We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Run Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rancho Corcovado
Ranked #10 of 22 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We loved the Hotel from the moment we were greeted by Roger, the General Manager. Our rooms were ready when we arrived and we were treated to a delightful light breakfast. Our rooms had a great view of the ocean, basic, as others have stated, but clean and as advertised. The tours were organized by the hotel and led by family members, on time, knowledgeable and thoroughly enjoyable. The meals were home cooked and delicious, included fresh fish caught by the tour boat captain while we were in the National Park and prepared to order. Great sunsets from the upper rooms. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground level are better for seniors. The upper rooms have a great view, but are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 136 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

From the moment that they greeted us on the beach as the boat unloaded us into the breaking surf to the farewell hugs from Mario, we felt totally at home in this wonderful spot. OK, the rooms are basic, so if you need air-con and a licensed bar you won´t be happy here. However, if you can sleep well with a fan over the bed (and it wasn´t that hot in July) and are happy with a simple, clean room, (mostly) hot water in the shower, simple family cooking, and wonderful views over the Pacific, then I can really recommend the Rancho Corcovado.
Roger was always around and helped us on numerous occasions to organise tours, etc. When my son had an ear infection, he even took most of the morning to help us, taking son and wife on the back of his quad bike to the local clinic, and then translating for them with the staff there.
I can also agree with other positive comments about the guides, especially Alberto on the snorkelling trip.
Oh, and if you have the rooms (8,9) at the top of the hill, you might get lucky and find a couple of scarlet macaws browsing in the tree just in front of your terrace. Best view we had of macaws in our whole trip !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

True, and it didn't fit the width of the door. For a family with kids, that was just too weirdly not private enough. We checked out another room with the fantastic views up above. The door into that bathroom was a sliding shower door. I actually thought that was a little creative, but still odd.
Good food, nice service.
We took a night walk with "Stephen". Super great, quiet, inspiring young man.
Snorkeling was better from the mainland as opposed to Cano Island, although we did get to see whales from the boat, up fairly close.
Hammock rocking at sunset was wonderful.
Corcovado is a gem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Rancho Corcovado for a few days after having spent a week in Costa Rica with the rest of my husband's family. We wanted to do something a little more adventurous than what my inlaws had signed up for, and we heard Corcovado was the place to really see the best of the rainforests of Costa Rica. However, we aren't experienced campers and the descriptions of the forced marches in the burning sun along the beach on the way out of the the park for the camping tours through Corcovado didn't sound like how we would want to spend our last day of vacation. That prompted us to look at hotels in the Drake Bay area, as taking a boat to see the rainforest sounded like a better deal to us. We booked late so I was a little nervous about what we would get, though I was reassured by the descriptions of the outings. I have to say our stay here was the highlight of our trip. Mario made us feel like family, and the meals that are included are excellent quality home cooking. The setting and beach are beautiful, but we didn't spend much time at the resort itself. Instead, we did all the tours we could. Watching what we were seeing compared with other groups on similar tours, I have to say I think Albert is probably one of the best guides in Drake Bay. We saw all kinds of birds (macaws, toucans, currasaw), two sleeping tapirs, spider monkeys, and squirrel monkey as well as numerous interesting insects (orb spiders! butterflies! something called a dancer fly?), plants and amphibians when we ventured to La Serina station with him, and when we went snorkeling we managed to see a ton despite a day of relatively silty waters; two nurse sharks and a green sea turtle that swam right past me! Mario was great in terms of helping us arrange other trips like a night tour on one of the local properties (poison dart frogs!) and a horseback riding trip to a waterfall. A couple of warnings: Most rooms are VERY basic by most standards (fan but no air conditioner, running water and private shower but no hot water, a few outlets, electricity works most of the time) which is not what we were initially planning. However, the rooms are well kept, the staff is very quick to respond to problems or questions, and with the beautiful weather what we had was all we needed. Second warning: be prepared for a hike up concrete steps to get to your room, although I saw little old grandmothers making the trip, and the view was more than worth it (see below).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beguine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Mario and his family have created an amazing place. Our room had no a/c and it was hot during the day but cooled down nicely at night. It was worth it to stay at such a lovely place. It is right on the beach and we loved sitting in the hammocks watching the kids play in the ocean. We took a tour to Cano Island and it was sooo cloudy we hardly saw anything but our guide took us to see dolphins and turtles instead.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcarone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This place is located on the beach, providing clean rooms with excellent views surrounded by lovely gardens and they serve good food too. Roger who works there was very helpful.

While the rooms are simple the views are amazing and you can find the local grocery stores a ten minute walk away.
The beach at the front of the property is great for swimming. Plenty of hammocks and chairs to relax on too.

Room Tip: Room numbers 3,4,5,6 are less of a walk up the steps but they are ultimately all the same inside and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Lovely family run hotel with all food provided and right on a beautiful beach with Scarlet Macaws in the surrounding trees. Really what more could you want, but there is more, as the head of the family Mario is so lovely and really makes you feel so welcome. We got the most lovely welcome from him and every day that we were there and a big hug when I left , he clearly loves the guests and cares about their safety and well being. We were lucky enough to stay for 8 days and had one of the lovely rooms at the very top, a bit of a climb but well worth it for the views over the garden and bay and the fantastic bird life. The kitchen staff were great and had to cater for several vegetarians, a vegan as well as meat eaters. They came up with some lovely meals and salads and lovely big plates of fruit every morning. The room was really clean with fresh towels daily and a hot shower, just perfect. This was the most relaxing 8 days I've ever had and we still manage to fit in 2 trips by boat to the ranger stations to walk in the forest with a brilliant guide Albert who with the aid of a telescope could show us all the life in the canopy as well as the smallest things on the ground. We would walk on our own for several hours along a good track running parallel to the coast and see Capuchin monkeys, Toucan and Scarlet Macaw with some well earned stops at several quiet beaches on the way and a fantastic rope bridge to cross over a lagoon. You can also swim in the sea just by the hotel or sit in a hammock watching the sea. A big thank you to Mario and his family for an amazing time in beautiful Drake Bay.

Room Tip: Go up its a bit of an effort but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 135Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
487 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
368 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado
2.1 mi away
Naguala Jungle Lodge
Naguala Jungle Lodge
#16 of 22 in Drake Bay
4 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Drake Lodge
Casa Drake Lodge
#16 of 49 in Drake Bay
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rancho Corcovado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Corcovado

Address: Bahia Drake, Drake Bay 2110-1100 San José, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: $72 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rancho Corcovado 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rancho Corcovado a familiar and personalized hotel set in a private nature reserve in Drake Bay meets the wild Pacific Ocean, a destination matching everyone's notion of paradise. It is the ideal site to combine both relaxing and adventure in a pure and natural setting hosted by a Costa Rican Family native to the area, who take special care to show visitors the beauty of plant, animal and marine life of the region which is a gift of God. Hotel Rancho Corcovado is located on the OSA Peninsula in the province of Puntarenas in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Rancho Corcovado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rancho Corcovado Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing