We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Treasure in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Horizontes Corcovado

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Save
You added Casa Horizontes Corcovado to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 18 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
1 review
“Treasure in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Participated as a couple in a group of eight kayakers and experienced the finest of hospitality as well as spectular daily kayak excursions. Ben and his son were outstanding Costa Rica guides, superb kayak instructors for all levels. The daily meals included fresh local fruit, freshly made juices, delicious fish and desserts. Savory and envious vegetarian dishes as well. Staying within a large local family, eating local and supporting local community members is a true experience and a gift.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1-Eco-Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
86
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at Casa Horizontes for 4 nights as part of a 3 week trip to Costa Rica. We really enjoyed staying with Yami and her family and they gave us a very warm welcome. Yami does an excellent job of running the hotel which is clean and comfortable. Our breakfast was always very tasty, filling and freshly prepared. We ate dinner here one night too which was also very delicious. Despite being peak season and the house being full, Yami also booked all our tours for us and ensured that we got trusted guides. She and her husband also helped us to make arrangements to get onward transport to our next destination which we had left late during the high season.
The house itself although simple is beautifully made and makes full use of the view. We saw many species of bird in the pretty garden including toucans and wild turkeys as well as capuchin monkeys.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and if we return to the area we would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmrrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This review is long, long overdue (I only recently got into reviewing places on tripadvisor). We stayed in December of 2011 - but I think Drake Bay is my favourite place in Costa Rica (after 3 visits and traveling over 2/3 of the country) and Casa Horizontes is the best place to stay in Drake Bay; so I had to post a review to show my support for this wonderful little hotel.

The best thing about CH is the owners. It is nice to stay at a place that is Costa Rican owned and operated, and Yammi and Pedro are lovely people and gracious hosts.

The house itself is up on a hill (steep road) and elevated so that the "main" floor of the house has an open patio that is actually at the treeline level - so its amazing for birds - scarlet macaws, toucans, etc. The patio is also where meals are served and let me tell you, make sure to eat here as Yammi's cooking is fantastic. It happened to be my birthday while we were staying and she even made me a chocolate birthday cake to surprise me with after dinner.

Yammi was also helpful in booking tours for us and Pedro even gave us a lift in his truck a few times to get to places we wanted to go (although, Drake Bay is not a big place so - its ok to get around on foot).

Highlights of Drake Bay: birdwatching from the patio at Casa Horizontes, walking along the beach (tons of monkeys, birds, iguanas), and the "Bug Lady" night tour (that tour really is AMAZING). Also recommended is to take the boat to Sirena Ranger station in Corcovado - they have rooms at the station but i recommend bringing your tent to avoid bug bites - and sleep over a night or two (even better if you can get a guide to go with you). The park is amazing, teeming with wildlife, and the food at the ranger station is surprisingly delicious for such a remote place. This requires booking ahead - maybe something Yammi can help with.

The rooms: from what I remember, there were only 4-5 rooms in the whole place. We had the room closest to the back door on the "main" floor. It was basic and clean. We had to share the bathroom (which was worrisome at first) but since I think the bathroom is shared with only one other room, we never had a problem with waiting to use it and it was kept spotlessly clean - cleaned multiple times per day. I believe the other 2 rooms each have their own bathroom - but they were already taken when we arrived. It seems like the nicest room is above the terrace level. So that is the room that I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey_A_Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed for a night here and we had the most wonderful time. First of all, Yami and Pedro are most wonderful and friendly hosts. Pedro greeted us on the beach and got our luggage up the hill. Second, the location is amazing! It is in the village and close to beach where all the tours start. Also there are grocery stores and restaurants nearby that we could walk to. It is located up on a steep hill, so it has a beautiful view of the ocean from the front porch. We could constantly hear the ocean and sounds of nature, which I thought was really magical. We chose to have dinner there and the food was delicious. It was one of the best meals we had. Yami tried to accommodate our special meal requests. Also, she made breakfast for us early in the morning as we were leaving for a tour to Corcovado. The house itself is very clean and cozy. We really would have loved to stay here longer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonrisa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My girlfriend and I just returned from a two week trip to Costa Rica. We stayed at Casa Horizontes for our first five days and we absolutely loved it!

We were warmly welcomed on the evening we arrived were we stayed in the 'Romantic Room'. It was quite small, but in the best way and it sits right next to a palm tree where it seems the local capuchin troupe like to eat breakfast and hang out. Be warned: some of these guys are total rascals.

The food was exceptional. As much I love casodo (a typical Costa Rican dish), it was great to have lots of variety and vegetables. We ate most evenings with a really nice couple from San Jose (see Ericka's review below) and our highlight was watching the birds and monkeys during awesome breakfast fare.

The location is perfect, if you are the type who likes off the beaten bath. The supermarkets are 10 minutes away and the beach is just down the path. We booked a tour through Yami to the National Park that was excellent, apart from the brutal boat ride, but the that was due to the awful weather. Anyway, the return ride made up for it when we saw 3 humpback whales!

Our only regret was doing this first as everything afterwards (Arenal, Cano Negro, Monteverde) paled in comparison!

Nick

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

It was our first time at Drake Bay, Yamilet and Pedro were very nice helping us to organize the tours. The food was great and the home made bread was something unexpected and delicious. They have an open area for breakfast and we were able to see monkeys and birds around while eating.

Room Tip: Tucan room has private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikaCarvajal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I just returned home from our Costa Rican vacation and our stay at Casa Horizontes was the highlight of our whole trip. Pedro and Yami build a beautiful home which stands in the middle of paradise. You wake up to coffee and an incredible breakfast prepared by Yami, and while you sit, enjoying your coffee, you can observe toucans, macaws, and white faced monkeys right off the porch! On top of that, their property was extremely convenient in it's location to the beach, the town, and anything else you'd want to do in Drake Bay.

Yami and Pedro made us feel so welcome, like we were family. Yami made incredible meals while Pedro was so helpful with our luggage. When our taxi failed to show up to take us to the airport, Pedro made sure to drive us there in the nick of time, to be sure we didn't miss our flight. They really bend over backwards for their guests and I would recommend Casa Horizontes to anyone visiting Drake Bay.

We definitely hope to return back to Drake Bay, and if we do, we would be sure to stay with Yami and Pedro again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
1.5 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.5 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
0.3 mi away
Martina's Place Hostel
Martina's Place Hostel
#2 of 18 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Horizontes Corcovado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Horizontes Corcovado

Property: Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Address: | 200 meters south of the Agujitas's School, Drake Bay 00506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is a wooded building, with an ocean view balcony, located away from the main town, but just 200 meters from the beach; it also has a tropical garden with a lot of forest in the backyard, a lot of wildlife is spotted from the balcony. Yamileth and Pedro Caravaca offer rooms with a ceiling fun, and shared hot water shower, breakfast, laundry service, tours and transportation info. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Horizontes Corcovado Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing