We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome to Drake Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Ranked #4 of 20 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa Horizontes for three nights in July. Yami and Pedro were attentive to whatever we needed to make our stay pleasant. They helped us book tours to Corcovado National Park and point out areas of interest. We enjoyed the stories that Yami shared with us and also the delicious dinners that she prepared each night. Pedro has constructed a beautiful addition to his home that houses the extra rooms where guests stay, giving a feeling of privacy in a peaceful setting. There is a lovely porch that gives you a view of the wildlife and a bit of the ocean. We appreciated all that they did to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ks9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 171 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

We were 4 friends (ages 27-32) visiting Drake Bay in April. We drove down from SJO, and spent 3 nights at Casa Horizontes. We had a fantastic time. Our host was very helpful in organizing our day-trip to Corcovado. Breakfasts were delicious. The monkeys right out our window in the morning were definitely one of the highlights! (I actually think I saw more monkeys out the window than at Corcovado!). The beach is 1 minute away.

Room Tip: The room on the top floor was perfect if you like to see the white-face monkeys in the morning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Yami and Pedro were exceptional hosts! They did everything to make our stay in Drake Bay the best-from providing fresh fruit at all times of the day to getting us the best guides for excursions, they really went out of their way. It was interesting to hear Yami's stories about her grandfather settling into the area way back when-brought a history to the place we wouldn't have otherwise known about. The guest home itself is gorgeous with beautiful woodwork by Pedro. The room we stayed in was breezy, the bed comfy and everything was always clean. The location was great-just a short walk down the hill to reach the beach where most excursions leave from.
I already miss waking up every morning to the incredible bird sounds surrounding the Casa and the beautiful look-out over Drake Bay from their porch. Yami is also a great cook-her lasagna and salads were particularly memorable and we always had loads of fresh veggies, fruit and juices. When planning our trip there were quite a lot of places in Drake Bay to choose from but we are very happy to have chosen Casa Horizontes. We would recommend it to anyone and look forward to staying there again some day. Yami and Pedro are truly generous people and hosts-you really get a sense from the locals that they are Drake Bay royalty as everyone talks about them with great respect.

Room Tip: Initially we had requested the room on the top floor as it has windows on all sides but we quickly r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The property is located just north of Corcovado and there is lots of wildlife easily viewable through the windows. The Romantic Room upstairs has the best views if you want to see birds or Monkeys. A troop of white face monkeys dined on palm fruits right out the window. From the patio where breakfast is served, there were birds flying around in the trees of their front yard. For those who are birders, here's my bird list from one evening on their deck: short-billed pigeon, white-necked Jacobin hummingbird, rufous-tailed hummingbird, golden-tailed hummingbird, lineated woodpecker, slate-headed tody-flycatcher, great kiskadee, bananaquit, cherrie's tanager, golden-headed tanager, blue-gray tanager, blue dacnis pair, black-stripped sparrow, and probably a few others. Yami, the owner, along with Pedro, had several local connections if you want to fish or scuba dive, or snorkel. The property is close enough to the little town of Drake, that you can walk there for food, bars, and a store in the area. The place has a small kitchen, and the owner, Yami prepares great food as well. She cooked a Sierra Mackerel that we caught in the bay. Yami's sister, Elia, is a terrific jungle guide if you are looking to hire a guide for Corcovado. Her English is exceptional, and she knows most of the birds by their songs. If it weren't for her, I don't think I would have seen 75% of the animals that I did see, while there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravisSnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed 4 nights at Casa Horizontes in April 2012. It was the highlight of our Costa Rica trip. We had arranged with Yami to be picked up at the airport, which went seamlessly, and arrived to a wonderful plate of fruit and fresh juice served on the covered deck which gives an expansive view over Drake Bay. The rooms are beautiful and simple, made by Pedro, who is a master woodworker and carpenter. We ended up having all of our meals here, as the food was so good -- Yami is recognized as one of the best cooks in the area. They were served under candlelight on the porch -- absolutely lovely. The number of birds, as well as monkeys and iguanas, that you can see from the porch is amazing. We had arranged in advance to have Elia, a licensed Corcovado guide and Yami's sister who lives just down the path, take us on an overnight trip into Corcovado. It was an incredible experience -- we saw tapir, anteater, coati, agouti, crocodiles, many types of monkeys and too many birds to count. Elia is an excellent guide, with very good English skills and an amazing eye for spotting wildlife, as well as a great depth of knowledge of the inter-relationships in the tropical jungle. It was almost an out-of-body experience to be awoken by howler monkeys in the pitch-black an hour before dawn. If you want an overnight in Corcovado, you should arrange this ahead of time, as the number of permits for overnight stays is limited. Yami and Elia's grandparents lived in the Osa, and their stories are fascinating. This is a wonderful opportunity to see a part of Costa Rica which so far has been able to preserve a sense of place which feels very unique.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with a private bath, which was lovely, but they all looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamylinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My son Ben and I stayed at Casa Horizontes B&B in Bahia Drake for 4 days in April. Yami and Pedro are extremely friendly and accommodating hosts and her grandfather was the 1st Costa Rican men to come to the Osa in the early 1950s. Casa Horizontes has a great view because it is situated high above Drake Bay. While having breakfast or juice/snacks on the covered porch, many birds, iguanas and scarlett macaws were nesting nearby in the trees. As an added treat, an extended squirrel monkey family came through one morning to feast on palm fruit right outside our bedroom window for about an hour. We choose to have both breakfast and dinners since we had a busy schedule and local town is tiny & only has a couple of small restaurants. Breakfasts were standard (fruit, eggs, bread) although their Casado-style dinners were really delicious- fresh fish or meat with grilled vegetables, rice & black beans, dessert. Yami speaks fairly good English and arranged our semi-private tour of Corcovado National Park, a Night Frog Tour and a Terraba-Sierpe Mangraove boat tour. Her sister Elia is a local Corcovado-licensed guide and Manuel (Pedro's older brother) was our Mangrove tour guide, both speak good english and were friendly and very knowledgeable about flora & fauna of the area. If your preference is high-end accommodations, there are a few luxury lodges offering specific activities (e.g., diving, deep sea fishing), gourmet food, fancy showers, air conditioning, etc. in Bahia Drake. On the other hand, if you are reasonably fit (there's about fifty stairs leading to their B&B from the beach), looking for vacation value, comfortable accommodations, good local food and prefer to experience the real, Costa Rica life-style, this place would be a good choice.

Room Tip: Casa Horizontes is not located on the beach and showers are very basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I loved staying here and loved meeting Yami and Pedro and their family. They have a beautiful house with a view of the bay, and you can view the occasional toucan or macaw from the dining area. We drove there from Puerto Jimenez and Pedro helped us find a safe place to leave the rental Rav-4. (Most people take the boat from Sierpe and would strongly recommend this in the rainy season or if you do not like driving in small rivers or on logs) Yami's sister Elia was our guide to stay overnight at the Sirena ranger station at Corcovado. Elia is an incredible guide with a deep knowledge of the area. The boat from Drake Bay to Sirena is kind of fun, you have to land through the surf and I have never seen large waves breaking near the boat before.They provided nice food for the whole adventure to Sirena and Elia brought tents. To me this was a real adventure and I was very happy that they were very involved with us and safety conscious. Pedro has hand- carved the doors and the dining chairs of the house . I liked this so much. They have screens but it does not completely cover the whole room and in the nice bedroom upstairs you have to climb down a steep stair to the bathroom. Highly recommend this, not for everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klrklr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pirate Cove
Pirate Cove
#7 of 8 in Drake Bay
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#3 of 20 in Drake Bay
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado

Address: | 200 meters south of the Agujitas's School, Drake Bay 00506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: $94 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is a wooded building, with an ocean view balcony, located away from the main town, but just 200 meters from the beach; it also has a tropical garden with a lot of forest in the backyard, a lot of wildlife is spotted from the balcony. Yamileth and Pedro Caravaca offer rooms with a ceiling fun, and hot water shower, free breakfast, laundry service, tours with the best guide in the area. The hotel is located in very private place with the best views and the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing