We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super low key and sweet place”
Review of Casa Pequena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Pequena
Ranked #11 of 18 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super low key and sweet place”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed here for about 4 full days in Feb 2014. The whole set up is super chill and laid back. Huge recommendation if you are into a more laid back setting; for those travellers looking for more polished operations or a simple jump-off for day tripping and touring corcovado, etc., then I might look in drake bay town itself.

I loved it here and spent much of my time hanging around the farm, lounging in hammocks, hanging with and practicing spanish with Osvaldo and Daniella, helping out with odds and ends (e.g., planting some plantain trees), enjoying some of the fruits of the farm (e.g., fresh young coconut plucked from tree, pineapple plucked from the bush), cooking with the big brick oven, and going for walks through the jungle or down to the beach (about a 35 minute walk) in the second half of the day. The place is very cool for hanging out, and the jungle is just right there -- with monkeys and macaws hanging out right at the border of the farm.

If you are just looking for a hostel to use as a home base for taking excursions to Corcovado and tours and stuff, then you might be better off down closer to Drake Bay (CP is kind of up in the hills and further down the coast). If you are looking more for the chilled out vibe, then CP is awesome.

Few details:
- Osvaldo will scoop you up from/drop you off at the drake airstrip, cost is i think $24 (and I don't think the taxis like to go up there cuz there are 2 river crossings) just let him know in advance
- Osvaldo will scoop you/drop you at the beach to catch the boat to and from Sierpe, cost is i think $14
- You can walk 30 minutes to a little general store to get food if you need it, but don't expect too much. You can also get some food (e.g., cheese, platains) from the neighbors and Osvaldo will help with that
- Everything is independently powered (CP is off the grid) and there is Internet in the main area (an internet USB modem thingy) but don't expect wifi or anything out in your room
- Bring cash -- there are no ATMs anywhere in drake bay or sierpe

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
12
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Osvaldo and Daniella's self sutainable farm was an unique, marvelous experience and was much needed! I arrived ill and left regenerated, rejuvenated and glad we stayed the extra night. Our host were majical. They fed me coconut water to elevate my electrolytes and clean my system and herbal tea to soothe. These are all from his farm. I was amaze how comfortable and private his cabin in the woods is and Osvaldo is a great cook. I love the ducks, fruit trees, and the conversation was divine, There was so much that we share and had in common, Osvaldo took his time to take us to a nearby solitary beach in Rincon were we saw a beautiful Sunset...I love taking a walk and seeing the splendors of the Osa Peninsula away from all the tourist traffic... Great experience

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soarizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

After traveling throughout most of the country, we felt inundated with tourists from all over. We had heard Casa Pequeña was a unique place and the reviews were good so we booked two nights. We did not know what to expect exactly. We were picked up by Osvaldo in his Taxi-Quad - a 4-wheel ATV with a platform on the back. Ok - not an air conditioned shuttle like tourists expect in CR, but we are adventurous and thought this was fun and funny in a great way.
After a long, dusty, bouncy ride to his property - which is gorgeous - he shuttled us to our cabin, which was really tranquil and situated away from the other buildings near the thick jungle. Plenty of monkeys, birds and cicadas to keep you entertained from dawn til dusk.
The kitchen area was rustic - but has a cool pizza oven. If you are a traveler expecting to be catered on with a set schedule of breakfast time and offerings of restaurants nearby - this place isn't for you – it’s off the beaten path from other places in Drake. If you are a traveler interested in talking with locals, learning about Osvaldo's Spanish roots and Costa Rican roots, as well as a more communal experience of sharing meals and learning about his off-the-grid jungle living - this place is perfect. We did things there we never would have had the opportunity to do if we were playing it safe in town with hostels or hotels and tours. Our experience was unique for us and would likely be for you, too. But you'll need to have a thicker skin as it is not a place where one will have breakfast served to you with silver, or have your bed turned down for the night. It is rustic, communal jungle and was an opportunity to live with the locals directly. It gave me a clearer understanding of the CR phrase “Pura Vida.” The term started to feel like a marketing term in other places of CR, but here, I felt it.
He can offer all the same tours of the jungle etc as the other hostels from a quick phone call, and some of the locals who visit him in the evening are guides who can customize trips via horse or night tours. There's a crazy fun hour-long hike to the most beautiful beaches, too that I recommend. Plan to have him give you a lift back because it's all down hill in the heat to get there.
I recommend it to travelers who are up for adventurous living - not fancy accommodations. However, it was hands-down the nicest bed we slept in the whole trip around CR.
If I had any advice for Osvaldo, it would be for him to be very clear with his marketing that his place is not the usual hotel or hostel accommodation - but communal, rustic, jungle living. If you come expecting to be catered to - you will not enjoy it. If you come expecting nothing and are willing to speak some Spanish, have wild animals very close, and go with the flow and share in meals and preparation and whatever adventure might come your way – it’s great. It is really more like a home-stay than a hostel – and that is perfect for adventurers like us. I think if he offered one-on-one Spanish tutoring, that could increase his income, too, as I found little of that in Costa Rica in general - that could be a niche for him and the other locals in the area that might be willing to sit with travelers and help them improve for a half-day fee or something. He doesn’t speak a ton of English but he is definitely willing to learn, himself, which makes it fun to converse. And he has a great sense of humor. Great for adventurers who can speak some Spanish - or can at least try - not so great for people who need to be catered to by fancy accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mclainphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casa pequeña a a, Propietario at Casa Pequena, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Google Translation
querido jefe tus palabras han llenado de optimismo esta tarde de verano ,lo que tu has escrito define claramente la filosofia de este lugar te esperamos pronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed for about four days in summer and the experience was great! More than anything it felt like staying at a friend's house. Besides the regular things one would do while staying in the Osa Peninsula (nature walks, etc.) we got to really meet the locals and enjoy their culture in a way we would have never done by staying in a typical hotel. The food was great, the owner and host (Osvado) arranged everything for us and prior to our visit was constantly keeping in touch with us and giving us tips on how and when to get there (as you may already know, getting to the Osa Peninsula may be a bit diffiicult). The only thing I regret is not staying a few more days!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victurce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osvaldoco A, Propietario at Casa Pequena, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Google Translation
jaja aun recuerdo el video de las gallinas.. gracias por acordaros de mi.. y por escucharme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Casa Pequeña is a small osasis within the jungle run by Osvaldo. So that's the right place if you want to feel the jungle with your 5 senses: One night we woke up with the noise of a monkey, apparently, the monkey was just begging for water. The day after, we spotted a big bright blue dot... it was a morfo, the most beautiful butterfly on earth. Then we went to the cascade and enjoyed the feeling of the water on the skin. And so on.

We loved casa pequeña because we were tired of "tours". Besides we were not so keen in crossing as many animals as possible in a wildlife checklist. We were just there, enjoying the amazing place and the people. Everything else came in a natural way.

The jungle is awsome and beautiful, but it's also fierce. I was afraid of running into a snake, or getting lost. Out there, you are far away from everything, alone with your strenghts and your fears. I learned a lot from myself, and the place, and the people in there, helped me to push my limits. My advise: don't expect the tipical place, is more a sort of a challenge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This beautiful place, tucked away in a corner of primary rainforest south of Drake, is a world unto itself. We stayed for three nights and could not have found better friends in Osvaldo (the owner), his excellent cook (more appropriately a chef considering all of the training he's had), and the other people staying at Casa Pequeña. In the short time that we were there we really felt like we were part of a family, and we looked forward to seeing everyone each morning and night for breakfast and dinner.

There is a huge amount of rainforest surrounding the farm, with many trails open for anyone. A gorgeous walk through the forest took us to a beach that we had all to ourselves for the day. Each day there were scarlet macaws and toucans flying through the farm, and the surrounding rainforest echoed with howler monkeys and spider monkeys. There were beautiful thunderstorms at night, too. And it's all only a short drive from Drake, which is the main gateway into Corcovado National Park (also unforgettable).

Pura Vida, amigos del bosque.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

So you're looking for a Hotel / Accomondation in Drake: if you want to be in the middle of the primary rain forest, you are interested in sustainable agriculture, you don't want to take part in tours with 20 people that cost you 100 $ but you want to go with nice people into the jungle or to hidden waterfalls? Casa Pequena is perfect! The Cabins are really nice and clean, nice staff, family dinners.... It's more like staying in a family than staying in a Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyRainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
1.2 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
21.8 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
1.7 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 47 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pequena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pequena

Property: Casa Pequena
Address: Drake bay | Los Planes de Drake Bay, Drake Bay 60503, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Pequena is the name of an agricultural farm which is in the middle of the jungle a 20 min walk from a settlement (village) that fuses the custom hosting with their daily lives, creating a pioneering concept in the area. Casa Pequena is a large garden of 4 hectares with 2 private cabins made of wood at a distance of 100 mtrs each and a restaurant fully equipped except for refrigeration and illuminated with solar energy as well as the cabins. It also has an area of ​​agriculture and a network of different trails that run in 18 hectares of forest you can choice the time of your meal. participate in daily activities, alternating with tours of adventure and relaxing we offer or enjoy the sound of the forest in a hammock. For anyone who has been here is not just a place to spend your vacation, but becomes a positive experience of living, learning and friendship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Pequena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Pequena Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing