We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Best Hotel in Playa Dominical!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Domilocos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Domilocos
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Dominical
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel in Playa Dominical!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for Christmas and New Years - If you want comfortable clean rooms, great service, accessible position without being in the heart of it all, and amazing food. This is the place.

We met some amazing people here, a few of whom go back to this hotel on a yearly basis - which tells you something about the place - you are welcome with open arms. You are not smack bang in the middle of town so its a good escape from the bars but also close enough for it to have easy access to everywhere... the hotel is 2 minutes from the beach so we enjoyed many sundowners here.. with the occasional bonfire....PARADISE.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    39
    29
    17
    15
See reviews for
25
74
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked this hotel for our first night in Costa Rica because we were on our way from San Jose to the Osa Peninsula. It was the peak of holiday time and we planned our trip late in the game. Domilocos was the only place that had any rooms available. That is the ONLY reason to stay at this hotel--if there is no other place available!

We are not fussy people and have stayed in a variety of places--from very simple to the most luxurious.

A night at this place feels like living in a slum. It is not clean. The towels are old, and torn and made us itch. The sheets are also itchy and the beds unbearable. There are cats everywhere. The AC is minimal. The jacuzzi is broken and you would not want to put your foot in it, not to mention have your kids swim in it!

If you look at the back of the building, it is not even finished! It has tarps blowing in the wind.
This place isn't cheap by CR standards--we paid $140 for the room

We were hesitant to eat the "free" breakfast, but actually, that was the ONLY redeeming part of the stay here. Avoid this place!

Room Tip: There are not any good rooms from what i can tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreast1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent one night at Hotel Domilocos in route to Playa Matapalo. We felt it was a great deal for the price. Our room was quiet and comfortable with air conditioning. We arrived around 10pm and restaurant was closing but staff was very cordial and stayed to serve us a cerveza which we greatly appreciated after our long trip from the US and drive to Dominical from San Jose. We were all very pleased with our complimentary breakfast the next morning of great coffee (and believe me you can get bad coffee at hotels in Costa Rica) eggs, and fresh fruit. Open air restaurant allows you to absorb the sounds of the birds singing and the beautiful flowering plants around you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXTraveler6756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a great place to stay while in Dominical. Can't get closer to the best surf spot and the staff is very helpful. Restaurant is great for groups and dinners were terrific. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I've traveled all over the world and I've never experienced beds as bad as this hotel had. We're talking sink in the middle, squeaky, can't walk in the morning beds. worst beds ever. Don't stay here unless you are desperate or too cheap to care about being able to walk the next day.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goaggieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

A very good location close to the beach, restaurants, and surf rental.
The room was basic but very convenient and defintely worth it given the price.
The breakfast delicious and staff very nice.

Maybe lacking a bit of air and space in the room but it was OK for 4 nights.
Anyway in Dominical, you stay on your surf board, at the beach and not inside.

Olivier

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
236 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We arrived in Dominical for what we thought was going to be for 5 nights to do some scuba diving. The pictures on reviews reflect this hotel when it was new. Not sure what has happened here but it has become dilapidated and undesirable. We knew that Dominical was a small surf town but we just could not bring ourselves to stay more than one night. To start off, the woman at the desk did not want to honor our reservation for the same price. The very small courtyard between the restaurant and office was unkept with about 3 or 4 cats using it for their facilities. The hot tub was not operational. Our beds were cheap and squeaked (more liked screamed) everytime you moved. The air conditioning only worked well if you kept the bathroom door shut which made it very stuffy, although it helped drown out the machinery running out back all night. We did have a small fridge in the room, held shut with a strap of duct tape. Our free breakfast was an even bigger concern. You had to fight the flies away from the jam pot while making toast and not everything looked especially desirable. I couldn't bring myself to even eat the fruit thinking there had been flies all over it on the open platter. No where else we stayed had even one fly, we think it had to do with all the cats, and there was the whiff of it in the air. Please think twice before staying here. Probably ok for surfers on a very tight budget but you still might not want to take any chances.

Room Tip: This place really needs serious improvement and the lady running the desk needs a course in customer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.0 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#10 of 13 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#4 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domilocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domilocos

Property: Hotel Domilocos
Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 21 room hotel located at 50 meters from the beach, with a very popular Italian restaurant called ConFusione. The spacy, clean rooms are all equipped with A/C, private bathrooms and hot water. The standard rooms can accomodate up to 4 people, the big rooms up to 7 people. We have a huge jacuzzi, and end of may 2008 the lounge bar will be ready. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Domilocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domilocos Hotel Dominical
Hotel Domilocos Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing