We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross rooms. Great service.”
Review of Cabinas Murillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabinas Murillo
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gross rooms. Great service.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I can only speak for the rooms at the road level. They were pretty gross, overall. It was basically a big pale blue room with two beds. Nothing else. No chairs or desks or anything. Bathroom was a little sketchy and hot water was nonexistent.

That said, I hear the rooms on the hill were a lot nicer, and the owners are SUPER accommodating. The kitchen that is available for use has everything you need, as well as a great view.

Overall, a good experience, even though our room was junky.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotAnotherRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
32
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Only stayed here a couple of nights but the dorms were clean, large, with lockers and the staff were friendly and helpful. It's located halfway between the town centre (which is tiny in itself) and the beach. Free wi-fi. Showers were supposed to have hot water but they were always cold, but really when it's as warm as it is in Drake Bay and you're a backpacker you're used to cold water showers, so hardly a big deal :-)

Nice verandah area with hammocks. There's also a kitchen area up and behind the room area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

A note that I have read about the deluxe ocean-view cabins, which in hindsight sound really great, but at the time of my trip, not being willing to spend the $5 extra/person (I can be unreasonably stingy, I know), I talked my boyfriend and friend into sharing one of the large group rooms downstairs, which are $15/person. So, this review is about that room in particular. We ended up at Cabinas Murillo after having stayed at Manolo's, which was excellent, but full for our last night in Drake. Murillo's staff was friendly and helpful (and happen to be relatives of Manolo), but it just wasn't the same - same price, yes, but less nature, less clean, more noise, less natural varnished wood and more plain concrete, less of a retreat and more of a place to crash. Most of the time, the font desk was manned by one of the younger family members, who seemed perplexed by most of our questions and kept telling us to come back later to talk to a superior. Our room was a bit noisy, being almost right on the main road (save for a chain-link fence) and while it was private for the three of us, there were several other beds in there which made us wonder if random other travelers would show up in the night. Our bed was very comfortable. However, one of the beds was also recently used and unmade, and the exposed mattress underneath was fairly grimy and with no mattress protector, not the best impression. Upon further inspection, some of the other unoccupied beds had mouse droppings on them, the cubby-closets were pretty dusty, and when I set my backpack down near them, a flurry of mosquitoes that had been roosting in the darkness beneath flowed out and into the room, and I spent a frantic 10 minutes or so smashing them, giving up, and dousing myself in repellent, as there were no mosquito nets and no place in the room for us to hang our own (except for the 1 bottom bunk bed). There was 1 fan mounted on the wall & positioned toward one bed out of the 5 if the room; it might have been able to rotate had we been able to reach button, but it was too high up. On the plus side, we had our own private bathroom; on the downside, it was tiny and the door didn't close (even by force; the shape was just off), so everyone knew everyone else's business in great detail; I far preferred the relative space, cleanliness, and privacy of Manolo's shared bathrooms. I would add that we killed 1 cockroach in the shower (which did have hot water, which was great) and 1 other in the main room. The one thing I loved about Murillo was the access to their kitchen & dining area, which is perched atop a small hill and has a ample seating area and nice, sturdy wooden tables and chairs. It was also very close to the beach and had some hammocks.

Room Tip: The room where we stayed was to 2 sections to the right of the concierge on the last block of rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This place is just amazing! It's really close to the beach where you get dropped off, but high enough up in the village to have the best view ever! The owners are super friendly and will help you with everything. Rooms are nice and clean and from the balcony you can watch the most beautiful sunset ever!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We found this lodge completely by accident, but absolutely loved it. It is situated right in the center so you can walk everywheren. All cabins have sea view. The owner is very friendly and you can safely park your car. For only 40 dollar you get a clean cabin with van and own shower. There is no luxury but who needs that anyway?

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna251186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2011

If you want to relax and enjoy great beaches you should go to Bahia Drake and stay in Cabinas Murillo. Great service and amazing views. And ask them for all the info you need!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fineta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2011

I've traveled a lot, including all over Costa Rica, and Cabinas Murillo completely impressed me in every way. The owner and rest of the staff are incredibly helpful with anything you could need. We stayed in brand new rooms, that are much cleaner than more expensive hotels. The view and location was perfect, with access to everything in the area. The tours we organized through them were wonderful. This is the first experience that has inspired me to write an online review, and it is because of the high quality of the hotel and friendliness of the people there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasbort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Pura Vida
Cabinas Pura Vida
#5 of 20 in Drake Bay
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vista Drake Lodge
Vista Drake Lodge
#20 of 104 in Osa Peninsula
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mohagine Hotel
Mohagine Hotel
#1 of 45 in Drake Bay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
#7 of 20 in Drake Bay
205 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 45 in Drake Bay
389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Murillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Murillo

Property: Cabinas Murillo
Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have ocean view, private bathroom with hotel water, balcony and a fan. We have a full equipped kitchen for the exclusive use of our guests. Besides, we can help our customers organize their arrival and departure transportation and tours in Drake Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Murillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Murillo Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing