We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
65
53
18
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
53
18
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water national park costa rica playing cards spent nights here a great place to stay wet landing bird watching fish remote location boat trip night tour roger hill sierpe ocean meals
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 149 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

From the moment that they greeted us on the beach as the boat unloaded us into the breaking surf to the farewell hugs from Mario, we felt totally at home in this wonderful spot. OK, the rooms are basic, so if you need air-con and a licensed bar you won´t be happy here. However, if you can sleep well with a fan over the bed (and it wasn´t that hot in July) and are happy with a simple, clean room, (mostly) hot water in the shower, simple family cooking, and wonderful views over the Pacific, then I can really recommend the Rancho Corcovado.
Roger was always around and helped us on numerous occasions to organise tours, etc. When my son had an ear infection, he even took most of the morning to help us, taking son and wife on the back of his quad bike to the local clinic, and then translating for them with the staff there.
I can also agree with other positive comments about the guides, especially Alberto on the snorkelling trip.
Oh, and if you have the rooms (8,9) at the top of the hill, you might get lucky and find a couple of scarlet macaws browsing in the tree just in front of your terrace. Best view we had of macaws in our whole trip !

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

True, and it didn't fit the width of the door. For a family with kids, that was just too weirdly not private enough. We checked out another room with the fantastic views up above. The door into that bathroom was a sliding shower door. I actually thought that was a little creative, but still odd.
Good food, nice service.
We took a night walk with "Stephen". Super great, quiet, inspiring young man.
Snorkeling was better from the mainland as opposed to Cano Island, although we did get to see whales from the boat, up fairly close.
Hammock rocking at sunset was wonderful.
Corcovado is a gem.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Rancho Corcovado for a few days after having spent a week in Costa Rica with the rest of my husband's family. We wanted to do something a little more adventurous than what my inlaws had signed up for, and we heard Corcovado was the place to really see the best of the rainforests of Costa Rica. However, we aren't experienced campers and the descriptions of the forced marches in the burning sun along the beach on the way out of the the park for the camping tours through Corcovado didn't sound like how we would want to spend our last day of vacation. That prompted us to look at hotels in the Drake Bay area, as taking a boat to see the rainforest sounded like a better deal to us. We booked late so I was a little nervous about what we would get, though I was reassured by the descriptions of the outings. I have to say our stay here was the highlight of our trip. Mario made us feel like family, and the meals that are included are excellent quality home cooking. The setting and beach are beautiful, but we didn't spend much time at the resort itself. Instead, we did all the tours we could. Watching what we were seeing compared with other groups on similar tours, I have to say I think Albert is probably one of the best guides in Drake Bay. We saw all kinds of birds (macaws, toucans, currasaw), two sleeping tapirs, spider monkeys, and squirrel monkey as well as numerous interesting insects (orb spiders! butterflies! something called a dancer fly?), plants and amphibians when we ventured to La Serina station with him, and when we went snorkeling we managed to see a ton despite a day of relatively silty waters; two nurse sharks and a green sea turtle that swam right past me! Mario was great in terms of helping us arrange other trips like a night tour on one of the local properties (poison dart frogs!) and a horseback riding trip to a waterfall. A couple of warnings: Most rooms are VERY basic by most standards (fan but no air conditioner, running water and private shower but no hot water, a few outlets, electricity works most of the time) which is not what we were initially planning. However, the rooms are well kept, the staff is very quick to respond to problems or questions, and with the beautiful weather what we had was all we needed. Second warning: be prepared for a hike up concrete steps to get to your room, although I saw little old grandmothers making the trip, and the view was more than worth it (see below).

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beguine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Mario and his family have created an amazing place. Our room had no a/c and it was hot during the day but cooled down nicely at night. It was worth it to stay at such a lovely place. It is right on the beach and we loved sitting in the hammocks watching the kids play in the ocean. We took a tour to Cano Island and it was sooo cloudy we hardly saw anything but our guide took us to see dolphins and turtles instead.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcarone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This place is located on the beach, providing clean rooms with excellent views surrounded by lovely gardens and they serve good food too. Roger who works there was very helpful.

While the rooms are simple the views are amazing and you can find the local grocery stores a ten minute walk away.
The beach at the front of the property is great for swimming. Plenty of hammocks and chairs to relax on too.

Room tip: Room numbers 3,4,5,6 are less of a walk up the steps but they are ultimately all the same inside and all have great views.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews