We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable adventure, destination”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dominical
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Los Aires/Las Aguas Lodge
Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable adventure, destination”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

There are times when words fail you - and in describing our experience here at Villa Los Aires left us all truly speechless. Not only was this house magical and our best family "secret", not only was Costa Rica beautiful and welcoming, not only were our days filled with unforgettable adventures - but the BEST thing of all were our hostess VIviana, our driver Henry and our amazing cooks Patricia and Aron. They tended to every detail of our vacation to this indescribable getaway making it truly carefree and wonderful. We trusted VIviana's suggestions (and were never disappointed); we felt safe with Henry on some pretty unnerving drives (including the first drive into the region of the house) and we felt truly pampered by Patricia, Aron and the housekeeping staff. I would recommend this house to anyone (except that I like the idea of keeping this our own family secret!) We stayed 12 days in the beginning of August, so did have rain everyday by about 4:00, without fail - so we had to plan early days. There were 14 of us all together and were all able to stay in the main house - definitely agree that the annex rooms were less inviting. Overall perfect and unforgettable experience - would return in a minute. Most important piece of advice - Use Patricia!!! Cooking meals and getting groceries here seemed nearly impossible to us. Dinner in the moonlight with cloth napkins and a preset table - no worries, no cleanup and DELICIOUS food! Thank you wonderful staff - we loved you all. Costa Rica - we miss you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

All the nice things other reviews said are true. Especially, the staff is great. However, make sure you get one of the nice rooms in the main house. The annex is below standard and much less enjoyable. The lighting is especially poor. We had no hot water during the week, but plenty of bugs. Its quite a steep hike to join the group in the main house. Our friends who had rooms in the main house loved the place.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the suits in the main house. They are beautiful and the views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We rented Villa Los Aires for 10 days between Christmas and New Years with our group of 7 famIly members/friends. The house is beautiful, and Viviana and Henry were fabulous. If you are looking to get away and truly relax, this is your place. We opted for the all inclusive meal plan. Viviana prepares breakfast and lunch, and Patricia prepares dinner for a minimal fee per person and then saves all grocery receipts for reimbursement. Much easier than trying to shop and cook considering the remote location of the villa. Some of our favorites were: Viviana's spread of tacos (pecscado, pollo, and carne) with all the toppings and salad, Viviana's pancakes, and Patricias amazing soups and plantains. Be sure to ask for it if you love avocado and papaya, they are very fresh and sold at all the fruit stands.
A couple tips and things we learned:
buy your wine and liquor at the duty free by the baggage claim carousel, it is the cheapest!
We decided to stop at Walmart in San Jose and it was a long stop and much pricier than the walmarts in the US.
Take Viviana's recommendation and do the Tito zip line in Quepos and the snorkel trip with Carlos out of Uvita. Both were incredible and well worth the price.
be prepared for some time in the car...the location is very remote, but well worth it. We spent almost as much time in the van with Henry and Viviana in the van, but we always felt safe and they always got us where we needed to go and they wait for you until you are ready to leave.
Overall...excellent and very unique trip, with incredible people to show us Costa Rica!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Five of us stayed 3 nights at this beautiful property in late May 2011. What a treat! We felt like royalty and were really treated as such by the friendly staff. Vivianna is a charming host who prepares a delicious Costa Rican breakfast. Ask for the fresh corn pancakes with sour cream -- YUM! The rooms are very clean and well-appointed. Screens on all the windows and A/C, which we did not need as the nights really cool down. Dominical is about a 30-minute drive (to the beach and SURF lessons!) and San Isidro is 30 minutes inland in the other direction -- try to buy your groceries at the farmer's market. We hiked two or three waterfalls on the property -- these are on private property, so you should have them to yourselves. Absolutely gorgeous. Relax and enjoy the sounds of the birds and howler monkeys in the morning, and the chorus of frogs at night.

We'll be back -- and I can't wait!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TampaTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

There are not enough words to describe this place!!! All 16 of us..10 adults and 6 kids.. had the most amazing time! Viviana and Henry were absolutely wonderful. They handled everything and anything we needed at ALL times!!! We also had Patricia cook our evening meals. She set the tables perfectly and made the dishes to perfection, even thinking of the special tastes of the kids. All the rooms in the house had amples of space, and were shaped up every morning by the housekeeping staff..We went on several tours that Vivi set up for us, and LOVED everyone of them.I would recommend this house to everyone of you. Thank you Los Aires we will come back and will tell everyone we know!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristina74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We first visited this treasure in October 2009. We returned for our second visit just last week. Our group of 6 could not have had a better time. This is the perfect place for anyone wanting to have the best of both worlds...staying in a secluded private lodge in the middle of nature, yet within a short drive to all the activities, beaches and restaurants you could want during your stay. Viviana, Steve and the whole staff are there for anything you need, but you also feel very much at home with as much privacy as you require. The house is immaculately maintained, the pool refreshing, rooms spacious and comfortable with AMAZING views. The property has several trails leading to spectacular and private waterfalls. Particularly special was the evening meals we had there, all lovingly prepared and served by Patricia. A special thanks to Viviana and Henry, who on their day off, drove 2 of our friends back to San Jose airport two days early because of a family emergency. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cerion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

A some group of friends (just 12) decided to have an adventure. We wanted a place near adventure activities for the day and very comfortable for dinning (and perhaps spirits) during the evening. This place is great. Not only is the kitchen perfect for making those non-diet foods you love on vacation (and boy did we have plenty of that - plus they made us breakfast and had someone to make dinner if we wanted), but the place has a movie room too. We could chat in the pool or hot tub or watch a movie. Everyone had something they could do. The staff are excellent. They arranged zip line, horse back, kayak, waterfall hikes and dirt biking. Bravo Las Aguas. We had a GREAT time.

Room Tip: I like the room under the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobBusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.0 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Hotel Cuna del Angel
#2 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Los Aires/Las Aguas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Los Aires/Las Aguas Lodge

Property: Villa Los Aires/Las Aguas Lodge
Address: 600 m northeast of the church | Cana Blanca de Baru, Dominical 8000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale jungle lodge in the rugged Southern Pacific mountains. 30 minutes to ocean at Dominical or San Isidro. Deluxe rooms with breakfast included, 5 waterfalls and jungle hiking trails on property. Hotel also has a full bar, meals, cafe with espresso bar, cinema, pool, spa, workout area and tropical gardens with giant chess. Diverse clientel, gay owned/operated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Los Aires/Las Aguas Lodge Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing