We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Oasis”
Review of Casita Corcovado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casita Corcovado
Ranked #2 of 20 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Oasis”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Casita Corcovado was just what I needed during my vacation stay! The rooms have a/c and the beds are amazing! The shared kitchen was great for me to make snacks and small meals and Jamie provided an amazing breakfast every morning based on my likes :-) There is a great porch and hammocks available to lounge around. The location was perfect for both walking up to "town" and for walking down to the boat launch. And it kept the feel of a small B&B, close to everything, without staying at a tourist resort. Jamie and Craig were amazing hosts, helping me decide on my tours (Bug tour was awesome!) and restaurants. I felt like I was staying with family - family that made me breakfast :-) I would absolutely recommend this stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. We really appreciate it!

It was a pleasure serving you breakfast within your color pallet....lol.

We had fun talking with you around the patio table. Glad you enjoyed your time in Drake. I know we do!

Please keep in touch and we are interested in your upcoming ventures.

Pura vida,

Jamie
Casita Corcovado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    26
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
109
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent 3 nights in Corcovado, and really have to agree with National Geographic: Corcovado is paradise on Earth.
We stayed in the cabin of Casita Corcovado, which was just great - good sized bed, A/C, nice shower room and a great porch with hammocks. Nothing else is needed there! If I had anything to complain about is the water (the shower jet is weak, so it takes time to was long hair) and the pillows (could have been a bit higher for me). But anything else was great, not to mention the breakfasts - juice, water, Costa Rican coffee, toasts, eggs and or CR typical food and of course, fresh fruits. (The pinapple was so sweet as a canned pinapple - won´t forget that taste in my life!)

We took a jungle tour to Sierpe, and went diving to Cano Island. The visibility is not so good (10-15ms) and no corals, but there is a high chance to meet white tipped sharkes, turtles and big fishes (we saw a few dolphins as well on the way). The beach on Cano Island is beautiful, I recommend to take a tour only to this island as well - the water is transparent and the jungle is right behind you.
The jungle tour was also great, there is almost 100% probability to see a tapir and squirrel monkeys, but for other animals (toucans, sloths, snakes etc), you can encounter them on other parts of the country as well. We were later told that San Pedrillo is just as amazing as Sirena and much closer. Even so, the 1.5hours boat ride to Sirena was beautiful, worth the ride.
The absolute must if you are in Drake Bay is to try the banana leaf steamed fish at Gringo Curt´s!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikivett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a great review. We definitely appreciate it!

We are sorry you experienced low water pressure in your shower. Due to the rustic nature of our utilities in Drake Bay, there had been a build up in the shower head. We noticed it and fixed it promptly. No more worries for those with long hair!!!

You are correct, San Pedrillo is closer than Sirena. However, San Pedrillo is known for more primary growth, less animals. That is why most people choose Sirena station. Both stations are wonderful, and if people have the opportunity they definitely should experience them both.

We hope your trip home was comfortable. Please come back soon!

Pura Vida,

Jamie and Craig
Casita Corcovado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Traveling overseas, for the first time, and alone, I could not have done it without the guidance of Jamie and Craig! They are both incredibly kind and welcoming people and are a walking encyclopedia of Costa Rica! They helped me not only with the sights and locations of Drake Bay and Corcovado, but also filled me in on almost every other section of Costa Rica. The location is also fantastic, as you are right by the beach, minutes from town, and located close to all activities. Whatever it is you want to do locally, they will hook you up! Tours, food, local hot spots, fishing info and more is all readily available. And probably most important is that you don't feel like you are at a resort, you don't feel touristy, you feel like you are at home just with a tropical backyard. Can't recommend this place enough, Pura Vida!

-Patrick

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick8319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review.

What a joy it was having you! All our friends and tour guides said your great energy was contagious. Your father should be proud!

We are glad that we could make your time abroad enjoyable. Now....you know where we live.

Pura Vida,

Jamie and Craig
Casita Corcovado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, NH
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Jamie & Craig greet you & give you a tour of their place & of the town. They're more than happy to translate or help you out in ANY way. The first night we booked a night bug tour & Jamie showed us how to get where we needed to go while it was light outside. Plus showed us where to walk in case it was high tide. Breakfast is included & they're very flexible about the time they serve based on the guests needs. If one group had an early morning activity, they'd serve them at 5:30, whereas, we slept in & Jamie was happy to serve us breakfast at 10 am.
They're located within a 2 minute walk to the grocery store & several restaurants (Gringo Curt's highly recommended!) I like there location because you were within a short walk to Corcovado N. P. & could walk to open ocean beaches. Yet, if you wanted anything in town, it was very convenient.
We did a mixto tour with Captain Craig, (little fishing, dolphin watching, Cano Island, & snorkeling) we caught enough fish for the rest of the week! Craig helped cut & clean the fish & Jamie marinated it for sashimi (sp?) & cerviche that was out of this world! (& I generally am not big on eating fish).
Our family of four required a/c & am grateful they had it. I love the hot weather & would've been fine w/o it but was thankful they did have it. It was very humid, just having ended the rainy season so there was a lot of humidity in the ground & over our 5 days, you could feel the humidity lifting. the bathroom is shared between 3 rooms in the house, but that wasn't ever a problem. The water was tepid (but that's all you'd want due to the heat-it felt refreshing!) Craig & Jamie are very conscientious about using resources and being responsible neighbors with the local Tico's. In fact, another couple caught more fish & they shared them with the locals.
My young adults appreciated J & C. hospitality & sense of humor. We ended up eating communally with the other couples & shared cooking responsibilities. It really was a great fellowship during Christmas week.
Everyone agreed that this stay was the cumulative highlight of our time in CR!

Room Tip: They have a new room in the back of their house. but never saw what it looked like? Probably the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kewpie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your gracious review.

We loved having your family in the Casita. I got my "kid" fix!

We are so glad you had a good day fishing and we all enjoyed the fruits of your labor. Hope your trip home was a safe one. I am sure you are missing the sunshine by now.

We hope you come back to visit us in the near future.

Pura Vida,

Jamie and Craig
Casita Corcovado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2013

When you walk into view of Casita Corcovado it's hard to not lose your breath from taking in all the beauty. Jamie and Craig will meet you at the door with huge smiles and open arms and you'll instantly feel like you're in the comfort of your own home.

I went in November, and it rained...a lot. But I can't get over how I got the best nights rest I've ever had. Falling asleep to rainfall on the tin roof, then waking up to beautiful chirping birds and the refreshing smell of the rainforest can't be duplicated.

Jamie and Craig set me up with awesome tours, delicious breakfast every morning and made the atmosphere as unforgettable as possible. They've got great conversation, and even better coffee ;)

Can't wait to get back and do it again! Wouldn't change a thing!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your generous review. You don't know how much we enjoyed having you come and stay at Casita Corcovado. Right after you departed, the sunshine came, caught the "big fish" and had a beautiful whale experience. Go figure!!

Please come back and visit us in the near future. We miss you already.

Pura Vida,

Jamie & Craig
Casita Corcovado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We recently stayed with Jamie and Craig at Casita Corcovado and had a wonderful experience! We have been traveling to CR for many years and this was our 1st visit to Drakes Bay...unforgettable!! Not only because of the beauty and variety of things to do here, but moreso we were thrilled to meet Jamie and Craig and the efforts they made to make our trip so memorable. The accomodations were exceptional, food was delicious, and the excursions they set up were top notch and professional. We spent a day at sea with Craig and his tico mate fishing, swimming, and sightseeing and had an awesome time!! You will not find a more dedicated couple in CR who will go out of their way to make you feel welcome, introduce you to the ticos (who all love them), and their wealth of information of CR and their experiences finding Drakes Bay. We will definately go back to stay at Casita Corcovado with Jamie and Craig and look forward to another visit in the near future! Thanks for a GREAT visit!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thanks for your great review. You came into our place without reservations and brought the great energy of Floridians to our casita! We miss you already and look forward to your return.

Pura Vida,

Jamie & Craig
Casita Corcovado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Drake Bay was such a nice place to spend a few days, there is so much to do, and you couldn't ask for a better home base than Casita Corcovado. It's clean, comfortable, pleasant, the breakfast is delicious and the hosts are first rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you, Ben, for writing a lovely review. It was a pleasant surprise when you showed up at our door! Glad you had a good time.

Glad we could share our little bit of paradise with you!

Please come back sometime in the near future.

Pura Vida,

Casita Corcovado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
0.4 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Casa Horizontes Corcovado
#4 of 20 in Drake Bay
167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
360 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#2 of 45 in Drake Bay
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita Corcovado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita Corcovado

Property: Casita Corcovado
Address: Across from Parque Jaguares, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casita Corcovado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casita Corcovado Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing