We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jonny and his wife : great people !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jade Mar Lodge Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

During my travels I have met many hotelmanagers ; nice ones , friendly ones , not so friendly
ones ... and than there are Jonny and his lovely wife . They are in a league of there own . They will do anything for you to make your stay more enjoyable , like when we arrived all wet , the lady put all our clothes in the dryer . We left after a week as if we left good friends behind and I hope we will see them again some day , people like them make this world a better place .
Besides that , rooms are kept spotless and the amazing garden is like a zoo , parrots , hummingbird ,honeysuckers , woodpeckers , tukans , etc. Some don't bother to go to Corcovado and just sit the garden , making beautiful pictures . Just amazing !
The place does not have a restaurant but just a few steps down there is the Heladeria which makes you a nice breakfast on order , or you can go across the street to Gringo Curt , and enjoy big plates of the best food you will find in Costa Rica for lunch or dinner, while watching birds passing by ....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tremendozapato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnny O, Gerente at Jade Mar Lodge Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014
Google Translation

Recibimos con alegria y humildad los comentrios de nuestro Hotel jade mar ,enviamos las gracias sinceras en nombre dfe mi Familia.

Fue un placer poder ayudarlos en su paso por Drake - CR

Johnny O
Gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 210 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

You can't miss it. Lodging is nice even if you in for budget option like we did but what is the best about this place are the owners. Johny and his wife are amazing and very friendly. Meeting local people makes the difference and shows you the pura vida.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank ujan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Everything you wish for in a place like this - great view, nice clean rooms, adequate kitchen, the owners are lovely and very welcoming, and for a good price as well! It was too bad we only had time for one night, could have stayed longer and just enjoy the bay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meytar Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnny O, Gerente at Jade Mar Lodge Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013
Google Translation

Nos sentimos alagados por sus comentarios , y deseamos agradecer el interés de hacer publica tu experiencia este sitio.
En calidad de Gerente ((Johnny O)te damos respuesta con el fin de dar gracias a todas las personas que nos visitan y especialmente a Ti..

Gracias

Johnny O.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place is a gem. It's quiet, clean, comfortable and has amazing views. Scarlet Macaws live in the trees above the cabins, as well as toucans and beautiful iguanas. The owner is a really sweet guy who runs the place with his family and will do whatever he can to make you comfortable. If you're Spanish isn't so good, the owner speaks plenty of English to help you with anything you need help with during your stay. Hope you can make it out. Drake Bay is an amazing place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our stay at Cabinas Jade Mar was a truly lovely experience. The cabin was darling & efficient with a can't be beat location. Macaws & iguanas passed though the lush foliage surroundings & the host was most helpful planning tours & taking care of our needs. Jade Mar is close to local eateries, visitor centers & mini-marts as well as breath-taking beaches, amazing jungle hiking, animal experiences & top rate adventure tours. Go to Drake Bay & stay at Cabinas Jade Mar. It can't be beat.

Room Tip: The cabins are unbelievably darling. It was a perfect jungle getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarafinaHerself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnny O, Gerente at Jade Mar Lodge Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014
Google Translation

Feliz Año 2014 !

Gracias por sus comentarios enviados por su paso por Jade Mar.

Bendiciones

Johnny O

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I took the boat out of Corcovado and didn't have a place to stay. The boat driver made a call and when we got to the beach Jade Mar was waiting for me and drove me up the hill (which isn't that bad of a hill for Costa Rica). They had several different room options with different prices and amenities and each was very affordable. I had a private cabin with a great view and got to use the kitchen. The staff was not only friendly, but helpful and honest too. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in the air conditioned rooms in Jade Mar and they were excellent. They also have un-air conditioned cabins with great views of the bay. We were able to walk up to the cabins and see the view even though we didn't book those rooms. Jade Mar will pick you up from the wet landing at the beach if you take a boat ride from Sierpe. Only a 2 minute walk to the beach.

Johnny is very helpful and books all the tours we needed. The prices are fantastic and much cheaper than the other hotels in Drake Bay. Breakfast did start at 5:30 unlike what the other poster stated. We were able to eat breakfast and then go on a 6:15 tour in Corcovado.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Pura Vida
Cabinas Pura Vida
#5 of 22 in Drake Bay
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mohagine Hotel
Mohagine Hotel
#1 of 49 in Drake Bay
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Drake Bay Backpackers
Drake Bay Backpackers
#7 of 49 in Drake Bay
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
#6 of 22 in Drake Bay
210 reviews
0 mi away
Cabinas Murillo
Cabinas Murillo
#13 of 49 in Drake Bay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jade Mar Lodge Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jade Mar Lodge Cabins

Address: Bahia Drake Peninsula de Osa | 150 Mtr Fron The Beach, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Drake Bay
Price Range: $49 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Jade Mar is located in Southern Pacific Costa Rica on the Osa Peninsula, perfectly situated in Drake Bay and near the Corcovado National Park in an area of Agujitas. This area of the Osa Peninsula is accessible by boat and car 4*4 and is one of album-tucan[1]the most remote and untouched places on Costa Rica's entire Pacific coastline. Our Drake Bay accommodations is 5 min walking to the ocean, immersed in the rainforest for an experience you won't forget. During your stay, you will explore endless small coves and beaches, fresh-water lagoons, and miles of hiking trails that wind through the rainforest make this the perfect spot to simply relax all day or embark on an eco-adventure experience second to none.Or only sit on our garden and take pictures of all the beautiful birds around the hotel. Room Air Condition Private Cabanas Ocean View Cabanas Family Cabanas Free WIFI Free Parking Friendly Pet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Jade Mar Lodge Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Jade Mar Hotel Drake Bay
Jade Mar Lodge Cabins Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing