We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was like hanging with old friends... only it was our first time there!”
Review of Casita Corcovado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casita Corcovado
Ranked #2 of 20 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Casita B&B was a very convenient and relaxing place to stay in Drake Bay. Jaime and Craig were awesomes hosts, and new very well what travellers come to expect and are as helpful as can be with planning, getting there, tours, and departures! What we really enjoyed was sitting around in the evening on the patio and chatting it up with Jaime, Craig, the other guests, and the visitors that would pop in to say hi.

One of the huge benefits of staying at Casita Corcovado was their ability to connect you with a tours guides that specialize in different tours around the Jungle, and on the water (ie. Photo guides, amphibian guides, . In our case, we were able to go on a really early morning Jungle tour where we were lucky enough to see the most wildlife we saw in any one day. You'll probably have to check with them before you go though, to be sure of the guides availability.

Other Pros: A/C, Great breakfasts, great access to the village, Safe, outdoor shower for washing off sand and gear, WiFi

Cons: Shared bath, the nearby beach isn't great as the main boat beach

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goobeygoober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Hey Goobey! Thanks for writing a review. Sitting around the porch talking about all your great ideas was great fun. Glad you enjoyed your stay here, please keep in touch. Our paths WILL meet again. Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Casita Corcovado
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

My 15 year old son and i recently returned from a 4 night stay at Casita Corcovado. The bedrooms are simple, but they have AC (rare in the area) which is great as it was pretty hot during our stay. The bathroom is fine, but the shower is not great. The very temperamental shower-head made it difficult to find a comfortable temperature and the water pressure was very weak. This made it challenging to clean off well after a long day of activities. Breakfast was great and served at whatever time was best for us. Craig took us out on a fishing/snorkeling adventure and we caught several huge fish. To top it off Jamie cooked the fish for that evening's dinner and it was great! They also helped us organize our activities and after the "Jamie Tour" of Drake Bay we were well aquatinted with the town. Despite the fact that Jamie and Craig are "Gringos" (from the US), they are like "Ticos" (locals) in the community. You will never find more gracious hosts who are willing to do anything to make your stay more comfortable!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thanks for your review. That WAS a great day out on the water, your son catching those fish. We had a great time with you, and please come back! Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is the ONLY place I found that has AC, a safe, a fan, pillow top beds, hot water, fridge, clean, and with VERY helpful hosts that are great to hang out with while relaxing in the hammocks with a glass of wine. I enjoyed myself very much and will go back for sure! They will set up and recommend any tour you want & give you very HELPFUL hints as to how to get there, where to park, etc. I am in my early 40s and this is the ONLY place I would recommend to my parents because it has all the "Perks" of a home while being emerged in the jungle wildlife. Their bird are VERY spoiled and therefor are in the yard all the time. Beautiful! :) STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: There is no pool but it is right near the ocean or river....so you don't need one. All 3 rooms a...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We are a 50-something couple who enjoyed our 5-night stay at Casita Corcovado. Jamie and Craig are interesting conversationalists and extremely helpful and accommodating hosts who helped us out so many times with tours, arrangements, directions, suggestions, and breakfast at whatever hour we needed it! Even when our boat taxi left at 5:15 a.m., a hot breakfast was ready before departure. This is just one example of their above-and-beyond attitude in service (all other B&Bs we used in Costa Rica had rigid breakfast hours).

The single bathroom for 3 double rooms didn't seem to cause any issues and we really enjoyed meeting other guests from all over the globe in the home's living area. Everything was kept very clean and tidy, with fresh flowers and a new towel arrangement on our bed daily. The bed slept very well. Storage space is limited, so it's best to pack light. We only needed small backpacks which served us well here. The full breakfasts were varied with many choices offered and always included tasty local fruit.

Thanks for a great time, Jamie & Craig! And thanks for accommodating my sulfite allergy with your home cooking! We have some great memories of Drakes Bay, including our stay at your casita.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SillySallySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Hey, Sally. I didn't realize your middle name was Sue. Sally Sue, Jamie Sue. Thank you for your review. We had a great time with you and your hubby in our house. At first, your dietary restrictions scared me. After you arrived, I found out you were actually quite easy to feed! lol You gave us a lot of good information about better eating. We will carry this forward. Hope you have time in the future to visit us again. Pura vida, Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Jamie and Craig provide excellent service for their guest in this 3 bedroom / 1 bath house. The place is impeccably clean, there are no insects inside other than the occasional mosquito (other tourists complained of ants and roaches in much more expensive places), and AC in every room! That makes their place a great value. They were very helpful in arranging our tours, and made us a great breakfast every morning at whatever hour we needed to eat to make it to the tour. Great location: a short walk from "downtown" with the store and restaurants and from the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BalageTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2012

Thank you for your review. Glad you made it home safely. We had a wonderful time conversing with you both. We might just surprise you and take you up on your offer to visit you in Miami!! Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I had a great time at Casita Corcovado! Jamie and Craig were wonderful hosts who had great intuition at providing a personal experience. I had just done 2 group tours which were very go-go-go and my time in Bahia Drake provided me with much needed rest and relaxation. I did top off my time spent there with a tour into the park which was definitely worth it and which Jamie and Craig arranged. However, there is still ample opportunity to walk from beach to beach, kayak and wildlife watch at your own pace if you want to take it easy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

Thank you for your review. It is always nice to have an independent traveler spend some time with us. We are happy you chose to spend the last of your Costa Rican adventure with us. We feel this is the most beautiful part of the country. Please keep in touch, and we hope to see you again! Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Need a friendly place to stay with nice people who will take good care of you, good food and air conditioned rooms? Then Jamie and Craig are the hosts for you. Pack only what you can carry & be sure to bring plastic garbage bags. (To cover suit cases in case of rain).
Snorkeling or diving is a must to see lots of fish.
Great place for offshore fishing or deep sea fishing
Want to relax and have fun? Try horseback riding to a waterfall for a swim and zip lining through the jungle.
Great place to see night life (Insects, amphibians and snakes) try a night tour…
Want to get exercise but see lots of birds and animal? Tour the jungle during the day.
Jamie and Craig can make all the arrangements for you.
I hope I can get back there soon. Thanks Jamie and Craig for a great time!!

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casitacorcovado, Owner at Casita Corcovado, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2012

Thank you for your great review. What wonderful tips you gave. I am sure future travellers will want to thank you as well. We really enjoyed meeting you and your family. You really know how to enjoy the natural surroundings. Hope your trip home was smooth and that you come back to visit us someday soon. Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
355 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Casa Horizontes Corcovado
#4 of 20 in Drake Bay
171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#6 of 8 in Drake Bay
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita Corcovado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita Corcovado

Address: Across from Parque Jaguares, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: $83 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casita Corcovado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casita Corcovado Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing