We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for the price”
Review of Hotel Domilocos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Domilocos
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent one night at Hotel Domilocos in route to Playa Matapalo. We felt it was a great deal for the price. Our room was quiet and comfortable with air conditioning. We arrived around 10pm and restaurant was closing but staff was very cordial and stayed to serve us a cerveza which we greatly appreciated after our long trip from the US and drive to Dominical from San Jose. We were all very pleased with our complimentary breakfast the next morning of great coffee (and believe me you can get bad coffee at hotels in Costa Rica) eggs, and fresh fruit. Open air restaurant allows you to absorb the sounds of the birds singing and the beautiful flowering plants around you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXTraveler6756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Domilocos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 188 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a great place to stay while in Dominical. Can't get closer to the best surf spot and the staff is very helpful. Restaurant is great for groups and dinners were terrific. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I've traveled all over the world and I've never experienced beds as bad as this hotel had. We're talking sink in the middle, squeaky, can't walk in the morning beds. worst beds ever. Don't stay here unless you are desperate or too cheap to care about being able to walk the next day.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goaggieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A very good location close to the beach, restaurants, and surf rental.
The room was basic but very convenient and defintely worth it given the price.
The breakfast delicious and staff very nice.

Maybe lacking a bit of air and space in the room but it was OK for 4 nights.
Anyway in Dominical, you stay on your surf board, at the beach and not inside.

Olivier

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We arrived in Dominical for what we thought was going to be for 5 nights to do some scuba diving. The pictures on reviews reflect this hotel when it was new. Not sure what has happened here but it has become dilapidated and undesirable. We knew that Dominical was a small surf town but we just could not bring ourselves to stay more than one night. To start off, the woman at the desk did not want to honor our reservation for the same price. The very small courtyard between the restaurant and office was unkept with about 3 or 4 cats using it for their facilities. The hot tub was not operational. Our beds were cheap and squeaked (more liked screamed) everytime you moved. The air conditioning only worked well if you kept the bathroom door shut which made it very stuffy, although it helped drown out the machinery running out back all night. We did have a small fridge in the room, held shut with a strap of duct tape. Our free breakfast was an even bigger concern. You had to fight the flies away from the jam pot while making toast and not everything looked especially desirable. I couldn't bring myself to even eat the fruit thinking there had been flies all over it on the open platter. No where else we stayed had even one fly, we think it had to do with all the cats, and there was the whiff of it in the air. Please think twice before staying here. Probably ok for surfers on a very tight budget but you still might not want to take any chances.

Room Tip: This place really needs serious improvement and the lady running the desk needs a course in customer...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in low season and for the price of a hostel-room we got a nice hotel! The breakfast was so good-especially the PANCAKES!the rooms are nice and clean and the hotel is very close to the beach.Michael is very helpful.We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanChlumsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was a bit dark in the room as one of the lights was out over the sink area. AC worked fine once I figured out how to work the controls, too many buttons! There was breakfast with the rate which is always nice but again pretty basic, mostly because of low season and low number of guests.
But for 40$ what can ya say, not too bad and with the low number of guests it was quiet.
We are returning guests so I guess that says something, and I do remember the walls being really thin.
Beach location is right across the road, the road really needs work though, I thought I was going to lose my car in one of the sink holes in the road on the way to the hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulldogtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dominical hotels
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#11 of 14 in Dominical
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 14 in Dominical
89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#7 of 14 in Dominical
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arena y Sol
Hotel Arena y Sol
#13 of 14 in Dominical
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domilocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domilocos

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Price Range: $40 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 21 room hotel located at 50 meters from the beach, with a very popular Italian restaurant called ConFusione. The spacy, clean rooms are all equipped with A/C, private bathrooms and hot water. The standard rooms can accomodate up to 4 people, the big rooms up to 7 people. We have a huge jacuzzi, and end of may 2008 the lounge bar will be ready. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Domilocos Hotel Dominical
Hotel Domilocos Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing