We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful rooms with great service at an unbelievable price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Finca Maresia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Maresia
Ranked #1 of 18 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Wonderful rooms with great service at an unbelievable price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

Finca Maresia is located a couple of kilometers by road from the 'town' of Drake Bay. Set on what appears to have been an old farm, it is a very new lodge whose buildings are modern in design, but are still integrated with the natural surroundings. The bathrooms utilize poured/polished concrete and have open air showers. The lodge is very eco-conscious without sacrificing comfort. The individual cabins offer great privacy and a real sense of seclusion and intimacy.

There is laundry service (which wound up being incredibly helpful), free Wi-Fi in the reception/dining area, and an honor system for beer, soda, etc. The open air dining room next to the reception area offers beautiful views, including one of Drake Bay itself in the distance. You can hear the surf from there, as well as see all kinds of beautiful tropical birds---we saw scarlet macaws on a regular basis, as well as toucans, tanagers, etc.

At night, the sounds of the jungle take over and you can hear dozens of different birds, frogs, insects, etc singing. In the morning, the howler monkeys in the nearby forest provide the wake-up call.

Did I mention that the price is WAY lower than anything else remotely comparable in Drake Bay? Because it is--this place is a real bargain.

The lodge operators/owners Miguel and Juan do a great job of making sure every need is taken care of, to the extent possible. Finca Maresia makes a perfect launching point to do active tours like visits to Corcovado National Park. It's also a nice place to come back to after a rough day or two of hiking and enjoy a luxurious shower and relaxing afternoon in a hammock. Miguel did a great job of coordinating tours for us, and booked excellent guides and tours for us--we wound up seeing everything we wanted to see, and the service was seamless.

The food is very, very good. However, the options are limited. There are 4 options for breakfast, and lunch and dinner are served family style. If you have a strong preference to choose your own meal options due to personal preferences or dietary concerns, this could be an issue. Miguel was very good about asking if we had any particular requests or concerns, however, so I wouldn't let that be a deterrent.

There are only two other minor quibbles. One is that the location is a bit far (2 km by road) from town/the beach. This is also part of the place's charm--you're in a very quiet, secluded area with very little intrusion from the rest of humanity. But, if you want to run into town, you have to figure out how to get there. The other quibble is that the grounds are fenced off on almost all sides where it borders on its neighbors, so while the bird life is beautiful and vibrant, other wildlife sightings that one might get at larger ecolodges is missing--you can hear the howler monkeys, but won't see them. If you're visiting Corcovado NP, of course, not a big deal at all. I'm not sure which places in Drake Bay outside of Casa Corcovado do offer that kind of wildlife, however, so this is a very minor complaint.

All in all, we would recommend Finca Maresia for just about everyone. It offers a very high end experience at a budget price tag.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Racandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    50
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
130
564
51
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

Overall, I really liked this place. There are a few things you should know before staying here: there is a 20 minute up hill, and after rain, treacherous, hike to get to the hotel and back everyday after the 45-60 minute walk to the beach, there are cheaper and more convenient places closer to town, and there is no screening above the doors on the standard bungalows.

However, I really liked the atmosphere and the other guests. The food was good but not great and reasonably priced given how difficult and expensive it is to get things to/from this location.

As for the staff, I would have liked to meet charming Juan, as he was referred to in another post. We had Miguel, who was a total mystery to me. They have this absolutely fantastic girl working there, Barbara, don't know what they'll do as she is leaving soon.

A couple great things: free filtered water as well as bottled water, beer and drinks at cost, Kiera the dog and the two cats.

Some updates/additions are needed: screens for above the doors in the standard bungalows, a shuttle to/from town once a day, and a desk person.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenbdrinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

My husband and I loved this hotel. The first night we ate in a local restaurant - this was a mistake. The food at the Finca Maresia is superb and not to be missed. We read on the trip advisor reviews to go horseback riding with Pepe. We went because of this recommendation and this was the highlight of our trip. It was in the rainy season, but the magnificent views and swimming in the Rio Claro made slogging through the mud well worth it. While we were there, a guest lost his luggage. Our host Juan managed to get him clothes to wear so his trip would not be ruined. Juan also arranged for our guide to Sirena Station. He was clearly the best and we saw lots of wildlife and took great pictures. The rooms were immaculate and the open air showers were private, yet fun.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAHMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michiganian
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

For those who have family member apprehensive about a jungle adventure, Finca Maresia is the place to stay. The hotel is in a clearing so there are no close encounters with jungle creatures although you can readily view toucans with binoculars and hear howler monkeys in the distance. The rooms were very clean and the beds have mosquito netting over them. Just put the netting over the bed before you head up to dinner and you wont battle any bugs when you return later and turn on the lights. Dinner is at 7pm which is late for some Americans, but allows everyone to comfortably return from tours, get washed up and rest a bit before dinner. Miguel cooks a very satisfactory 4 course meal consisting of a green salad, soup, meat or fish entree, and dessert for $15pp. We ate in town one night and spent slightly less but didn't get the variety. Breakfast is included in the room rate with fresh fruit and a variety of options including pancakes and eggs. Look at all the pictures and you will see many concrete steps to the cabinas. If you are of short stature or over 50, you might want to consider taking along trekking poles to navigate easier; actually anywhere you go in the Osa you have steep terrain. The path to the beach is not to be underestimated, its an ugly. mucky drainage ditch which takes about 20 minutes to navigate in dry season. Then its another hike to Cocalito, the nearest swimming beach. Miguel has plans to put in a salt water pool which will help; the distance to a nice beach is the only real drawback to the property. MIguel was absolutely wonderful with arranging tours. It was high tourist season but we did everything and had a fabulous time. Our room had a modern safe which was much appreciated because you need cash in this area, no ATMs or credit cards- dont mess up on this!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crimrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

I stayed here with 3 friends for 2 nights. It's my best B&B experience ever, just like paradise. Everything is so nature, and you feel like you stay in the jungle...so cool! Owner Juan is so cool (never see big smiling face) but warm-heart person, wait and picked us from the boat (from Sierpe), cooked delicious dinner and breakfast (all the dishes are very fancy, I'm surprised. They must pay a lot of time and attention on the food, taste really good!). He's expanding his B&B now since we saw there's new rooms under construction. We had dinner here as well. It's very nice to have dinner with backpackers from all over the world in the same table, to share travel stories/pictures. We did a night tour- The bug lady (you can book it from B&B), which was pretty amazing. Our tourguild is an American lady, majored in biology, who came to Costa Rica for 17 yrs to do inspect research. She and her husband are so knowledge and their shape eyes found lots of spiders/snakes/frogs...it's really cool. We also went to a day tour to Corcovado national park (sirena station), B&B provided rain boots for us to hike in the muddy rainforest, really helpful.......I just like Drake Bay, like Finca Maresia. Will go back to hike the other two stations of Corcovado parks. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uuuyouyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

We have travelled around Costa Rica for 3 weeks and this was definitely the best location in the whole trip. Beautiful simple cottages with great showers and a view into the wilderness. If you come for the beach there are better spots in Drake, but if you come to see the wilderness and only want to hear the nature at night like us this is the right spot.

Juan is the manager and has everything under control and arranges everything when you want to do a tour. Moreover he is very friendly and makes you feel at home right away. Friends are easily made in Finca Maresia. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to visit Drake; which is a beautiful spot on its own.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Werner-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Me and my wife love wildlife and adventure. We selected to stay 8 days at Finca Maresia in Drake Bay. We have travelled the world and can easily say that Maresia and Corcovado is the most pristine and beautiful place we have ever stayed. Even the food was superb! Host Juan has it all under control with great, great food. The minute you arrive, Juan will give you a full, funny and tailor made brief on what to do. The staff and the rooms are amazing. What a setting for a great holiday. After 8 days we left to another hotel in Uvita, only to find that we had to return to Maresia for the remainder of ou holiday (another 7 days). Dear Juan, Alex, Andrea, Oldemar, Roy and Franklin: we will be back! Muchas gracias y pura vida!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandCorine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.9 mi away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.4 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
1.0 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
21.0 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Maresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Maresia

Property: Finca Maresia
Address: Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Finca Maresia Hotel Drake Bay
Finca Maresia Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing