We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough good things about this place”
Review of Finca Maresia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Maresia
Ranked #1 of 22 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have lived in Costa Rica and done a fair amount of travel in the country - Finca Maresia is hands down one of my favorite places I have ever stayed at. All the great reviews about this place are true. The ground - beautiful The private cabinas - so wonderful. The dinners- delicious and a great price for what you get. Miguel (the one of 2 owners who run the place) went above and beyond to make sure my friend and I had a good experience after having a stressful experience getting to the Osa leaving us short on cash. He gave rides down and back to Drake Bay when possible, had boots for us to use when we wanted to do a horse riding tour but didn't have tennis shoes, and just was the perfect host. Like I said, I just can't say enough good things to do this place justice and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We absolutely loved the superior room. It was spacious with a beautiful bathroom and wonderful priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulinehammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 962 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I just got back from Costa Rica. We stayed at Finca Maresia the last part of our trip. I wish we would have stayed there for the whole trip. Miguel and his staff were so accommodating. They made you feel as if you were at your own home, but better. The cabinas are all beautifully situated on the mountainside with a distant view and breeze of the ocean air. Each cabina has its own private balcony and bath. I was amazed at how beautiful and clean the rooms were. Each room has a balcony with hammocks overlooking a certain part of the rainforest. They offer a 4 course dinner for a really reasonable price, so we ate there every night (even though we were on a budget- it was SOOO worth it). Breakfast is included and includes your own choice of menu items. When we go back to Costa Rica, this is the place we stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giofan808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The experience was great for us since we booked, we received a lot of recommendations from Juan from day 1.

Not only did he gave us a great experience, he also is a great cook, and a nurse. We got very sick 1 day at the beggining of our stay and Juan took a really good care of us, he even cooked special meals for me.

I strongly suggest staying here if you want to have an amazing experience at drake.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelambm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is the place that we enjoyed our stay the most in Costa Rica. Miguel, the owner came to pick us up from the beach on our arrival there and took us to the B&B, showing us everything on the way. Every room is a small distance from each other, thus giving you your privacy. The rooms are styled beautifully, and we made complete use of the hammocks out in the balcony. At night, it is wonderful to go out and stand in the balcony and look out at the open space, and hear the bats fly around, and watch the lights of loads of fireflies and other luminous insects. We felt like we were in fairyland! The owner Miguel is very friendly and helpful. He does not try to unnecessarily sell different activities to you and instead advises you on whether going on a certain activity or trip would be a good idea at that time of the year, but of course, the option of whether you want to go is always open to you! The food is fantastic and we loved the system where all residents come together to have dinner together at the central platform. It made us feel like we were with family, it was a good way to exchange experiences of the others and we also made some good friends. Miguel, thanks for your wonderful custom.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PreethaSach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you plan to go to Costa Rica, this is the place to stay!
Lovely surrounded by the deep jungle and wild animal sounds this hotel is a perfect place to relax and explore the peninsula.
Juan was one of the best host we met on our three month journey thru central america! The food was delicious and the rooms were styled to the bones.
Thanks again for the great time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We flew from San Jose to Bahia Drake. Upon our arrival, we had a taxi-jeep waiting for us which dropped us at Finca Maresia.
Upon our arrival, Miguel, the boss, welcomed us at the main gate of the property and sat with us on the platform overlooking the property: the little houses, the colorful birds and the beautiful scenery. We booked a standard room but wished to visit superior room just by curiosity. We fell in love. Super clean, quiet, with shiny hardfloors, mosquito nets and a cute balcony with 2 hamacs and wooden table to have some rest. The bathroom looked like 5 stars hotels in Thailand: open shower, large comfortable shower head, spa stones on the floor.
Miguel created a very smart system for the food, where you write down on the main board if you want to eat lunch or dinner. There are not many restaurants so you'd better eat on site. Dinner were healthy salad, hearty soup, main dish (meat/fish/vegetarian) and homemade dessert(coco flan, sponge cake etc). It was a real treat; very balanced and appropriate after a day of exploring the jungle or snorkeling . And guess what, all the guests eat at 6pm on the same main communal table. Some nights (we stayed 3 nights) we had great conversation with Americans, some nights with Spanish, some nights with Italians. On the platform, there are a couple of hamacs, seated hamacs, bean bags and chairs to relax and admire the view. Morning breakfasts are made of fresh juices, pancakes/eggs/toasts and fresh fruits. We didn't find anything of such a good value, excellent service and warmth in the +30 countries we have been travelling to in the past 15 years.
Miguel and his staff are very discreet but yet, always disponible to advise you on where to go or what to do. They even provide high quality jungle boots and sickness pills for the sea.
His wife who is a European architect conceived the place, and it really looks like there is some spirit there. There are 2 dogs and 2 cats that our 4 year-old daughter loved very much.
I think you guessed after my review that we had a wonderful stay and recommend you to go there to have the chance to enjoy Finca Maresia while exploring Bahia Drake, the Corcovado Jungle and its surroundings.

Room Tip: Go for Superior !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanookleskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

i think Finca Maresia is good place to bring your family . nice wooden houses to stay in . for the bird watchers there are trees with exotic birds . fun host from Espana ( aka Spain ) who cooks great food i especially liked Juan 's Paella and the coconut flan . you can also get tours and excursions set up with Juan . i think Juan is awesome . you can also meet people from all over the world when you stay here . there is a beach not too far away . good breakfast a la Latino America . the only drawbacks are the heat on the trails around the hotel and the locals partying next door at a bar at night ( which i think Juan has taken . hope you read this Juan and other world travelers like myself . canyon

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwilliams10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
369 reviews
1.4 mi away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.7 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#3 of 22 in Drake Bay
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado
0.5 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabinas Pura Vida
Cabinas Pura Vida
#5 of 22 in Drake Bay
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Maresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Maresia

Address: Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: $43 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca Maresia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Maresia Hotel Drake Bay
Finca Maresia Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing