We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cano Island

Cano Island
Book In Advance
$2,900*
and up
8 Day Costa Rica Natural Wonders Adventure
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice beach, good snorkeling, can hike to other side of island. Good picnic. Boat ride about an hour - nice get away!! Highly recommended!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    168
    78
    17
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
JERSEY, CHANNEL ISLANDS
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“cano island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

unspoilt beauty, total peace. great for snorkelling though not many mammals on the island. this is a little island off drake's bay and nestling in the pacific.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CHUCK AND CRYSTAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great trip - unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Wonderful boat ride, great snorkeling and worth getting to this little natural island.
If you expect just nature and hundreds of hermit crabs, then you will be delighted.
If you expect much more, you better choose another trip.
We combined the trip from Drake Bay to Cono Island with Whale watching and after some negotiations, the agency combined it and we all enjoyed it.
And actually we saw whales and dolphins :-)

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank DagmarMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superbe snorkeling tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hello,
We did a snorkeling tour with Jose while we were in Drake Bay. We had an amazing time. Saw whales, and dolphins following our boat when we were on our way to Canoe island. We saw lots, lots of fish, a big turtle, white tip shark (not me but my husband and friend thank god) that are not dangerous. We did a lot of snorkeling tour in different place (Cozumel, Cuba, Punta Cana, etc) and this one was our best snorkeling so far.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank AndreeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nature Expedition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great guide, walked through the canopy, on the beach, and even got to swim in a pool under a waterfall!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mallory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cano Island also viewed

Carate, Corcovado National Park
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Cano Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing