We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food from Juan!”
Review of Finca Maresia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Maresia
Ranked #1 of 21 Drake Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed at Finca Maresia for 3 nights in February 2012. The room was very clean and comfortable and the bathrooms were very nice. The breakfast has a great selection of food and the evening meals were fantastic, Juan even catered for the fussy vegetarian and did a fantastic job.

While there we did one of the Sirena Ranger Station tours in Corcovado National Park which was very good, saw loads of birds, snakes, a few sloths and various other animals and the guide was very knowledgeable and interesting.

The second day we did a tour with a local guide who didn't speak English. Even though neither of us spoke Spanish we all managed to get along ok and understand what the guide was saying and pointing out! This also included a swim in a waterfall on his property which was very private and beautiful.

Only note is it's not walking distance into Drake if you wish to venture out and try other restaurants (although, there are only 3 restaurants in Drake Bay anyway).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 956 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2012

After checking out all the locations in Drake's bay we decided to stay here. What beautiful grounds with great views and plenty of birds to see. The rooms were cozy and very clean. In fact our cabin had an awesome balcony including a set of nesting Passerine tanagers in the ginger tree. The dinner was served family style which is nice since it brings everyone together in the evening to chat over what adventures they had experienced that day. They even provided us with laundry service at a great price which was delivered to our room the next day.

There is plenty of positives staying here, but the one major draw back we felt was that there was something missing. After traveling several times to Costa Rica this being our third we found that this place was owned by a Non Costa Rican not that this is a bad thing. It's just that all the other places we have stayed at the owners always treated you in a warm and friendly fashion. Now I am not saying that we were treaded badly... Not at all.
Lets just say that there are two owners who split their time running the hotel. Each one stays for several weeks at a time, and you could tell that the one who was their while we were was at the end of his rotation and was pretty burt out. Like I said before we were not treated badly, it just would have made everything that much better if he would have not been so ruff around the edges during our interactions. Now I say this because I have stayed at many places in Costa Rican and I have never once experianced this before.... Ticos always tend to take their time and go out of there way to be warm and friendly and make sure you are enjoying your stay.... that was not the case here.....

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bombero590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is THE place to be in Costa Rica! Can't think of a more beautiful location in the midst of nature. We had one of the budget rooms, it was spotlessly clean, very elegant and done from great materials. The whole place is perfectly thought through with many years of travel experience having been incorporated. Food is very tasty and served in 4 courses meals for dinner at a large table communal.
Staff has been very friendly and supportive, with Miguel being lovely and outstandingly helpful and jolly at any time.
We had the best time, it was our Costa Rica highlight, and we will return during any future Costa Rica trip.

Room Tip: Any of them are good value for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We went to this place because we read so much good things about it. We are really happy about the four days we spent there. Breakfast is very good the optional supper is fabulous and the fun part about the food is that everyone in the hotel sits at the same long table and can exchange information about their trip.
The hotel is in a very nice setting, each of the seven or eight bungalows spread apart on their land.
Our host, Miguel, was also very helpful and organize us a variety of activities like Corcovado Park, diving in Isla del Cano or bug, frog, insect or bird watch tours. When we arrived at Bahia Drake, he had already organize a taxi for us to go to the Finca and also organize our trip out to Liberia with a boat drive and two shuttle buses.
We will definitively do everything possible to come here again.

Room Tip: We had two bungalows and they were evenly nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MChouinard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Our stay at the Finca Maresia was the highlight of our 4 weeks in Costa Rica. Arriving by boat added an extra dimension to the experience (pack light) which continued to be great for our 4 days there. Please read the other reviews - they are all good and exactly as we found it. Juan worked really hard and made sure we all had the best time possible. We ate at the big table every night (supper $15,and really good food) sharing our days experiences (and a glass or two of wine) with all sorts of different people and nationalities, really good fun. The recommended trips were all first class, saw whales, dolphins, sharks, sloths ....everything we hoped for thanks to Roy, our guide. If you are going to Drakes Bay this is the place to stay and we would go back tomorrow if we could!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank touristWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Four of us spent 4 days in this great place. Juan was very helpful, the setting wonderful. We had a great time and would come back any time. Food was very taste and prices very reasonable. Good value for money.

Room Tip: The four us us shared a standard casita, which was fine for us and the price very reasonable. We lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uschi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We spent 4 days in this beautiful Finca. The well-designed bungalows with a large terrace and beautiful location make your stay to a paradise. Juan, the head of Finca Maresia treats his guests like friends.
His well-connected he is to ensure that everyone has a book tour is to his liking. Moreover, he cooks every night with lots of love a wonderful menu for his guests - and that only for $ 15.
On all next travels to Costa Rica we will spend some time in Finca Maresia.

Bernhard Seifert, Germany

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 846Bernhard_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drake Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
481 reviews
1.0 mi away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
0.7 mi away
Casita Corcovado
Casita Corcovado
#3 of 21 in Drake Bay
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Horizontes Corcovado
0.7 mi away
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
Ranchitos Las Cotingas
#7 of 21 in Drake Bay
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Maresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Maresia

Address: Camino a los Planes, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Drake Bay
Price Range: $43 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca Maresia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Maresia Hotel Drake Bay
Finca Maresia Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing