We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It's Like a Dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Paloma Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Paloma Lodge
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Suffield, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's Like a Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Our 5 day stay at La Paloma was like a dream. We arrived home last night and are madly trying to figure out how to get back to La Paloma again. The lodge itself is ever so lovely surrounded by incredible views and vegetation and we slept every night listening to the waves of the Pacific and awoke in the morning to the sounds of the jungle coming to life. If the setting and wonderfully comfortable and well appointed bungalows aren't enough to lure you off the couch, then add a few toucans, the voices of howlers, hummingbirds, frigate birds, macaws and troops of adorable monkeys and the lodge is pretty much nirvanna to me. Only adding to the appeal, is an incredible staff, led by Nicole and Jamaica who attended to our every need with good humor and efficiancy and our wonderful guide, Sergio, who taught us so much in the time we were together and has the eyes of an eagle. Did I mention that the food was incredible? We have all had to special order new Spanx to recover from all that homemade bread and all the wonderful meals that arrived on the table each day.
Our excursions were great, led by Sergio. We saw boas and sloths and crocs in the mangrove, good fish at Cano and we went to Sirena in Corcovado and it is sure worth the extra trip as we came face to face with a Tapir, saw lots of monkeys and crocs, and an anteater, wonderful birds and bromeliads and fatastic fungus and vegetation beyond belief.
Every moment was great and I'll be daydreaming when I am at the water cooler tomorrow and the daydream will definitely take place at La Paloma. It's awesome!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FernLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    40
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
129
194
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Three nights were not enough to enjoy all this property has to offer. We stayed in bungalow #7 at the end of the property with a spectacular jungle and ocean view from our hammock-ed patio. The room was clean, comfortable, and the food was outstanding. We recommend the visit to corcovado and the mangrove tour during which we saw four types of monkey, crocodile, cayman, toucan, macaws, boa constrictors, sloths, fruit bats and so many beautiful birds. Sergio was an exceptional guide with a PhD in rainforest canopy biology. We had a private on-property tour with him and didn't have to go far at all to see many more wildlife treasures. Corcovado has much more to offer than Manuel Antonio and is a more exciting trek. The staff go out of their way to accommodate the wishes and requests of the guests. We will surely be back--thank you La Paloma!

Room Tip: Number 7 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aerotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Just stayed there for 4 nights and would rate this place 4.5 of 5 stars. Would visit again for sure.

Pros:
Awesome view of ocean (lodge is about 100 ft above ocean).
Great service
Food is fantastic!
Rooms are beautiful (lots of polished wood with many windows).
Lots of fun activities to choose from via boat rides mostly.
Grounds are beautiful since lodge is amongst a rainforest.

Cons:
Must take 30mn boat ride followed by 15mn walk in order to surf

Often cloudy with infrequent small bouts of rain but was kind of nice since you're in a rainforest

Very humid but wasn't hot at all therefore, nothing dries (however, lodge has a de-humidifier and you can give then your clothes/shoes to dry out).

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank powder1538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We flew (upon Frommer's recommendation) to La Paloma Lodge on a small Nature Air plane from Tobias Bolanas (commonly called Pavas) Airport just north of San Jose, an exciting trip! The flight was comfortable and scenic, but then we rode a van/truck directly into a river and, thankfully, across it to a small boat which took us across Drake Bay to La Paloma. After a long hike up a steep slope (unless you wanted to ride the tractor-like vehicle which was offered---a good choice for the less physically fit), we arrived in Paradise! The large, roof-covered but open dining hall was just beautiful. And the food served there was also beautiful! Just as beautiful was cabin D, our nearby room with TWO balconies, both with wonderful views! Since we were led to expect a kingsize bed, which was not available in cabin D, Nicole arranged to have an additional bed for us. We cannot adequately explain how refreshing our 4 days were in this accommodation, but our Corcovado hike (included) along a river was the most authentic jungle hiking we have ever done (including our 7 days along the Amazon River in Peru). We saw beautiful birds, coati mundis, sloths, monkeys, crocodiles, and two fer-de-lances (Google this snake!) along the river we wound up swimming in just below a beautiful waterfall!! We also had our own 3-toed sloth that continued to reappear every day just off one of our balconies! We got great pictures of the sloth, a toucan, etc, and also interesting spiders/insects during the night hike led by the "bug lady". Many more activities were available, including snorkeling, kayaking, and a mangrove cruise down a river. These were the best 4 days of our 18-day trip!

Room Tip: For a couple our room ("cabin" D) was the only one with 2 balconies (which was just wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIT1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komoka Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the La Paloma for 5 nights. The" WOW" factor for this lodge was endless.
Making the reservation for this lodge was easy. Andrea did a fabulous job organizing everything for us . We where going to Manual Antonio after our stay. Andrea had to arrange the water taxi and then a ground taxi to the Palmar Sur Airport. The Nature Air plane was delayed for 2 hours when leaving and Andrea called us at the airport to ask if we needed any help in any way. That was so sweet of her. She does her job very well.
We had an interesting ride to the Lodge after we landed. We took a van. Then the clutch went on the van. Another van came back and picked us up. When we got to the river we had to cross it by horse. The river was too high for the van to cross. Then another van for a short distance. Then we took a 10 minute boat ride to the Lodge. It was kind of a cool and changeling trip to the lodge. Different and we liked it.
Nichol the manager greeted our group and led us up the hill to the Lodge. They had lunch ready for us and Nichol gave us our information for our 5 night stay. We where given our key to our room and our bags where taken to our rooms for us.
Our room was a single bungalow #6. It was fantastic. We had a spectacular view of the ocean and the jungle was all around us. The bed was soooooo!!!! comfortable. We slept like baby's, even when it rained really heavy at night. We could here the nocturnal symphony from outside also. For my husband and myself, we where in heaven. It was so peaceful.
The main building where you ate your meals was decorated tastefully for a lodge. Not to fancy not to rustic. They had a lounge area in the corner of that building with wi fi. It was weak sometimes. All of the travelers there that we met where very nice and loved nature like we do. It was interesting chatting with them. There where family's and the kids where just fantastic.
The meals where great. They even gave you a snack in the afternoon with tea or coffee or juice. The mixed drinks and wine where at a good price.
The day tours what where included in our package deal where every nice. Except when we had to go to Cano Island for snorkeling it was a little rainy and the ride there was ruff. The advisability was not all that great for snorkeling. We had known that before the trip and we where satisfied with it. We did go down in the rainy season which we wanted to experience.
The trip to the park was an experience and muddy. Weeeee!!! we had fun. There was boundless nature in the Drakes Bay area.
All of the guides where just fabulous.
The service at the lodge was tremendous. Nicole the manager, Jamaica (new manager helper) and the girls that brought us coffee to our bungalow in the very , very early morning, even in the rain. All the waiters where fabulous also. The service was immeasurable.
If you had wet shoes they would dry them for you. They always had a large pile of them.
They do laundry for you, at $8.00 per load. They do wake up calls also. The girl will come and knock on your door (no phone call). Nice touch.
They have a lovely little pool area. Used it once.
My husband and I did a 3 hour hike down to a beach with another couple we met at the lodge and we had a boat from the lodge to pick us up at a curtain time. There was a fee. $50.00. We split the price with the other couple. Very nice hike along the coast line.
We did the Bug Lady Night Tour. It is a must to do. Very interesting and she and husband is very knowledgeable about night critters. After taking that tour we would look around at night time for critters after our supper for the rest of our vacation. It is surprising how much you miss at night.
This Lodge is our favorite one that we have been to in the Osa area.
We have been to another one farther south but not quite a good as this one.
The employees really make the place. All where just fantastic. The location and grounds was outstanding.
We didn't want to leave. We will always remember this Lodge.
Heavenley Lodge in the Jungle. .

Room Tip: Bungalow #6 for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank natureloverKomoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at La Paloma in Sept 2011-it was amazing!!! I knew that Osa Peninsula would be great -teaming with wildlife and stunning landscapes, but it was made even better by the beautiful accommodations at La Paloma. The staff went above and beyond-- from helping track down my lost luggage to treating us with great hospitality and personal attention. It was amazing to have that much luxury while being in such a wild part of the world. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdk358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

What a once in a lifetime experience. I had heard this was the season to see the whales- and boy was it. I would highly recommend this resort, and this time of year to see tons of wildlife. We saw the ridley turtle, spotted dolphins, birds (too many types to name) and whales (upwards of 20 in total over two trips out). The staff here was nothing short of amazing. They packed us snacks (customized for my kids) and even cleaned and prepped our fish we caught to go home with us. We changed our mind- and they quickly accomodated and were very flexible. Essentials to bring along: socks, waterproof shoes, bugspray, sunscreen, motion sickness meds for the boat of course camera, and rain gear as you will get wet this time of year. A huge thank you to Nicole and Gustavo (our guide). We had a blast!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank schunkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.9 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.1 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
0.2 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#1 of 33 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Paloma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Lodge

Property: La Paloma Lodge
Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have outstanding views of Drake Bay and the Pacific Ocean from our Lodge. Our standard rooms are large and include a private bath and an ocean view balcony. Our ranchos are one and two-story private cabins that also offer balconies with stunning ocean views. They hold up to 6 people and are very spacious. Some are equipped with a bathroom on both the upper and lower level, and are suitable for families or two couples traveling together. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Paloma Hotel Drake Bay
La Paloma Drake Bay
La Paloma Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing