We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Paloma Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$149
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Drake Bay Backpackers(Drake Bay)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Casa Drake Lodge(Drake Bay)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ranchitos Las Cotingas(Drake Bay)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $69/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cabinas Pura Vida(Drake Bay)(Great Value!)
$40
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aguila de Osa(Drake Bay)
$415
$402
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Pirate Cove(Drake Bay)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveler rating
469
48
9
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
48
9
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmangrove toursunset ranchocorcovado national parkcosta ricaother guestsprivate tablefishnight hikesan josedry roomtwo storyscarlet macawsopen airthe riverdiverse wildlifeboogie boardsfamily style
Filter
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 534 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at La Paloma in Sept 2011-it was amazing!!! I knew that Osa Peninsula would be great -teaming with wildlife and stunning landscapes, but it was made even better by the beautiful accommodations at La Paloma. The staff went above and beyond-- from helping track down my lost luggage to treating us with great hospitality and personal attention. It was amazing to have that much luxury while being in such a wild part of the world. Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdk358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

What a once in a lifetime experience. I had heard this was the season to see the whales- and boy was it. I would highly recommend this resort, and this time of year to see tons of wildlife. We saw the ridley turtle, spotted dolphins, birds (too many types to name) and whales (upwards of 20 in total over two trips out). The staff here was nothing short of amazing. They packed us snacks (customized for my kids) and even cleaned and prepped our fish we caught to go home with us. We changed our mind- and they quickly accomodated and were very flexible. Essentials to bring along: socks, waterproof shoes, bugspray, sunscreen, motion sickness meds for the boat of course camera, and rain gear as you will get wet this time of year. A huge thank you to Nicole and Gustavo (our guide). We had a blast!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schunkfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

In mid July I spent 15 days in Costa Rica traveling with my wife and two children, 10 years and 8 years old. It was our first trip to Costa Rica and we wanted to experience some of the less-traveled parts of the country in addition to a few highlights. We decided to start our trip in Osa since it is still pretty remote and filled with wildlife.

After an overnight in Liberia we headed down to La Paloma for 5 nights. Our domestic flight to Drake Bay was delayed due to bad weather across the country. We learned that we were at the tail end of two storms that had brought five solid days and nights of rain to much of Costa Rica. Our flight from Liberia finally departed from Liberia but when we landed in San Jose to change planes we were informed, due to weather, that our flight was being routed Palmar Sur. In the same breath the Nature Air representative assured me that La Paloma was aware of this and that they were sending a minivan to meet us at Palmar Sur then we would travel by boat down the Sierpe River to La Paloma. When we arrived in Palmar Sur everything went as planned and we soon found ourselves at La Paloma checking in. I only bring this up as one example of how amazing the staff is at taking care of everything. Especially traveling with kids it was nice to know that the transfers and transportation was sorted out. When the minivan met us at the airport there were two other travelers fuming because their guesthouse had left them waiting. At the Sierpe River we met our boat driver, Eduardo, who my son still talks about.

We arrived to find out that we missed the endless rain by a few hours. We were greeted by Nicole who led us to the beautiful open-air restaurant for a welcome lunch with fresh fruit, homemade bread and fresh fish. After lunch Nicole walked us down to our 2-story Rancho that was perched on a cliff over the ocean. The room was incredible. The kids had command of the downstairs while we had the upstairs to ourselves. We had a balcony with a hammock, two bathrooms, teak floors, comfortable beds and an incredible view towards Isla de Cano. We were lucky enough to see Toucans, Scarlet Macaws and Howler Monkeys from our balcony along with picture-perfect sunsets.

With so much to see we ended up booking a tour everyday. We did two trips into Corcovado National Park, the mangrove tour, the night tour with the ‘Bug Lady’ and the Isla de Cano snorkeling trip. We also borrowed kayaks from La Paloma and hiked to small, nearly deserted beaches nearby. Osa and La Paloma did not disappoint. The wildlife was crazy – howler monkeys, spider monkeys, squirrel monkeys, capuchin monkeys, sloths, tapirs, red-eye tree frogs, snakes, coatis, caimans, crocodiles, and every bird you can imagine…it was incredible. Our guide for all of our activities was Gustavo and he was fantastic. One recommendation is to visit the La Serena ranger station in Corcovado if you want to see more wildlife. San Pedrillo was really great and the waterfall was beautiful but La Serena had more hiking and animal viewing time. We were extremely happy with our choice to visit Osa and it was the highlight of our trip.

La Paloma was extremely memorable. When I first began researching the area and places to stay it seemed expensive compared to other options near Drake. But La Paloma included a lot that others guest houses listed a la carte. It includes domestic flights, transfers, all meals, some excursions. For example, if we would have booked elsewhere we may have lost an entire day just sorting out how to get to Drake Ba I y. La Paloma has this sorted before we never knew it was an issue. I also want to rave about the staff. The people that worked there were just nice and helpful. Everyone from Nicole who runs the place to the guides to the people in the restaurant, they all had a sincere smile on their face and were happy. There were people working there taking photos at sunset which was cool that they really appreciated their days there as much (probably more) as we did. The food was another highlight. Every meal was fantastic. We had filet minon one night then seared ahi tuna the next. They would always accommodate children if they had specific needs. Every meal was accompanied by a homemade loaf of bread that was incredible. The staff will even bring you an early morning cup of coffee to your front door if you need a wake up call.

After a full day of excursions, the kids had a great time playing at the pool or visiting a nearby beach. The current was a bit strong the the setting was spectacular.

Bottom line, the stay at La Paloma was one of the best we have ever had. My wife and I have been lucky enough to travel quite a lot but usually on a tight budget. This was a bit of a splurge for us but worth every penny. The quality of the rooms, the staff, the food were all top notch. We felt extremely welcome there and wish we had 5 more nights just to chill out and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank carbon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed at La Paloma in November last year. I was just asked for a recommendation on Costa Rica and my very happy memories of this trip to the Oso Penninsula reminded me to do the TA review I had meant to post immediately after the visit. It's a great trip with kids, solo, couples -- everyone. A flight is required to reach the Oso. It is one of the last untouched and underdeveloped spots in Costa Rica. La Paloma is a fantastic eco-resort set on the edge of the water (accessible only by boat). The individual A-frame cottages with decks onto the ocean are perfect for resting, relaxing, reading a book and taking in the view. The staff at La Paloma are wonderful. They arranged for: rainforest hike to a waterfall and swimming; whale watching -- seeing the humpback whales migrating is unforgettable; a hike on a small tropical island with knowledgeable guides (monkeys abound); and ziplining through the rainforest. The food is FANTASTIC -- fresh, fresh, fresh -- including homemade breads and desserts. Go now before the hordes descend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheCulturedPalate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We saw so much wildlife right on the property. The food and service was outstanding. The rooms perfectly appointed with stunning views. And my favorite was the wonderful garden. This was the best stop on our trip across Costa Rica. Ask for Randal the guide who captivated us with his stories and knowledge. And our night walk with The Bug Lady was a highlight. A challenge to get there in "green season" but that was part of the adventure...air, land and sea!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews