some. I don't like to sleep without A/C and if you keep the lights on at night, well, you might consider that a FEAR FACTOR challenge.
The food was very good as you eat family style. The activites were excellent. Snorkeling, fishing and exploring the Corcovado Park. We did have a surprise visit from some monkeys who stole my daughters PB+J sandwich. The pool is cold.New Year's Eve, I was in bed by 9:30 and up at 6:00 for a morning tour.
Did I enjoy La Paloma?? Definately. Would I go back? No. I need to be "connected" a little bit more!! But that is my personal opinion

Room Tip: Make sure you really want to be away from everything!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DAVEBUCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Our family of 9 people stayed 4 nights in the two Sunset Rancho’s at La Paloma. The rancho was very nice with shiny wood and windows that opened on all sides. We had amazingly comfortable, peaceful sleeps at La Paloma.
The service at La Paloma was the best. Nicole, Jamaica and all the staff were very accommodating and courteous. They were always quick to fulfill any request in a very timely manner. The food was great every day. The lodge always had snacks available between meals which is great when travelling with kids. My only complaint is that the morning coffee was very watery and weak.
All the guides at La Paloma were amazing also. Randall stands out to be one of our favorites. He is a wealth of knowledge in many aspects and a very interesting person to talk to. The night hike with The Bug Lady and her husband was very memorable experience. It was "dumping" rain but we still saw some amazing night creatures and our kids will remember this forever. We used the kayaks at La Paloma and paddled up the river to as far as you can go. We had to get out and carry our kayaks 2 or 3 times to get up past the rapids. This was a bit challenging with the kids but well worth it because the paddle downstream was alot of fun with beautiful scenery. The Cano Island tour was not the best experience for our group. We did not see one dolphin, whale or turtle. And when we attempted on two occasions to go snorkeling we were stung by jelly fish. You cant predict nature and we just had a bad day. We also did the canopy tour which was ok. The drive to the canopy facility in the back of the open air truck, through rivers etc was half the fun. The walk back from town to La Paloma Lodge is fun too.
Our children loved the beach on the property at La Paloma. They spent hours playing in the waves. A group of monkeys came to the beach every day and we would spend time watching them at very close range. The lodge will deliver lounge chairs to the beach upon request. This was quite nice.
Overall, La Paloma is a great, "off the beaten track" outdoor experience. The thing that stands out the most is the "top notch service". Thanks to all of you at La Paloma for making our family vacation special.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanjeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is a gorgeous, beautifully-designed lodge with several bungalows built on a hill in the jungle, overlooking the ocean. The grounds are luxuriant and verdant, the rooms dreamy and comfortable, the food is excellent, the staff very friendly, yet discrete. There is a small pool with view of the ocean, but a lovely beach is a short walk down the hill. It is open to the public, yet it is so remote there are never many people there. The whole place felt like paradise. You must be fit to enjoy being in the jungle, hiking up and down steps and steep paths, rising early to see the wildlife, trekking half the day in the jungle or be in a boat to go snorkeling or kayaking. You must be comfortable with wildlife all around: everything is open to the fresh air. There are monkeys, lizards, snakes, sloths, crocodiles, birds, bugs, etc. but all is endlessly fascinating and felt safe. La Paloma organized many adventures for us, several of which were included in the package: San Pedrillo Ranger Station in the Corcovado Forest, also Cano Island. However, a night hike with an entymologist was extra, but an amazing experience. The guests tended to be smart, interesting, world-travellers. Perhaps not as eco-friendly a lodge as some, but does fairly well. We were all very happy there with an 11- and 15-year-old. We all loved it and would happily visit again.

Room Tip: Room D: corner room with the wrap-around porch and private views of the jungle and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYViaSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Wow, staying in a "standard" room at La Paloma Lodge is a dream vacation! Our room was gorgeous - spacious, gleaming hardwood floors, wrap-around balcony, hammock, jungle and ocean views, sliding glass doors throughout. The quality of the tour guides was inspiring - every one of them went above and beyond and really, truly knew their stuff. Their love of nature and of their country was palpable. And the service from the staff was impeccable. Nicole and Jamaica made us feel 100% taken care of, in every last detail. The food was great, and the company was wonderful as well. While there, we saw toucans, scarlet macaws, squirrel monkeys, howler monkeys, crocodiles....really recommend the mangrove tour and snorkeling; the Corcovado Park tour (to first ranger station) was the only disappointment. Walking on our own along the coastal trail from the Lodge to San Josecito Beach was the highlight of the stay for us. Definitely recommend the five night package - four will be too little time here.

Room Tip: I think we were in room D, on the end, so we had a wrap around balcony....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFEcoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.3 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
484 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.2 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
360 reviews
5.8 mi away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#2 of 2 in Corcovado National Park
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Lodge

Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range: $280 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Paloma Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have outstanding views of Drake Bay and the Pacific Ocean from our Lodge. Our standard rooms are large and include a private bath and an ocean view balcony. Our ranchos are one and two-story private cabins that also offer balconies with stunning ocean views. They hold up to 6 people and are very spacious. Some are equipped with a bathroom on both the upper and lower level, and are suitable for families or two couples traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your La Paloma Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Paloma Hotel Drake Bay
La Paloma Drake Bay
La Paloma Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing