We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place- clean, comfortable, and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Martina's Place Hostel
Ranked #3 of 20 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I chose to stay here because it was cheap and clean, and because the guy working there- Tebs- was really welcoming and helpful. He and Martina organized all of our tours and transportation for us so we didn't have to do anything, and they are full of helpful advice sunce they know the while town. On our second day, there was a huge storm so we stayed in the hostel all day playing cards with tebs and the other guests- we ended up having a great day despite the rain, and extended our stay an extra day because of it. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilykatecarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hi Emily, thank you for your great review, as I wrote to Cleon already, you guys are really special and I hope to see you again one day! Pura Vida :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Martina's Place Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 187 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this hostel. Having been traveling through Costa Rica for some months, this has been one of our most ideal stays. Not only does the hostel feel like home, but Martina is just marvelous. She's as friendly as they come and is super helpful when it comes to booking tours and finding economical ways to enjoy Drake Bay and the Corcovado National Park. She even made sure we were awake on time in the morning to make our dive. She also makes sure to keep her hostel clean and her kitchen extremely organized for all the guests. Never seen anything like it. Also, because everything is sufficiently communal, we couldn't help but meet some really great and interesting people. It was quite perfect for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravlBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hey guys, thank you so much for your review and thanks for staying at our place, it was a real pleasure having you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had a great experience at Martinas. Close to everything, all you need to use as base camp or stay for an extended time period. Thinking about going back, miss the great people I had the pleasure meeting. Coach

Room Tip: All rooms adequate for short or long stay.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l e c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hey Coach, thank you so much for your review...we all miss you and hope you come back soon to live here for good :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed elsewhere, but found Martina almost supernaturally helpful in getting things arranged and booked. Almost omniscient in local matters. Speaks excellent English, unlike at many of the hotels. Brisk and efficient, and a real pleasure to talk with.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Matamata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you so much for this review, I really appreciate it! Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Martina's place was recommend by a friend in Uvita and did not disappoint! We told Martina when we arrived that we wanted to do a diving course and by the time we had settled in she had booked us in with the local PADI centre, didn't have to lift a finger!

The rooms and setting were great, 300m from the amazing beach on Drake Bay but still in the middle of the village. Martina was so helpful and knows everything and everone in the area and she even took time out to be our tour guide for an afternon trek to Rio Claro!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tristan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you so much Tristan for your review- it was such a pleasure having you guys here almost a week :-) please come back one day, there is so much more to explore about Drake Bay...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Martina's place is great value. Features a clean, large and well-stocked kitchen. The location is close to hiking and beaches. Wonderful, mellow atmosphere. Martina was sweet and very helpful. Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryan1993P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your review Ryan, I really appreciate it! I hope to see you again one day in Drake Bay :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at Martina's for a little over 2 weeks and I look forward to returning there again soon. Martina is VERY kind, helpful and knowledgable about the best places to visit and see. She also is extremely helpful with organizing any kind of adventure you want from visiting Corcovado to diving & snorkeling at Cano Island to many many others. Her staff Tia and Angelica were also kind and helpful. There's a great kitchen and refrigerator for making meals. The rooms were clean, safe and large. The bed was very comfortable and the high velocity fan was a great addition as well especially during the hottest time of the year. It's also a great central location in about the center of Drake Bay which allows you quick access to the restaurants and grocery store and yet you also have the benefit of being able to walk to the beach and leave for tours easily. I would definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: They're all nice and accommodating to your budget.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Hi John, thank you soooooo much for this great review! I could see you felt comfortable here and love Drake Bay, so I am sure I see you again soon :-) Enjoy your stay in Costa Rica, Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
0.6 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Casa Horizontes Corcovado
#4 of 20 in Drake Bay
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#2 of 20 in Drake Bay
189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#6 of 8 in Drake Bay
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martina's Place Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martina's Place Hostel

Address: Agujitas | Contiguo la Iglesia Cristiana, Drake Bay 60506, Costa Rica (Formerly Pura Vida Drake Bay)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: $46 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean hostel with familiar atmosphere. We offer: 1 studio apartment with private kitchen, 2 dormitories, 4 rooms with shared bath, 2 family rooms with private bath, 1 honeymoon cabin with private bath. Our hostel is a 2 minutes walk to beach and supermarkets. We can help with all tours to Corcovado, Cano Island and around Drake Bay. You will find a fully equipped kitchen for self cooking with coffee, tea, oil, salt and sugar for your use. Our services include: hot water showers, good WiFi, a few hammocks, free parking and luggage storage. Attention! There is no bank or ATM in Drake Bay. Bring enough cash or pay with card (+4% banking fee). Room and most tours can be booked through our homepage. See you soon in Drake Bay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Martina's Place Hostel Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing