We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up the hill in the backyard of Drake Bay's school”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Ranked #4 of 18 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Up the hill in the backyard of Drake Bay's school”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I loved staying here and loved meeting Yami and Pedro and their family. They have a beautiful house with a view of the bay, and you can view the occasional toucan or macaw from the dining area. We drove there from Puerto Jimenez and Pedro helped us find a safe place to leave the rental Rav-4. (Most people take the boat from Sierpe and would strongly recommend this in the rainy season or if you do not like driving in small rivers or on logs) Yami's sister Elia was our guide to stay overnight at the Sirena ranger station at Corcovado. Elia is an incredible guide with a deep knowledge of the area. The boat from Drake Bay to Sirena is kind of fun, you have to land through the surf and I have never seen large waves breaking near the boat before.They provided nice food for the whole adventure to Sirena and Elia brought tents. To me this was a real adventure and I was very happy that they were very involved with us and safety conscious. Pedro has hand- carved the doors and the dining chairs of the house . I liked this so much. They have screens but it does not completely cover the whole room and in the nice bedroom upstairs you have to climb down a steep stair to the bathroom. Highly recommend this, not for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klrklr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
93
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My wife and I, arrived at Drake Bay, and did not know, any thing about Casa Horizontes. Because we had just booked, a kayak tour for a week, with Galiano Kayaks. But now we want to go back, as fast as possible. Casa Horizontes is a place, where you will find, the best and most delicious food, you will ever get in Cost Rica. The house is laying on a small hill top, where you do have a view, over the Drake Bay. This view you will have, every time you do eat, on the big terrace. On terrace is also lying, in the middle of their garden. In this garden, you do see all kinds of birds, and other animals. You will spent a lot of time on this terrace. We did not go other places, the week we was in Drake Bay. The most important thing is of course the hosts. They are so so kind. Yammi and Pedro is the kind of people, that you will always feel, welcome in there house. They do always have time for you, and they will not disturbe you, all the time. It`s like home. Perfect service, and perfect hosts. One week at Casa Horizontes is best way to relax .

Room Tip: Get the rooms out to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skallebaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Wish I had planned for more time @ Drake Bay and Casa Horizontes. We had an amazing time. Family atmosphere, delishes food and beautiful ocean view. The big terrace - overlooking the bay - is the place for the guests and family members too meet and have great breakfasts, lunches and dinners (including the homemade birthday chocolate cake for our friend :-))). Plus the family helps you organizing your trip and gives great recommendations of where to go and what to do!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We traveled to Drake Bay to Kayak (a perfect place for this) and to explore the Jungle. Casa Horizontes was a very beautiful B&B with amazing views and the friendliest helpful owners. Clean and tidy, with beautifully hand crafted and carved wood work. Fantastic meals while overlooking the ocean from a very nice veranda. A short walk to town, but out of the noise. True paradise!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in January 2012 and it was the most wonderful place! The B&B is attached to Yammi & Pedro's home tucked up on top of a hill over looking the ocean. It is very very clean, warm and inviting. The owners are the nicest family. They brought our bags up the hill to the house for us and planning all of our adventures. We had the best tours with the greatest guides. When we arrived we were greeted with fresh fruit and fresh squeezed juice. The food is AMAZING. We ate breakfast and dinner there. The coffee is the best I've ever had. The bathroom was very clean, the shower was warm. At night we fell asleep listening to the ocean. You couldn't ask for a better place to stay. It was the perfect place to getaway from reality and relax.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebeth9012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

the location is amazing, the view from the veranda is beautiful and Drake is the best area in Costa Rica, a must visit place. The walk up to the guest house is steep but worth it and not that far. The guest house is an addition to their home and is nothing fancy but is lovely,clean tidy and all that you need. There are 3 rooms downstairs and 1 upstairs, 3 of these share a small but adaquete bathroom.The rooms are small and simple,clean and tidy. The breakfast is served on the wonderfull veranda whenever you like and is great. they always gave us coffee,juice and bisquits/fruit when we came back in the afternoon from our trips out. Yami and Pedro are so sweet and just can not do enough to help you and make your stay great, they are the most guenuine family we have met in costa rica, yamis english is very good, pedro does not speak much english. they have a cute daughter,glorianna, and a son. the other staff there are friendly and helpful. there are not lots of independent places to stay in Drake, mainly all inclusive resorts, and from what we saw of those they are not really worth the money!there are 3 places to eat in the village, or they cook wonderfull meals at Horizontes, so you dont need to be at a all inclusive place. This really was a highlight of 2 months in costa rica, both drake bay and yami and pedro, we will never forget them and can only say...STAY HERE, you will LOVE IT!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I truly cannot say enough good things about this B&B!

Pedro and Yami are an incredible duo, who really go the extra mile to make sure their guests are comfortable. Pedro picked us up in the bay with his 4-wheel drive jeep, which was helpful in getting all of our stuff up the hill to their place. Other reviewers are right, it is a bit of a climb but completely worth it! Yami had prepared fruit and juice for our arrival and there were fresh flowers in our room. It’s little details like this that made all the difference. The house itself is incredible. Pedro made it himself in the mid-90s and the craftsmanship is astounding. The home is very secluded with beautiful views, and the bathrooms open up to the outside a bit, so you feel very nestled in nature. I recommend waking up early to hear and listen to the variety of birds as they emerge in the morning. Perhaps you will catch a white-faced capuchin monkey or two as well!

Yami was incredibly helpful in organizing all of our activities. Her sister Ilia is a guide and she came to the house multiple nights to talk us through our decisions. Yami also did our laundry for a small additional fee. The only thing we needed to leave the cabin in search of was nature! Unfortunately, my girlfriend got a bit ill on the trip (from a cucumber eaten a couple of days before our arrival — nothing Yami made), and Yami was incredibly thoughtful — she made us a couple of home remedies and made sure that my girlfriend had a pitcher of boiled water. The house does have a kitchen that you are able to use, but you have to make sure you can work around Yami’s meal schedule. She runs a tight ship! Oh, and the coffee! My girlfriend and I are a bit snobbish about our coffee and the coffee here is some of the best we had in the country. Her small kitchen staff also had no problem making us a pot in the afternoon and even did so without us asking once they realized our habits!

Also — the cabin has wireless internet! We were convinced that it didn’t after reading the reviews here, but we found out the last day that they do. You may have to ask them to turn on the computer, but it’s there.

If you are looking for an unforgettable visit to the Osa Peninsula, this is the place. I think that many people stay on the other side of the peninsula, but if you want to avoid crowds a bit, Drake Bay might be a better location. There are also stunning, secluded beaches just a short walk up or down the coast. If you are on a budget, you can see many of the same animals along the coast for free that you can see in Corcovado National Park (which costs around $90 for guide, food and transportation) and it is legal to camp within fifty meters from high tide. The bay may also offer better views of the sunset than the park itself.

I can’t wait to return!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank espialidocious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.5 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.3 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
0.2 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#3 of 18 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Horizontes Corcovado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Horizontes Corcovado

Property: Casa Horizontes Corcovado
Address: | 200 meters south of the Agujitas's School, Drake Bay 00506, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Horizontes Corcovado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house is a wooded building, with an ocean view balcony, located away from the main town, but just 200 meters from the beach; it also has a tropical garden with a lot of forest in the backyard, a lot of wildlife is spotted from the balcony. Yamileth and Pedro Caravaca offer rooms with a ceiling fun, and shared hot water shower, breakfast, laundry service, tours and transportation info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Horizontes Corcovado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Horizontes Corcovado Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing