We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Marine wildlife tour”
Review of Cano Island

Cano Island
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
holland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Superb Marine wildlife tour”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This tour brings you by boat to Cano island where you will have the opportunity to snorkle accompagnied by a guide. During the boat trip we had close encounters with Turtles, Whales, various species of Dolphins and even pseudo-orca's. During a lunch break on the way back on a deserted island we even got college from the guide on the marine life we had seen. I really can recommend this tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HollandWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    212
    101
    25
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not so good for snorkeling”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

on the way to cano island you can see some dolphins and wales, that was very nice. but the main part of the trip is about snorkeling and that was quite boring.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beathunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Scuba diving”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Lots of fun. Amazing few days. well worth the effort. Again not the first time I've been and hopefully not the last

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Scuba Fun”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I did 5 days of scuba diving at Cano Island and had an absolute blast! The visibility during the August rainy season was only about 25 feet, but the abundance of white tip reef shark, sea turtle, octopus, lobster, rays, and fish made up for the silty water.
The island was preserved and untouched, which kept it beautiful and natural. The beach was full of hermit crabs, which gave us a fun past time in between dives.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“ok snorkeling with whales yay! and jellyfish”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I enjoyed the trip to Cano Island but the snorkeling there is not that great. However the trip out was great, we saw two whales including a new baby, turtles, birds, and a shark. You don't get to see the island much, you don't get off there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cano Island also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Carate, Corcovado National Park
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Cano Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing