We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Honeymoon Spot!”
The open concept of our Luxury home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The open concept of our Luxury home
 Location of Casa Rio Sierpe located in Primary rain forest along the Rio Sierpe Look at What's Included in your stay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The open concept of our Luxury home
Location of Casa Rio Sierpe located in Primary rain forest along the Rio Sierpe
Look at What's Included in your stay
Our 700 sqft covered deck is our favorite room in the house
Breathtaking views from the house of the rainforest, river & mountains
These could be your foot prints on this pristine beach
Spacious fully equipped kitchen to support your culinary delights
Included in your Stay, Unlimited River fishing by boat & we provide the tackle!
400 sqft Master Bedroom with private balcony
One of the amazing trees found in the primary rainforest near the house
Luxurious Master Bathroom, His/Hers Sinks, His/Hers Rainfall/waterfall showers
Howler monkeys, the loudest terrestrial animal in the world, your alarm clock.
Spacious guest bedroom with 180 degree views
Majestic, golden hour early morning views from the back deck
Our luxury home nestled into the primary and secondary rainforest
Spacious and well appointed bathroom
World class sport fishing found directly offshore
Inside dinning room and kitchen bar
The Bocca Beach on the SIerpe River, safe for all ages, Where is everyone?
Resident white face Capuchin monkey.
 All of the species of monkeys in Costa Rica  are in our area
Cano Island Diving and Snorkeling, the best in Costa Rica and directly offshore
Fishing on the Rio Sierpe is spectacular! How about fresh Grouper for dinner?
Guided Hikes Included; Our onsite staff guiding us through primary rain forest
One of our daily Visitors, the Toucan
The mysterious Mangrove Forest of Terraba Natl Park, largest in Central America
Lesser Anteater in one of our trees
You can do a horse back tour and have lunch and swim at this majestic river
Sierpe River at Sunset
Endangered Scarlet Macaws, they mate for life and are seen from the house
Rio Sierpe at Sunrise. Magic!
Your private waterfall swimming hole a 10 minute walk away.
Included in Stay Guided Kayak Tour; Entire family kayaking on one of our  trail
Included In stay, Tour to Jose Angles (he's 94!) fruit farm and botanical garden
Fire Billed Aracari, part of the Toucan family and regularly seen from the house
Dreams come true at Casa Rio Sierpe! This Rooster fish was a bucket list catch for this former guest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EFMiller
Dover, Delaware
1 review
“The Perfect Honeymoon Spot!”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I spent 4 days of our honeymoon at Casa Rio Sierpe and absolutely loved it! The house was beautiful, clean, private, and had spectacular views. The owner (Mark) answered all of our questions promptly and thoroughly and makes the transition from town to the house seamless. While planning our trip, we were nervous to leave our rental car for a few days in town, but the garage turned out to be well protected and we did not experience any issues. During our stay, Rubin (staff member) took us fishing on the river and to a secluded beach on the Pacific (muy romantico!). Also, we saw a howler monkey feeding and scarlet macaws right from the porch! This isn't just a house rental, it is the Costa Rica experience at it's best!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2015
We know that you had many choices to choose from in Honey moon destinations and we sincerely appreciate you choosing to come and visit us over the rest on your very special occasion, THANK YOU! From us and the staff at Casa Rio Sierpe we wish you and your husband many years of health and happiness. We hope to see you again in the future.
Warmest Regards
Casa Rio Sierpe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee J
Fountain Hills, Arizona
1 review
“Hidden Rainforest Luxury”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

From the moment that my wife and I landed in Palmar Sur until it was time to go, Mark and his crew took care of everything. We were immediately greeted by a friendly taxi driver waiting for us that helped get our groceries, then delivered us to the boat for transport to the amazing Casa Rio Sierpe. Ruben and his wife were 5 star themselves greeting us with cold lemonade. Ruben went with us on hiking adventures to the waterfall and then hours of fishing the mangroves and Sierpe river whenever we wanted. As for the home...WOW! When we weren't fishing or hiking, we didn't move from the wonderful patio. The majestic sounds of nature and afternoon rain surrounded us as we grilled up our fresh catch. Ruben's wife kept the beautiful home immaculate along with our laundry! When traveling to Costa Rica we would definately recommend getting away from the tourists and seeking out the luxurious Casa Rio Sierpe and the team that make it truly an unforgettable experience in the rainforest.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin B
1 review
“It was great to get away from everything and connect with each other and with nature!”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The house was beautiful and luxurious. Pretty great to have an ice maker in the middle of the jungle. I loved how the house was isolated and remote. We spent most of our time outside on the beautiful patio. The caretakers were extremely friendly, nice and helpful. They cleaned and did laundry and took us wherever we wanted to go on the boat whenever we wanted. We loved the beach just a 10-minute boat ride away, the Cano Island snorkeling and horseback riding up the mountain to an emerald green swimming hole. We also liked seeing the wildlife and hearing the monkeys bright and early in the morning. Finally, we liked the fact that there was no internet access because our kids read more books than they had in a long time and we played cards and games as a family. The walk up the hill is not for the faint of heart. But it's well worth it once you get to the top!

Date of stay: April 2015
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: the hill
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NTraveler...
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect Off-Grid Rainforest Luxury”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This place was absolutely amazing! Mark, the owner spared no expense in building this beautiful home. The description of the location is spot-on! Spectacular hardwood everywhere, ceiling fans to keep you cool, a generous kitchen, the most beautiful porch with a perfect view of the river. We never left the porch besides to fish, cook, hike, or sleep. It was so relaxing hearing all the animals around you. We saw capuchin and holler monkeys, toucans, macaws, so many different species. Ruben and his family where wonderful and made our stay so easy. They did our dishes, washed some of our clothes, unpacked our groceries, made our bed, and cleaned up after us as if we were in a luxury hotel. They are the sweetest, most hard working family I've ever met. Ruben, after only being there a couple hours, took us to the private beach at the mouth of the Sierpe River and picked us coconuts which he shelled for us. This is also where my fiance proposed to me at sunset thanks to Mark's suggestion. It was the most magical place! If you like fishing, Ruben is a great guide and knows the river and mangroves like the back of his hand. We also chartered a boat our first couple days there which was spectacular because they could pick us up from our dock. We caught every type of fish on our bucket list (which was a very large bucket). We thoroughly enjoyed our hike to the small waterfall behind the house on a fairly manicured trial. It was lovely seeing all the hidden treasures the rainforest has to offer. I would suggest this place to everyone that likes an adventure in the middle of nowhere. If you aren't the outdoors type, this may not be the place for you, but for us, it was simply PERFECT. So perfect we decided to stay an extra day which was much needed after all the fishing we had done. Mark made the booking process so incredible easy and kept in touch constantly. He gives you this packet of info that covers EVERYTHING you need to know about your trip. It is quite helpful when planning your trip. You can tell he loves his home away from home and enjoys sharing it with others. We will be back!

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The secluded location and Ruben's family
Liked least: the hill
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2015
Nicki, we are so happy that we were able to be a small part of your very special day, we wish you many years of happiness with your fiancé and soon-to-be husband. We can't wait to have you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki M
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great experience in the rain forest”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The owners were very quick to respond to our questions and informative as to helping plan our trip to Costa Rica and seemed genuinely happy to have us as guests in their home. We were met in Sierpe by their manager and local guide. We were taken by boat to the house (an unbelievable experience that you won't want to miss). Once at the house, we were met by another staff member and made to feel very welcome. We felt that we were on an adventure in the jungle but completely taken care of by the staff . At the house we were treated to a cold glass of limeade, led to the back terrace where we found fresh cut flowers on the table and a gorgeous view of the Sierpe River, lush jungle, mangroves and mountain ranges in the distance. The house was totally private and secluded, spotlessly clean, with an enormous porch and modern amenities. At the house and on the way to the house we saw howler, spider, white faced monkeys as well as toucans, macaws, Coatis, a sloth (from the living room window) plus other animals. The owners arranged for us to take a Canopy Tour at Osa Canopy Tour (the Tarzan swing, bridges and tour were one other highlight of our trip). It was amazing to completely get out of the touristy area and stay in the rain forest - something that my husband, daughter and I will remember for the rest of our lives. The staff took care of all the cleaning and making sure that we knew where to go on our hikes to the stream, to the boat dock and into the jungle. The staff introduced us to rural Costa Rican culture that we would have missed had we stayed at a large resort or more populated touristy area. We felt that Casa Rio Sierpe offered us a tremendous value in the level of service, amenities, the included tours and activities that were arranged for us. We stayed for 3 nights and next time we go to Costa Rica - we definitely will stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peaceful, secluded being in the jungle
Liked least: everything was wonderful - we were on an adventure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler N
1 review
“AMAZING VACATION (long review. just book it!!!!!!)”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My 3 friends and I decided to book this place about a month before our trip in March, even though there were no reviews. We requested to book and we were very promptly contacted by Mark, who owns the property. He did a wonderful job of helping us understand what we would be getting ourselves into, which seemed a little overwhelming at the time, but really wasn’t. We decided to book for 4 nights, which we ended up switching to 5 nights and would have stayed even longer if we had the time!!!!! Overall it was an amazing experience from start to finish with great attention to detail and trip planning that really helped you maximize what you could do with your time in the jungle.
The house was beautiful inside and out. There were no expenses spared in the building of this house, with everything done to perfection. Beautiful hardwood throughout. Everything about the house was perfect. The porch was great for lounging or there was a propane grill for grilling fish we caught while on an ocean fishing trip or meat we brought in from buying in town before arriving at the house. It was really hot and humid outside during the day, but the house always seemed to be a good temperature. There were lots of fans to ensure good air circulation. They designed this house with jungle luxury in mind and they really accomplished it.
The house was great, but the best part of our trip was interacting with the caretaker of the home Ruben and his family. Ruben took us on daily river trips to the beach (amazing!!!), to a local fruit farm, through mangroves, and would take us fishing whenever we wanted. He was there for anything you wanted to do and he made sure that you would enjoy your trip. He really only speaks Spanish. If you or anyone in your group don’t speak Spanish, it may be more difficult, but you can definitely still have a lot of fun. Ruben really helps you enjoy the jungle experience and is really there to cater to whatever you want to do. They really made us understand how to appreciate life in the jungle and really to appreciate life in general. Life is hard there for people, but they always have a smile. They were great, the house was great, the service was great. Overall, we really had a perfect vacation, and everyone involved with Casa Rio Sierpe really helped us have it. I would highly highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great jungle experience and to do something different that you may not have done before.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The customer service. Mark the owner was great, Rayna the coordinator, and Ruben the caretaker all made our vacation amazing!!!
Liked least: Walking up the hill to the house
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing