We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and simple food”

Gringo Curt's Seafood & Vistor Center
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Gringo Curt's Seafood & Visitor Center was established June 2010 and our menu has not changed to date. We have pride in our small menu because it assures that we can provide freshness throughout the year by purchasing fruits, vegetables and fresh fish, locally and daily. There are many benefits to having same day caught fish but one downside is that we cannot guarantee a time that we can open. If we have fish at 12pm, we open. Thank you for your consideration and look forward to your visit Pura Vida!
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent and simple food”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We went twice for dinner at Curt's restaurant. He is charming, and he gave us so many advices about the region. It was great having him telling us interesting things while we eat his delicious dishes. If you ask for one dish, two persons will eat. Try the banana-pineapple- papaya rhum shake... Amazing!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank avo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    59
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Food is really good. Catch of day the day, prepared deliciously. Only three things on the menu, they are all good. The spaghetti isn't really a spaghetti, since its prepared the same as the fish with the same seasoning - but still nice.
Friendly owner and a lot of birds close by to watch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly folks and delicious food!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Curt is located pretty much in the center of Drake Bay and has a Trip Advisor sign on his building, so he is hard to miss. We visited him based on all of the great reviews that I had read and we were not disappointed! The place is tiny, but please don't be put off by the few tables, limited menu and nearly invisible kitchen, as the food was absolutely delicious and the conversation may have been better! Curt and his current volunteer, Joe, are very personable and the kind of folks I would hang with if I lived in Drake Bay. They are both from Idaho or Iowa... one of the I states... and are very down to earth. The best part about Curt was that he knows how lucky he is to be living his dream and he LOVES this amazing natural environment as much as any Tico. He is also extremely knowledgeable about Drake Bay and happily shares this knowledge with his visitors. This is also some of the most flavorful food that we have eaten in CR, fresh from the sea and freshly prepared to order. Portions are huge!! Good job Curt! Hope to see you again one day!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bowwowkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a small restaurant at the top of the hill but well worth the walk. The menu depends on what has been caught that day and the fish cooked in banana leaves with spices is marvellous, plenty for two people to share. Bring your own beer and wine and Kurt will keep it in the fridge for you. Excellent place to eat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank twohoots2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Any place that serves good food in Drake Bay deserves a medal and the food at Curt's is definitely above the Costa Rica average. The portions are HUGE. No I'm not kidding, and Curt is not kidding either. One portion can easily feed 3 people... Also the boozy cocktails are really boozy, might I say a little too boozy (not that I'm complaining :)). Dish #1 is significantly better than the second and third option on the menu which is why this place is only getting an average review. Even dish #1 could have been executed better. The piece of fish was quite greasy, salty and on the drier side.
Don't get me wrong, it was a good meal but it should have been executed better. However if you spend a few nights in Drake Bay, definitely give Curt a try!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wacko_654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gringo Curt's Seafood & Vistor Center also viewed

Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Gringo Curt's Seafood & Vistor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing