We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveler rating
229
176
38
16
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
176
38
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared bathroom cano island budget room costa rica short walk to the beach relaxed place spacious room hot water book tours cabinas corcovado drake diving claudio river
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 471 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were a group of 11 and traveled to Drake Bay for 4 nights the 3rd week of July, 2012. We were a large group and Mauricio handled all of our needs prior to arrival like a pro. Our stay included a tour to Corcovado National Park and Isla Canos (Highly Recommend). Tour guide Xavier is the expert. Request him if possible. We also chose to do the night tour with the "Bug Lady" Tracie along with her husband Gian and it was well worth it. We are still talking about all the nocturnal creatures we saw thanks to their expertise! Our accommodations included the family standard room as well as 3 standard rooms. We had one room with a noisy fan but other than that, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Our group loved coming to our "veranda" with 2 hammocks and having happy hour there. The food in the restaurant was very tasty and the staff was super friendly. Any request we had was met with willingness to please and they did. If you want fancy, this is not the place for you. If you want clean, cozy, friendly, good food and fun times, Cabinas Manolo will deliver! Muchas gracias por todo Manolo, Mauricio and staff. We had a blast!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed in July 2012. The package included 1 day trip to Corcovado and 1 to Isla Canos. The welcoming and friendliness of the staff were awesome - for example, our daughter (15) was not feeling great on the last day and did not want to get up for breakfast before catching the ferry bask to Sierpe. The restaurant staff noticed that she wasn't at breakfast and took it on themselves to deliver food to the room in time for her to eat something before we caught the ferry.

They provided small towels for the beach, recommended locations. Our daughters loved this hotel the best of all that we stayed in during our stay. It's fairly basic, but we were clean, comfortable and welcome.

The trips that they organized were great; we saw dolphins, whales and flying fish on the way to elsewhere - no need to book special trips.

The snorkeling trip was good, but if you take it, do ask the captain of the boat to use the snorkeling equipment again when the boat stops for lunch. (All the boats come to the same bay on the mainland for lunch.) Or, do not bother with booking the snorkeling trip - just rent the equipment and walk down the coastal path to the bay from Drake - about 5km; you can probably hitch a ride back on one of the boats if you do not want to walk back.

Room Tip: We ended up in the room next to the kitchen and the main bathrooms, which was a bit noisy and and a bit smelly. But it did not disturb us unduly.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

First of all, Drake Bay is one of my favorite places I have ever visited. Cabinas Manolo is super organized. The place is beautiful, and clean. They offer amazing tours (totally worth the money). The beds are comfy. It has a great location, close to markets and the beach. Awesome.
PS rent snorkel gear and walk the two hours to San Josecito (amazing snorkeling, practically free!).

Room Tip: I stayed in A and the sun came in bright and early. I was happy with this but if you want to sleep in, it is difficult.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradyBraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed with them in July 2012. They were awesome!!! The rooms were beautiful and everyone there made you feel like you were home. The food in the restaurant was delicious! If you Scuba Dive, you MUST do the Cano Island trip!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, Director de Recepción at Cabinas Manolo, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thanks very much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Me and my best half was here for 3 weeks now in June/Juli 2012... We ended up here randomly after tip from a taxi driver at the airport, and that was THE best thing that could have happened to us :)
We experienced things like loss of power, water, internet etc, things that happen in Drake bay all the time, BUT, the loving and caring staff at Manolo ALWAYS made sure that we were treated well and taken great care of dispite these practical detailes..
We lived in a room with private bath, and for this price, and for the average standard of the Drake bay area, this all is VERY good !!
They also arranged several excellent tours for us, and what ever other information we would need they would help us with. Also there are always someone that speaks good English, something that we also liked a lot.

We are now proud to say that we are friends of Manolo and the wonderful people working there, and we will for sure go back to live there as soon as we can

Room Tip: We only used the "highest" priced rooms wich was with private bath room (still very cheap price). . . But I looked into several, and they all looked very nice, and the cleaning that they do every day, is VERY thorough and good.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio M, Director de Recepción at Cabinas Manolo, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thanks very much, I hope you can come back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews