We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay!”
Review of Cabinas Pura Vida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabinas Pura Vida
Ranked #5 of 22 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have spent two nights at Cabinas Pura Vida. It´s a really nice place to stay. The service is great. Victor helped us with all kinds of questions and arranged a boat and shuttle all the way up north. Besides that it wasn´t a problem at all to leave our stuff for a night when we did a two day trekking in the Corcovado NP. The restaurant next to the cabinas serves good food. And.. the only bar in town is a minute away. Don´t hesitate to book this place, we really recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofie998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 140 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Victor is a very nice guy, who really help us for our trip. the room are very confortable and spacious, plus a a service very clean. He really gave us good advice for everything. it's a wondefrul place to stay and you are close to the main street, with all the activities for nights. I really advise this place for people coming in Corcovado with a fair budget and with a social life.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

located just above the town in Drake, cabinas pura vida has really nice, clean and comfortable rooms for a great price. the owners are so accommodating and knowledgable about everything. Kate...Victor know how to have a good time.. and know the best way to make sure you get everything out of your trip to drake bay! i highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morgan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Kate and Victor were nothing short of AMAZING. They were warm, friendly and most importantly, helpful! We had very little planned when arriving in Costa Rica and by the time we landed in this wonderfully remote village we were in need of guidance:) These two went out of their way on multiple occasions to advise us on where to go, what to do and how to do it. I can't say enough about their hospitality.

The hotel itself is equally as wonderful. The location is close to everything Bahia Drake has to offer but still a remote and quiet setting. Our tour of El Parque Nacional Corcovado left from the beach right down the street. Victor even set it up for us. The price was the most competitive in town and it was an EXCELLENT tour.

The rooms were clean, well attended to and spacious. The best part was the hammock hanging right outside!

We will definitely be back to Bahia Drake and I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a blast in Agujitas and that was thanks in large part to Kate and Victor at Cabinas Pura Vida. After a scenic ride from the highway, we arrived in town with no plans and a flat tire. Some well placed signs promising cheap lodging led us here, where Victor showed us to a clean fresh room where we could get clean and fresh. He was also happy to help us locate a guide to show us around Corcovado, as well somebody in town who could fix the aforementioned flat, which was a HUGE help. This town is a slice of heaven, and the surrounding beaches and jungles provided tons of entertainment. We liked sitting out on the porch in the afternoons, watching the toucans and hummingbirds flying around, running their bird errands.

Cabinas Pura Vida was one of the nicest places I've stayed in any of my travels. Kate and Victor repeatedly went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time, which we most assuredly did. I would recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Cabinas Pura Vida was a perfect choice for our Zancudo vacation. It is located directly across the road from the BEST stretch of beach in Zancudo (we can say that because we walked the entire beach). It is all sand (not rocky) and COLORFUL sand/pebbles- jades, ambers, reds, yellows, black...all come alive when wet. Wide beach with waves perfect for swimming & surfing.
Pura Vida is located well outside of the bustling noise of "town", but is only a 2 minute walk from a store with everything you might need, as well as 2 quality restaurant/bars.
The hotel has a unique design that allows a cool breeze to permeate even in the heat of the day. The grounds are well-shaded and there are numerous places to sit & relax- either at a table or in a hammock.
We were greeted by the warm hostess who also cooked us breakfasts and dinners- she is an extraordinary cook- it was all delicious & affordable- from curry chicken & herbed potatoes to tomato & herb pasta with BIG prawns.
The hotel is immaculate and well-cared for, with a peaceful, tranquilo, and yet social atmosphere. We enjoyed the company of all the guests that stayed there, as well as the hostess and the owner. Great people, great conversation, and great ambiance.
The rates are aimed at the budget traveler, but the service and quality overall is very high. Beds are comfy enough. The woodwork & art throughout the hotel is beautiful. Many places to hang beach towels, bathing suits, and surf boards. Rooms with shared bathroom is $7 per person, rooms with private bath is $10 pp. If you want a private hot water bathroom, it is $12 per person.
We discovered this hotel online after a lot of searching for Zancudo hotels and found the website: www.cabinaspuravida.com. We will be back.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with the most windows- the breezes are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prettypickyguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

"Pura Vida" is the best name choice to describe this place. Living in Cabinas Pura Vida with the owners makes you feel "pure life" of Costa Rican's lifestyle.

Norlyn, the owner and his wife Gabriela are very friendly and very helpful ! Whatever you ask, they'll do their best to respond to it positively. They bring you all their attention to make you feel as home.
We were pleased to find this familiar place with 5 rooms only. Rooms are simple, spacious, confortable and very clean (every day). Dishes at their restaurant are delicious and quite cheap.

We had an unforgettable time here. Magical. With them, because we shared a lot, and discovering the wonderful areas of Drake Bay and Corcovado Park. We were about to stay 2 or 3 days, we stayed a week!
One of the best places of our 10 months travel thought South and Central America!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClaraHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
#7 of 22 in Drake Bay
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mohagine Hotel
Mohagine Hotel
#1 of 46 in Drake Bay
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado
0.2 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#3 of 22 in Drake Bay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Pura Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Pura Vida

Address: | Bahia Drake, Drake Bay 000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: $50 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Pura Vida 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pura Vida Drake Bay Cabins is located in the center of Drake Bay just 400 meters from the beach, since its opening in 2007 to been operated by a couple of young Costa Ricans, Norlyn and Gabriela. All our rooms have air conditioning, private bathrooms, hot water and we offer our new kitchen for your convenience. We also have a secure parking and beautiful garden with hammocks right on the terrace of your room. We also organize guided tours to Corcovado National Park (Sirena or San Pedrillo Station) Caño Island (Diving or snorkeling) and more! Cabinas Pura Vida is your best option in Bahia Drake by price, quality and service, we will be glad to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Cabinas Pura Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Pura Vida Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing