We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mauricio and Macaws”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
Ranked #7 of 19 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mauricio and Macaws”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This place offers STUNNING view of Drake Bay and genuinely helpful service. The owner, Mauricio, knows about everything going on in town and speaks quality English. Filtered water and comfortable beds. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go with the one with full view of the bay and prepare to be speechless
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    56
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
109
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olomouc, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

It was really paradise, the most beautiful place in costa rica and the most beautiful hotel in drake,kind & helpful guys.Nice accomodation and wonderful view.thank you for everything. And the special thanks for Felix our tourguide and road-lifeguard:) your group from Czech Republic

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This place was comfortable, and very relaxed. It has the best view in Drake Bay, and you can get great food delivered directly to your room. I relaxed in my hammock and they brought fresh ceviche to my room. Great place! Reserve in advance to get the rooms with the best views. And bring cash to avoid credit card fees. The also arranged all of my tours as well. I am definitely saying this place is great!!
-A very happy dude from California

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whythis60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

5-star view of Bahia Drake from the communal hang-out balcony and the two ocean view cabins. Very large rooms and very accommodating Mauricio. There are probably 500 Scarlet Macaws that live next door which is a pretty unbelievable site. Great place to kick back and read and enjoy the views. It's right above the street in the main town so it won't feel like youre out in the jungle if thats what youre looking for and it's a 2 minute walk to a few different restaurants. We stayed 1 night after staying closer to Corcovado at an eco lodge and we're ready to head out.

Room Tip: ocean facing ones are the nicest but the communal area has the best views of all
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SagehenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I spent three nights at Las Cotingas, and enjoyed my stay. The room was simple, clean, had a good mattress, and was very quiet at night. During the day, the room was very hot, and even with the fan going it was uncomfortable unless there was a good breeze. However, in the evening it cooled down surprisingly and was comfortable for sleeping with just a sheet. Breakfast was served on a pretty communal terrace with a great view of the bay. The staff can set up any activities you'd like to do. I chose to stick around town. I wish I could describe Agujitas as a picturesque fishing village, but alas, the town could use a serious jolt of civic pride, because the fact is that it is seedy and untidy. This is unfortunate, because the location is just beautiful. My hope is that there will be attention to picking up the trash and maintaining a better appearance for visitors because after all, the town relies on tourism for its survival. On the plus side, it is possible to walk along the beach for hours, and this was great to do.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel was very comfortable. Casual, and has everything you need. Bathroom was cramped but the bedroom was large. Simple but adequate. Food good, the deck overlooks the bay - perfect relaxation space. The two improvements I would have liked: A/C and a more spacious bathroom. All in all, though, I'd probably go back. However the sign says $20 per person. Booking quoted $60 for the room, which had room for 3, but there were only 2 of us.

Room Tip: Might want the rooms on the water side -- ours was quite warm, since there wasn't any A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a2z_travelerSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, Gerente at Ranchitos Las Cotingas, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentarios. Hemos mejorado el servicio. Los precios van desde $45 con impuestos imcluidos hasta $90. Hay diferentes bungalows.

Mauricio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We chose Las Cotingas from several good trip advisor reviews. Many people spoke of the great food and service. Not so much anymore. No dinners and breakfast was somewhat uncertain. Normally a choice between eggs and pancakes, pancakes weren't always available. Service was slow, even by Costa Rican standards. We booked for 4 nights, but after two, we were told we were being switched to a less desirable room (Our original room had a great view of the bay). We were told that they sent us an email about this, which we never got. While we didn't care that much, the wi-fi was pretty sketchy.
The main positive about Las Cotingas is the incredible view. To get this view, you need to climb a 60 foot vertical stairway, so be prepared for this. Las Cotingas has remarkable potential, but is seriously in need of a good manager. Seems like no one is really in charge.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Solar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, Director de Recepción at Ranchitos Las Cotingas, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios.

Contamos con restaurante y com 6 opciones para desayuno

Nos han ayudado a mejorar el servicio y tenemos un buen gerente a cargo.

Muchas gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
0.4 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 45 in Drake Bay
377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#2 of 19 in Drake Bay
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Pura Vida
Cabinas Pura Vida
#5 of 19 in Drake Bay
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranchitos Las Cotingas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranchitos Las Cotingas

Property: Ranchitos Las Cotingas
Address: Agujitas Town, Drake Bay 60503, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ranchitos Las Cotingas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Cotingas provides a beautiful location, great cabins, and excellent service. We treat our clients as if they were at home. We have the best view of Drake Bay. Come and visit us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ranchitos Las Cotingas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranchitos Las Cotingas Hotel Drake Bay
Ranchitos Las Cotingas Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing