We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabinas Manolo
Nearby Hotels
Cabinas Pura Vida(Drake Bay)(Great Value!)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ranchitos Las Cotingas(Drake Bay)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
Casa Drake Lodge(Drake Bay)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pirate Cove(Drake Bay)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$109
$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Drake Bay Backpackers(Drake Bay)(Great Value!)
$40
$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Martina's Place Hostel(Drake Bay)(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aguila de Osa(Drake Bay)
$415
$392
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveler rating
228
176
37
16
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
176
37
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroombudget roomcosta ricabahia drakeshort walk to the beachnice place to stayrooms are basic but cleanhot waterbook toursceiling fanthe drake bay areacabinascorcovadosierpebirdwatchingonsiteriver
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 468 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

While the rooms were nice, the new management needs improvement. We booked a tour to Corcovado which should have included two nights stay in Cabinas Manolo and one night at Sirena Station. When we wanted to pay for the tour however, we were asked to also pay for the accomodation at Manolo. Only after arguing we got the price previously agreed on. The same thing happened when we got back from the park. We AGAIN were asked to pay for our stay at Manolo althought it was part of the package. Even worse... they forgot to reserve a room for one guy from our tour, so he had to stay somewhere else. Last but not least we also had to pay for the breakfast on the day that our tour started although this was also meant to be included in the tour.

If you want to book a tour with them make sure you get a written summary about what is actually included!!!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with private bathroom on the top level.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicBoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, Director de Recepción at Cabinas Manolo, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

It was a pleasure to have had you in our place. We are happy that you have enjoyed your room and the two tours you did with us.

First of all, you had booked the day tour to Sirena with us, suddenly you met one of the other guests in the hotel who wanted to do the overnight to Sirena Corcovado National Park. You came to the reception and asked my coworker and me that you were interested in doing this tour. We kindly asked you to give us chance because this tour has to be booked many days in advance, but we managed to organize it in 24 hrs. Upon paying for this tour a 20% discount was given by us. We let you know about this.

You got confused with the day tour to Sirena which includes a small breakfast.

The overnight includes : First day Lunch-dinner Second day- Breakfast-lunch. No two breakfast. Lodging one night in the park.

The overnight does not include lodging in Cabinas Manolo, all the information is written and clear in our website. I just want to highlight that they did this tour 3 days later after booked it, maybe they forgot the details in the long run.

His friend who arranged this tour had all the details. They checked out the room and left their stuff in the storage room while they were the overnight in Sirena. His friend did not book a room for more days with us. When he came back from the tour realized that he did not have a room booked, however, kindly booked a room with the same price with private bathroom in a partner hotel. He stay in a room with shared bathroom with us, nevertheless we booked nice bongalow for him holding the same price.

Thanks for your feedback which makes us offer a better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at Cabinas Manola for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. Its a quiet place and at a short walk from the beach. The staff is great and offer help from arranging transport to trip planning to making sure you get everything you need. We also ate at the hotel's restaurant which has great food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kavitasuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here three nights, went to Corcovado National Park one day and walked around looking at birds and relaxing for a couple days. The trip by boat from Sierpe was a little rough, but exciting! Drake Bay is a very small, remote village which we really enjoyed. Cabinas Manolo has a restaurant that has very good food and very good prices and there are other good restaurants in the village as well. The staff was exceptional, including Mauricio, Naer (sp?) and our guide to Corcovado, Javier. Very helpful and friendly. Accommodations are basic, but the hotel is clean and they provide fans and mosquito nets. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank econurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here with a friend whilst for a couple of nights. Drake Bay is amazing and I enjoyed staying at Cabinas Manolo, they were very accommodating and tried their best to help out. The location is good, relatively short walk to the beach and the rooms were fine, basic but everything we needed. There was a powercut whilst we stayed and although it was not the best, they owners/staff were very helpful and brought candles/oil burners to light the rooms and restaurant. We booked the all inclusive package which gave us a trip to the national park, this meant we had a set menu and had to arrive promptly to be served. The food was nice and the restaurant and service charming. The trip to the national park was amazing, we saw dolphins on the way and had a great guided walk through the rainforest and saw lots of wildlife, it was a really enjoyable day. we had also arranged to go snorkeling, but the weather at the time meant the water was very choppy, we'd heard from some other travelers that they had been and had not managed to see much, so we decided against it, this was no problem for the owners/staff. We stayed in the rooms with shared bathrooms, which were fine, well kept and in working order.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My friend and I came to the Osa to see birds and wildlife. We found much more in the charming Cabinas Manolo. The lodging, service, restaurant, and good value have been favorably commented on by many others, but I would like to add how happy we were with the beautiful location and the friendliness of the staff. Mauricio was very helpful in making the perfect tour arrangements for us, and we also enjoyed spending time with our guide, Javier, who became a friend. His knowledge of wildlife, as well as his smile and great personality made this an especially memorable part of our stay in Costa Rica. I loved hearing the sounds of birds and the village each morning through the big, screened windows and looked forward to what new things the day would bring. Drake Bay is a village where you become accustomed to the rhythms of the locals, so even the motorcycles didn't bother us. Thanks everyone, and I would love to return someday.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice, but we liked our upstairs corner room with a good view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bamtgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews