We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chill or sign up for adventures”
Review of Cabinas Manolo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabinas Manolo
Ranked #6 of 20 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We really like this place. The staff seems relaxed yet they don't let anything slip through the cracks. They offer tours and have first hand experience with them; I trust them completely. The room, while nothing elegant was comfortable. It had lots of shelving, two tables and a bedside lamp something usually lacking in Costa Rican hotels. There was even a nice wide shelf in the bathroom.
The restaurant is a busy place at most mealtimes, a-buzz with people returning from or about to go on hikes, horseback riding, or snorkeling. It is a great mix of North American and European guests and a few Ticos too. The meals were good, I can't say great though. However, the pleasure of strolling to a meal from one's room in bare-feet makes the place perfect. Besides, they keep the beer really cold.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Cabinas Manolo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 459 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed there for 5 nights, and could have stayed for a month. Sergio, Jordi, and Deyanira all very friendly and helpful hosts! Diving was excellent. I didn't do any of the other tours, because I enjoyed the diving too much. It seems like other guests really enjoyed them though. Overall and great place to stay for a reasonable price. Thanks and hope to come back someday!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I stayed at Cabinas Manolo for roughly 4 days. They stored one of my bags for me when I went to Corcovado for 4 days which was great. They have an excellent restaurant right on site that may be a bit pricey but for convienince its great. The rooms are great, but wifi does not reach all the way back to the single dorm rooms. Not a big deal though cause there are hammocks out front to lay in while you connect with the world. Overall, I'd say this place was a pretty good place for accomadations in a good location near the rest of Drake Bay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Cabinas Manolo is a wonderful place to stay at Bahia Drake! The staff is extremely friendly and the vibe in the whole place is very relaxing. The rooms are comfortable, showers are great and everyone is super helpful, we enjoyed it and definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 971Suzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Cabinas Manolo was the home-base for our favorite few days in Costa Rica! The friendly and helpful staff - especially naturalist/guide Javier - made it a memorable experience and made sure that we experienced everything Drake Bay had to offer. We tried our best to do everything - diving/snorkeling, hiking, night hike - and no element was a disappointment. The combinations of tours and our lovely room were an amazing value! We will never forget Drake Bay, and our accommodations had a big part to play in that.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Nice hostel, with friendly and helpful stuff. Only minus is the wifi connection. Drake bay is a lovely place to stay for a few days. Beach is very nice, robinson crusoe feeling. Jungle is full of animals.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enila07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here for a four day, three night package which included our meals, the snorkel tour, and the hiking tour in Coronado. Our room was great. It was nice to be able to open the windows and hear the jungle sounds. It was pretty hot, but the fans made it comfortable to sleep. We enjoyed both of our tours. The food at the restaurant was great. . .fresh and delicious. It was fun showing up and being surprised with what you were going to have for dinner each night. We saw scarlet macaws in the trees next to the hotel which was fun. The staff was very helpful with any questions we had and in arranging our water taxi on the morning we had to leave. The place was nice, very cute, and clean. We would stay again sometime.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
480 reviews
0.9 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Pura Vida
Cabinas Pura Vida
#5 of 20 in Drake Bay
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
#7 of 20 in Drake Bay
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Casa Horizontes Corcovado
#4 of 20 in Drake Bay
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mohagine Hotel
Mohagine Hotel
#1 of 46 in Drake Bay
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Manolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Manolo

Address: Drake Bay | Drake Bay downtown, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: $21 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas Manolo 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Manolo is located in downtown Drake Bay at 250 meters from the beach. Cabinas Manolo is run by a Costarican family, so it is much easier for us to make you feel like in home. We offer a personalized service. Cabinas Manolo is like a home away from home. The restaurant has a wide variety of delicious and tasty dishes every day. Vegetarian and special diets can be accommodated. Tours: We offer tours to Corcovado National Park, Caño Island, dolphins and whale watch, horseback rides, kayaks, mangrove tours, night hike tour, sport fish and other tours around the zone. Do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Manolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Manolo Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing