We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterfall Villas
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Alturas(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cuna del Angel(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Rio Mar(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$115
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Diuwak(Dominical)
$74
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roca Verde(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rio Lindo Resort(Dominical)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergue Alma de Hatillo(Dominical)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
191
17
5
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
191
17
5
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskundalini yogavegan foodcouples massageevery mealbalinese styletofujade spaour honeymoondragonfly suiteraw chocolategreat vegancosta ricadaily yogafresh fruit drinksjuice cleansebuilding materialsrecommend renting a car
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 221 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2010

If you are in the Dominical area and need a place to stay, Waterfall Villas is the place to go. Franco, Fateh are terrific and make sure you are comfortable and if you need anything they will do there best to get it for you. The hotel is in a nice area, if you sleep with the screen open you can hear the waterfall which will eventually put you to a comfortable sleep. We had our wedding there, and it was a well organized event. Fateh and Franco did a terrific job organizing everything and Raven made the ceremony a memorable one. I personally believe that Raven is the best in what she does, considering what I have seen in other weddings. While you are at the hotel, you will have the opportunity to see some of Costa Rica's beautiful wildlife. The food is terrific. The meals are served hot and fresh and gives you the opportunity to experience other cultures food styles. Do not let the opportunity pass you by if you are in the Dominical area!!! Its an experience of a lifetime. Relaxing, peaceful and a opportunity of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike_akane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Cascadas Farallas/Waterfall Villas for a week this March and we were blown away with the magnificence and magic of our experience! Fateh and Franco go above and beyond making each guest feel relaxed, unstressed, and comfortable in every way possible. The villa itself- designed by Franco and Fateh themselves- with its amazing Balinese architecture and decor, open-air design, and gorgeous attention to the smallest details in craftsmanship and beauty, while still incorporating eco-friendly and sustainable materials and practices, is absolutely stunning and inspiring! We stayed in the Butterfly Villa and it is awesome in both its beauty and comfort: king-size Balinese bed, huge jet tub, outdoor balcony with comfortable Balinese style chairs to enjoy the beauty of the view overlooking the creek and rainforest, air conditioner, bamboo, stucco, tile, limestone, granite, marble, and local lava rock accents throughout the large room, and stunning artwork, furniture, and decor. We were fortunate enough to be able to view a number of the other villas and they are each individual, yet stunningly gorgeous like ours.

Franco and Fateh are both experienced world travelers and previous corporate world business managers and owners, so are very professional, yet their goal is to provide a healing, natural, eco-friendly, and small so easily customized and able to provide one-on-one attention to their guests retreat from the corporate, fast-paced lifestyle so many of us live in today. They exceed their goal exceptionally.

We purchased the full meals package and while my husband, who is not vegetarian nor raw, was pleasantly surprised and impressed with how delicious the food was and was also impressed and quickly put at ease by Fateh's customized attention asking if he preferred to have fresh-caught fish some evenings, also. The food was beautifully and freshly prepared and presented and bursting with flavor. A couple of evenings we had the pleasure of sitting down to a cozy and comfortable dinner with other visiting guests, which was a treat getting to meet other interesting people. Other nights the two of us were treated to a private dining experience in the gorgeous, natural, yet elegant setting. Breakfasts and lunches were also delicious and satisfying, and we never went hungry. My husband specifically asked me to be sure and mention how happy he was with the food especially considering how nervous he was, initially, about spending an entire week at a vegetarian/vegan/raw food establishment. (He thought he would feel as if he were going to practically starve to death!)

We took Fateh and Franco's advice and used their transportation service to pick us up from the airport and drive us to the Villa and are thankful we did, as we doubt we would have found it very easily with such a distance to drive with different street and highway signs and markers than we would have been used to in the U.S. The driver made stops along the way to let us take pictures of scarlet macaws in the trees along the way, crocodiles in the river, and enjoy lunch at a restaurant (we arrived at the airport at noon), and stop at the street-side fresh fruit stands. We had the same friendly driver on our return ride to the airport and remembering we were both firefighters, he offered to stop at a fire station along our route and spoke with the local firefighters who then gave us a tour of their station and took pictures with us. Just one example of the numerous wonderful ways every one of the guides Franco and Fateh set up for each of our outings we undertook while staying with them, went above and beyond in their hospitality and friendliness, even simple rides to and from the airport.

After two days of hiring a taxi driver to transport us to and from our tour destinations, we felt comfortable enough with the road and driving style to rent our own vehicle, which was nice having the freedom and accessibility to go where we may want on a whim whenever we wanted. The cars are all manual transmissions due to the very hilly terrain and mileage and speeds are classified in kilometers as are in most other countries, other than the U.S. They do drive on the right-hand side of the road like in the U.S., there are no real shoulders on the paved (and curvy) roads, and vehicles commonly pass at anytime, but once we got used to the slight differences we were very comfortable driving even to distant larger towns. We needed only ask Franco about renting a vehicle and he arranged to have one for us the next morning.

We were there for a week, late in March and the temperature was in the low 90 degrees (F), I would guess, moderately humid, with lows in the 60's or low 70's at night. We packed a couple long-sleeved shirts and jackets, but never needed them. Next time we will no not to even bother with them. We did bring a pair of jeans apiece for us as we knew we would be riding horses. Make sure you bring some hiking shoes as the hikes are well worth doing.

Domincal, the nearest town, is approximately 5 minutes away by car and is a quaint little touristy, hippy-like surfer town with a rather well varied selection of food and restaurants, little tourist shops featuring local artist wares, a bank to exchange money, surfing, dive, and ocean fishing shops, nightlife with live music, dancing, and karaoke different nights of each week, and lots of interesting people from numerous countries- many who are surfers and sun seekers. Domincal is known as the best surfing area in the country and its long length of white sand beach shaded with coconut trees and gorgeous blue ocean cresting with waves is gorgeous. There are numerous other beaches all along the western coast there, all within 15 minutes of Dominical, that Franco and Fateh are happy to provide information and directions to.

Every single one of our hikes and tours we did, and their guides, were fantastic! Out of all our wonderful and fun experiences and tours we partook in though, my favorite of all was hiking to the huge waterfall with Franco. It is a moderately hard hike for some people due to starting at 2500 feet elevation, hiking down to 500 feet elevation to the falls, and then having to hike back up to return to the vehicle, but it is so incredibly worth it. Once you reach the falls, you can swim in the large pool below it, climb on the ledge and immerse yourself in the falls themselves, and take pictures, and you eat a picnic lunch provided by Franco and Fateh and can hike further up to see the higher area of the falls if you like, or remain relaxing at the foot. Franco points out many interesting tidbits of information regarding the local flora and fauna, exotic birds, and picks fruit and edible flowers along the way for you to try.

I am in love and enchanted by the country and people of Costa Rica. We ziplined, rodes horses through the rainforest, hiked, played in the ocean, visited Corcovado National Park (accessable only by by boat), saw tons of gorgeous flora and fauna, wildlife, scarlet macaws, birds, spider monkeys, howler monkeys, sloths, white-faced coaties, and other critters, relaxed in the simple yet elegant comfort of the Villas, enjoyed the beauty and serenity of being immersed in the rainforest as we relaxed while listening to the running water below us, practiced yoga in the mornings with Fateh and her guests next to the running stream, ate amazingly delicious and healthy food, met so many fine, hard-working, sweet, and humble people of an unspoiled beautiful and forward-thinking country, and just had the dream vacation of a lifetime. We definitely plan on returning and bringing more family and friends whom we know will be as enthralled as us by Waterfall Villas and Costa Rica. Thank you Franco and Fateh. It would not have been the same without your beautiful generosity and hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firefightress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Just returned home yesterday. I am speechless. I have tears in my eyes right now. If you want paradise, bliss, soaring health, and discover the true meaning of who you are. Please visit this wonderful place. This was not a vacation but a tremendous learning experience for my family and I.

Much love to you Fateh and Franco. You guys are wonderful beings of light. I am making plans through the internet to return as i speek.
Pam

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panther71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We were told the drive from the airport to our destination would take 4 hours. We flew into the airport at 5:00, the sunsets at 6:00. Connect the dots. The roads are dark; we were told to avoid "Cerro de la Muerte" AKA the "Hill of death" and make sure to have a GPS. OK, done and done.
The drive was dark and long, the GPS moody, and the locals seem to enjoy sitting on the sides of the roads. However as we reached the property, and saw a path of lit torches we knew it was worth the drive.
This place really is a tucked away gem. The villas are clean, styled right and back up to waterfalls. From our balcony we viewed Morpho Butterflies the size of my hand. On my first run up the hiking trail I encountered a Toucan flying over my head. Jesus Christ Lizards did indeed walk on water. This place did have a magical feel to it. The hosts Fateh and Franco Ying/Yang their way around your stay; giving you as much attention or privacy as you would prefer. My wife who is a yoga instructor loved the outdoor morning Yoga with Fateh. Situated on a flat rock surface next to the trickle of the waterfalls, even this yoga agnostic had to join in. Our family took the extended off site waterfall (swim) hike with Franco. I would highly recommend it. Franco will have you eating things off trees you never even knew existed, and they taste great! He also set us up for some great horse back riding on the beach, and recommended zip-lining that our young girls could handle with aplomb.
All in all, in our many years of travel, we would put this stay on our top ten list. Kudos to our hosts, you've created a diamond in the rainforest.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traderjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Waterfall Villas from March 16 to the 24th and had the most wonderful vacation ever. This was my 40th Birthday present which was absolutely amazing! Fateh and Franco are the owners and creators of this small eco-luxury resort nestled in a rainforest paradise. They do a superb job with every aspect of a healthful, healing, therapeutic and fun-filled holiday.

We are both vegans and I am a raw vegan chef which was one of my main reasons for choosing the Waterfall Villas. We were in heaven with the amazing food prepared by Fateh and her lovely assistants. Fateh is an amazing raw food chef and has studied with Eric Rivkin who resides part-time in Costa Rica! We ate gourmet raw dinners and desserts every night with our raw food package. Some people ate cooked vegan meals and some had fish dinners. So there was something for everyone to enjoy. All the food is fresh, local and organic. We also enjoyed mouth watering tropical fruits for breakfast.

Everyone ate at one big table and it was fun discussing the food and meeting new people. It's not often that we get to meet so many healthy like-minded people while on vacation! I really enjoyed the relaxed yet classy dinner and breakfast experience.

Our villa was so amazing and beautiful. We were in the Butterfly Dream Villa. Franco and Fateh built these villas themselves and put their heart and soul into making them so wonderful. Franco explained how everything in each room was designed using Feng Shui philosophies (I have to admit I need to learn more about this myself). My husband and I re-did our whole house a few years ago so we can appreciate all the details and amazing workmanship that was put into the villas. Even the stonework done in the shower and bathroom area was fit for a king! The artwork was also amazing with paintings and sculptures in our villa. Fateh is a very talented artist and did the butterfly paintings.

And I also have to mention that our own balcony overlooking the stream and rainforest was so soothing. After certain activities we did during the day, it was a pleasure to relax and read on the balcony before dinner and enjoy the sounds of the rainforest.

The waterfalls on the property are gorgeous and so special, even during the dry season. There are a couple decks built for sitting by the waterfalls. The property also has some short but lovely hiking trails where we spotted toucans. (go in the morning or evening to see the toucans)

I love how the Waterfall Villas are owned and run by Fateh and Franco and their involvement with all aspects of the resort. Franco was very helpful in advising and organizing our adventures, hikes and tours. On Saturday, he took all of us staying at the villas out on the most amazing hike to the biggest waterfall in the south pacific region of Costa Rica. I highly recommend this one if you are in good hiking shape (bring decent hiking shoes).

Fateh shared her practice of Kundalini Yoga in the mornings on this large flat rock located right next to the stream and waterfalls. It was my first time doing this beautifully style of yoga and we both loved it. If you don't have an early morning tour or activity, don't miss Fateh's morning yoga. It is the perfect way to begin your day! Whether you are a yoga newbie or a seasoned guru, this will be a lovely experience.

Normally by the end of a vacation, we can't wait to return back home. But we felt sad when we had to leave. We both really loved being at the Waterfall Villas and loved Costa Rica. Even though there are still so many places we want to see in the world, we'll definitely be back here again someday! We are missing Fateh, Franco, our new friends and Costa Rica!

Here are a few misc comments & advice:

1-The weather was very hot and humid (around 90F everyday). Even at night it's still very warm. We packed some long sleeve shirts and even a couple light weight jackets for the evening and didn't need them at all. We wished we had packed more shorts and tank tops. So bring all your hot weather clothes if you come in the high/dry season like March.

2-We were shocked at how we didn't need bug spray while hiking in the jungles. But if bugs love you, bring some of the natural herbal bug repellents. Fateh said she brings back the natural stuff from the US

3- Surfing is great! Take a lesson! But make sure you buy long surf shorts to protect your knees and upper thighs from chaffing.

4-Use the highest spf sunscreen you can find and protect your face. It's so important to be mindful of the sun.

5-If you can afford a really nice camera, I highly recommend it! You'll see lots of animals and wildlife. Put it on a credit card if feasible as you'll be bummed like us with only a simple digital camera....Next time in Costa Rica we will have a really good camera with a telephoto lens for the macaws, toucans, monkeys, etc!

6-Take the time to learn a little Spanish if you can. While you can get by without knowing the language, the Costa Ricans appreciate it if you try and make an effort. We are going to be taking Spanish classes as we felt badly not knowing a second language.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joycevt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews