We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant!”

The Night Tour with Tracie The Bug Lady
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Do not miss this tour it you're in Drake Bay. Tracie and her husband are so interesting, informative and funny. Even if you only have a mild interest in wildlife, Tracie will have you totally hooked. We learnt so much - I wish the tour had been twice as long!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tripadbeccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    10
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very interesting tour!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The tour was very interesting and informative. The group saw 2 different kinds of opposums and snakes, bats, spiders (the trap door spider was especially interesting to watch as it slammed its front door shut after Tracie opened it!), frogs and a Tailless Whip Scorpion. I highly recommend doing this tour if you are in the Drake Bay area!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Bug Lady Rules”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This tour, conducted by Tracie and Gian, was totally entertaining and informative. We walked in the area where we had been during the day, and they showed us insects, snakes and frogs that we would never have found on our own. We got to touch some of them and examine them closely. Tracie was a font of information, and she told us many amazing facts. Since our return home we have been sharing what we learned with everyone who will listen. If you are going to the Osa Peninsula sign up ahead of time because the groups are small, and you don't want to miss out on this.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RitaEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Night Tour with the Bug Lady”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you want to experience the 'dark' side of wildlife in Costa Rica, this is the tour for you! Tracie and Gian are very knowledgeable and well organized guides for a two hour walk in the dark to see the very different creatures that come out at night. Mammals, frogs, various insects and arachnids - they introduced us to a fascinating and amazing world. They take turns going out ahead of the group to locate things, so there is no down time, you are always looking at something, and pretty much always something stranger and more marvelous than you could imagine: a net-throwing spider, glow-in-the-dark scorpion, opossum, tailless whip scorpion (see photo), and wasp-dominating Cordyceps fungus, to name a few. Think fungus doesn't sound interesting? It was the most bizarre and amazing story of them all! And if you send them an email, they'll send you a list of the creatures you've seen, with books and articles for follow-up reading.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Tour!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We've been on other night tours in the rain forest but this one is just the best. Tracie and Gian are so knowledgeable and passionate about the creatures encountered that the time flies by. I haven't stopped sharing the stories information provided and would absolutely do the tour again. I have a much improved appreciation for insects and reptiles in general and look forward to following their website.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank FishNerd7238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Night Tour with Tracie The Bug Lady also viewed

Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to The Night Tour with Tracie The Bug Lady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing