We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Rough waters” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cano Island

Cano Island
Book In Advance
$2,900.00*
and up
8 Day Costa Rica Natural Wonders Adventure
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rough waters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The water was quite rough the day we snorkeled nearby. It was also quite rainy. If the weather was nice it would have been much better but you never know about the weather. My advice, take dramamine and you will have a great experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Imerika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    176
    82
    17
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful island, good swimming and snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I went on a snorkeling tour. Beautiful water. There were huge schools of fish. The guide was very good. My husband swam near the beautiful beach.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So so”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

They had closed the island for a while for maintenance. Now, one can still visit the island, but there a re no toilets nor bathhouses that visitors can use. Still a gorgeous site, we had a blast snorkeling, saw tons of fish and the island is just awesome.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelorLeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must for vistors going to Bahia Drake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The island was off limits at the time of our visit but the snorkling was great and we witnessed false orcas, humpbacks, dolphins and others during our trip. The lunch on Playa de San Josecito was a treat!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tj4diving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Conservation paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

You can't really visit much of the island itself, but can snorkel/dive with permission. The island is completely protected to retain it's natural state, which is better than being able to visit it. :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank relaxationseeker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cano Island also viewed

Carate, Corcovado National Park
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cano Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing