We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I loved this place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Horizontes Corcovado

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Save
You added Casa Horizontes Corcovado to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 18 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seward, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“I loved this place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This truly was one of the best places I have ever stayed. The location is divine(prepare for a little walk up a hill, but I welcomed the exer), the family who runs it is wonderful, and the lodge itself is one of a kind. The woodworking in this place is amazing!! The husband/wife team who own the lodge put their heart and soul into designing and building this lodge. The woodwork done by the husband is inspiring. I felt like I was staying in a part lodge/part art gallery. I could'nt believe that I was so fortunate to stumble accross such a charming place. We ended up staying longer than anticipated. It was hard to leave the place! Thank you Pedro and Yami for providing such a lovely place and being such wonderful people!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
87
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I toured the Osa Peninsula during January. We stayed at five different locations. Casa Horizontes came out on top. The guest house is located at the top of a hill overlooking Drake Bay. You have a beautiful ocean view from the dining area. We stayed five days and saw a wide variety of wildlife including macaws, toucans and white-faced monkeys. Hiking trails run along the coast giving the visitor access to several unspoiled beaches. In addition, the plants and flowers that surround the house are very exotic.

Our hosts, Yami and Pedro were spectacular. They knew all about the area, Corcovado National Park visits, boat excursions, etc.

Our stay was delightful, and our room was comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a wonderful 3-night stay with Pedro and Yami. The hospitality was that of a 5-star hotel We were picked up at the beach by Pedro in his 4x4 and greeted with cold refreshing fruit drinks upon arrival. Yami made gourmet meals, even with vegetarian restrictions, that sat very well in our stomachs after every meal. The outdoor dining area has a magnificent view of the ocean and is surrounded by tropical trees with flowers that attract hummingbirds without the artificial sugar water bird feeders. The first afternoon we had a group of about 20-30 white-faced monkeys hanging around the dining area putting on an absolute show for us, complete with a mother with a baby on her back. The next morning, we were visited by 3 pairs of red-feathered macaws, kissing, fighting, pruning,.. It was amazing. The 2 things I wish the place had are 1) A/C and 2) covered bathrooms. We stayed in the Toucan Room which has the best views and privacy. It has a fan we kept on at all times. But even with the fan, the nights were hot and humid, and we had to use the mosquito nets which cramped our space for 2 adults on a full-sized bed even more. The windows only have insect screens, no glass panes, so the small insects came in and made it impossible to do anything at night with the light on. The bathroom has open areas at the top so that the walls don't meet the ceiling. So again, when the light was on at night, I was visited by moths, flying ants, and geckos in the shower. Also, the next morning, we had a trail of ants scurrying in an out of our toiletry bag; we think they were after the cherry-flavored cough drop and apparently didn't mind the menthol. Despite taking all measures to avoid being bitten, it was a lost cause. I saw that all of the other tourists were bitten many times, too, so if you're ok with that, and be sure to take calamine lotion, then it's a great place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veggi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I were privileged enough to have spent four days at Casa Horizontes in June of 2012. From the moment of arriving on the beach after the thrilling water taxi drive to departing after having smelt, tasted and experienced such a wonderful place, we enjoyed every minutes of this charming, rustic and natural place. I cannot praise the hosts enough! They are such real people, opening their home and hearts to visitors. Pedro and Yami along with Elia made our stay so comfortable and friendly. The food was authentic Costa Rican, simple, tasty and healthy, and the little touches and the extra mile that the hosts went to make us comfortable and feel at home were very special.

Pedro drove us up to their place after being collected at the beach - Its quite steep, but its good exercise and its worth the effort once you are enjoying the views and peacefulness from their balcony. Breakfasts on the balcony are a must - just soak up the sounds, the birds the insects and the nature of the place, its such a laid back tropical beach village, where life is enjoyed! Pura Vida. We had a bit of a tighter budget during our time in Costa Rica, so we only ate a cooked dinner made by Yami on one of the nights, unfortunately, and on the other two we visited the local shop in Drake (within walking distance) and stocked up on some supplies. The meal she cooked was fantastic - authentic - and very quickly you will take for granted the amazing diversity of fruits and juices that she provides each morning and afternoon. We stayed in the room downstairs, the toucan room which had the added benefit of an en-suite shower and bathroom - we found this to be very useful, especially for having an extra place to dry clothes. The beds were comfy and clean and we weren't bothered much by mosquitos.

in terms of activities: Elia, Yami's sister is the perfect guide. She can help you plan your days activities and will happily provide some suggestions of local attractions and must do's. My advice is that one should walk and hike as much as possible, this way you really soak up the experience. We did a short walk from their house into some primary forest where birding was amazing, and Elia is extremely knowledgeable on the local species, so far as even being able to call them (the Motmots have a great call). We also did a walk from the house to Cocolito bay, where you can honestly spend the whole day just flopping in the warm ocean, on a practically empty and idyllic tropical, white sand beach (White Capuchin monkey's can be seen en route). Going to Corcovado is a prime thing to do - A MUST! We spent the day after another great 2hour boat drive (spotted flying fish) walking from Sirena station into the forest to the Sirena river. Amazing sightings of ant eater, tapir, basilisk, boa constrictor, spider monkeys, howler monkey's, blue morpho's and so much more. Wow. the guides on these walks are great - engage with them ask them questions. I can also recommend an early morning walk along Drake bay to find the Scarlet Macaw's which fly past on a regular basis as well as a night walk with Elia up a river not far from the house - frogs galore, freshwater blue shrimp, interesting insects, snakes and a whole other world.

Overall we loved our stay, it suited us to the core and was such an adventure. We thank Pedro, Yami and Elia again for the wonderful experience and memories which will last us a life time. We are thinking of you guys.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VereRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Horizontes. It is a rustic, natural spot where you can see toucans and macaws from the breakfast deck. There is quite a steep walk up from the beach to get to the B&B so not for the faint of heart. It is in close proximity to the small town of Drake Bay. Make sure you have cash with you because we didn't see a bank in the community. Pedro and Yami made us feel like family and we had a great time with the other B&B guests too. The food is excellent - fresh, homemade and very tasty!

Room Tip: Some rooms have showers where the wall is partially open to the outside. One room has one double and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip_Reviewer194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Casa Horizonte was one of the most beautiful experiences of my life, not only because is an amazing place with incredible view but mainly for the people in charge.
I m spanish and for me was a real pleasure to become friends with Yami ( owner) and Elia ( sister)
They make sure that all your tours are well organize and they take care of you.
If you want to have a real contact of how people live in Drake Bay talk with Yami and Elia.
Elia has an incredible knowledge of every plant, tree, animal and place in the area.
The meals are great and the service people oriented.

Room Tip: I was in the one on the top and I loved it.You will wake up early listening to the rooster and the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Casa Horizontes in late January. Our experience was a bit different than those of other reviewers because Yami and Pedro were unavailable due to a serious family issue. Even though, our stay went smoothly. It's obvious that here "it takes a village". Everyone from Ben and Chessie who run a kayaking business and were our main interpreters to Elia, Yami's sister, and all the others it takes to run a B&B were amazing. Our trips went smoothly, meals and snacks were delicious and everything was kept immacuately.

This is definitely a bed and breakfast experience. The rooms are small, so most of the time that you are present, you are in the common area of the beautiful front porch. This is where meals are eaten also. Lodging in this area is somewhat limited so your choices are pretty much expensive resorts or B&Bs in the town of Drake Bay. If a B&B is the way you decide to go, give Casa Horizontes a try. You'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: The Toucan Room has it's own bathroom. You don't have to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herekittyOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.3 mi away
Martina's Place Hostel
Martina's Place Hostel
#2 of 18 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Horizontes Corcovado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Horizontes Corcovado

Property: Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Address: | 200 meters south of the Agujitas's School, Drake Bay 00506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is a wooded building, with an ocean view balcony, located away from the main town, but just 200 meters from the beach; it also has a tropical garden with a lot of forest in the backyard, a lot of wildlife is spotted from the balcony. Yamileth and Pedro Caravaca offer rooms with a ceiling fun, and shared hot water shower, breakfast, laundry service, tours and transportation info. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Horizontes Corcovado Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing