We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Diving”
Review of Cano Island

Cano Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$2,066.25*
and up
8-Day Costa Rica Natural Wonders Adventure Hike
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Diving”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Amazing dive sites. Bajo del Diablo especially good. Tons of sharks and big fish! Visability varies from day to day...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    209
    99
    24
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice snorkel trip with less than expected variety of reef fish.”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The trip over to Cano Is. on the boat is enjoyable and the captain will circle about if dolphins are spotted nearby. The water is clear without real reef structure...saw Hawk's Bill turtles, spotted and sting rays and a nice large "ball" of fish. Best to wear a shirt for protection from the sun and minute jellyfish that are annoying but not horrible.

I enjoyed the trip very much just experiencing the warm South Pacific but it was not as prolific as I was hoping; a worthwhile trip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dstempf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingolf
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great beach and good snorkeling except ........”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I really enjoyed the snorkeling here although we moved around more than I would have liked because people were complaint about getting stung by jelly fish. I found them to be mildly annoying but not as annoying as having to constantly in and out of the water trying to find a place without jelly fish. My wife was not into the snorkeling as much as I was but rated the beach here as one of the nicest ones we visited.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cano Island”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Wonderful fish. Almost touched a Moray eel. Not much coral to look at. No restroom facilities on the island which can be a problem!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank StephenJBop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Snorkeling and Diving”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Island is no longer open to the public but you can spend the day on the beach here. There are many snorkeling and diving sites available but you do need to access them from the boat. Afterwards, you can spend your time on the beach but do not sit under a coconut tree for shade. FYI: there are not bathrooms but there is a fresh water shower.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jayne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cano Island also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Carate, Corcovado National Park
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Cano Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing