We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hot hot hot!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Martina's Place Hostel
Ranked #2 of 22 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2011

A nice, clean, place, owner/operator pleasant, we stayed only one night because it was during rainy season and the sewer backed up in the bathroom!! I would be willing to stay here again during dry season, reasonable priced!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brittanybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Hello thank you so much for your positive review...and sorry about the rain-water-shower problem... So we wait for you to come back in the dry season :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 202 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

I live in Drake Bay and have a small B&B. This is the place I send our guests for dinner and-or lunch.

I also have eaten at Pura Vida Drake Bay several times. It is my favorite place in Drake Bay. The fish is fresh, the menu has a good variety. Sometimes I just want a good salad, this is the place! The owner is wonderful, as is her staff.

I have not stayed in the rooms, but they are both very clean and comfortable. The apartment gives you your privacy, with your own private bathroom, hot water also!

This place is definately "pura vida¨.

Room Tip: The apartment is a little more (very little more), but gives you a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casitacorcovado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Owner at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Hi Jamie, thanks for your review and sorry we closed one of your favorite restaurants...it needed just too much attention always. And our guests are happy now they can use the kitchen for self cooking :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BagaLude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Inhaber at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Esteban M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Inhaber at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ich war leider nur in einem Dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jula d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Inhaber at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Inhaber at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank claudiawiese87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaWegener, Inhaber at Martina's Place Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
0.1 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#3 of 22 in Drake Bay
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Pura Vida
Cabinas Pura Vida
#5 of 22 in Drake Bay
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado
0.1 mi away
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
#7 of 22 in Drake Bay
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mohagine Hotel
Mohagine Hotel
#1 of 46 in Drake Bay
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martina's Place Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martina's Place Hostel

Address: Agujitas | Camino de la playa, Drake Bay 60506, Costa Rica (Formerly Pura Vida Drake Bay)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: $31 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean hostel with familiar atmosphere. We offer: 2 dormitories, 5 rooms with shared bath for 1-3 persons, 2 family rooms with private bath, 1 honeymoon cabin with private bath. Our hostel is a 2 minutes walk to beach and supermarkets. We offer the biggest choice of tours in the area: Corcovado Nationalpark, Cano Island, around Drake Bay and 6 different overnight tours. You will find a fully equipped kitchen for self cooking with coffee, tea, oil, salt and sugar for free use. Our services include: hot water showers, good WiFi, a few hammocks, free parking and luggage storage. Attention! There is no bank or ATM in Drake Bay. Bring enough cash or pay with card (+4% banking fee). Room and most tours can be booked through our homepage. See you soon in Drake Bay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Martina's Place Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martina's Place Hostel Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing