We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful View - Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Ambiente

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Ambiente
Ranked #7 of 15 Dominical B&B and Inns
Daufuskie Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful View - Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Villa in the Master Suite on Dec 7,2012. It was so beautiful and the owner, Birgit, was so nice that we stayed another 4 nights. The Master Suite was spacious and the bathroom was a suite of it's own. The balcony overlooking the infinity pool and bay at Dominicalito was the best view from a hotel we've ever seen. A 5-star rating is not nearly enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
25
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Villa Ambiente at the end of October '12 and truly enjoyed ourselves! After driving from Santa Maria de Dota, over the 11,000' passes of the Trans American Highway, and down the road from San Isidro to Dominical, the last 3 km up the 4x4 road to arrive at the Villa was enough. But when we saw the beautiful grounds, the inviting pool and the amazing rooms, it was worth all the driving! What a place... since we were 'driven' from our room by a swarm of bees, Birgit offered us the Luxury Suite. OMG, it was like being in a fairytale! The view of the Pacific was breathtaking from the balcony, the infinity pool was delightful and I have to mention having the whole place to ourselves was a real bonus! The breakfasts were beautifully presented and so delicious and the dinners she prepared were so good, we ate there both nights. We highly recommend this little piece of Paradise!!

Room Tip: The luxury suite is jaw dropping gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John and Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Lutte, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Staying for two nights at the villa Ambiente gave us the feeling to be in paradise.
This wonderful hotel is located in the hills near Playa Dominicalito in Costa Rica.
To reach the hotel it is a 2km drive uphill from the main road 34. A four wheel drive is recommendend.
The hotel is managed by Birgit and Uwe, a very friendly couple who gives you a great service.
We stayed in the main suite whith all its great comfort and a magnificent view to the pacific ocean and into the rainforest. During our stay a sloth was siting in a nearby tree next to our terrace.
Breakfast was outstanding and on request Birgit can cook you a delicious dinner.
We have to mention the swimming pool. It is large, two meters deep, fine water temperature and from the pool a great view.
This beautiful place really gives you the feeling to be in paradise.

Room Tip: Main suite is highly recommendend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Villa Ambiente, situated up a steep hill on the side of a mountain is well worth the drive to stay at.
The View is spectacular. Clean and well kept san helpful staff. We can't say enough about the Master Suite. If you go - pay the extra and request this room. Huge spa tub, comfy bed, privacy. Everything a 5 star should be. After seeing the other reviews I cannot add any more to say how nice it is.
Make sure you have 4x4.

Room Tip: Go for the Master Suite. Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailethomas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Every thing with this hotel is EXCELLENT. Perfect view, perfect swimming pool, perfect room, and a very kind, and service mined german hotel owner. This hotel is laying on a hill, and you do need a 4x4 drive, or a good driver, for going up to this hotel. The climate is on this hill is very good. Because the wind from the pacific, is blowing in to the hills, and you will always have a nice fresh breeze. So if you are going, to the pacific side of Costa Rica, this hotel is a must.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skallebaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

This amazing and beautiful villa makes you feel like you are in the Mediterranean. The view is one of the best in the Dominical area. I felt like I was in a dream looking out from the patio off the pool. IT WAS PARADISE! The pool was very clean and deep and wonderful! The rooms are nicely decorated views of the jungle and ocean. Not overly large but a sufficient size. The service was top notch! Birgit is the manager and was so eager to please and was always available for any drinks or food and everything else we needed or wanted throughout our stay. The inclusive breakfast was superb and plentiful. All around- a perfect GEM in Dominical!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

This private, small luxurious hotel is excellent, rooms beautifully furnished, all interior good taste, superb infinity pool, magnificent location in Costarican forest with splendid ocean view and just a short distance from the main road and beach. Friendly owner and good service, a better place for a quiet vacation back to nature you won't find easily.

Julian & Maria Bakker
Amsterdam
The Netherlands

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacadanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.0 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#10 of 13 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cascadas Farallas Waterfall Villas
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.0 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ambiente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ambiente

Property: Villa Ambiente
Address: Dominical 60101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ambiente 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Ambiente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ambiente Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing