We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unkept, questionable sanitary conditions” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Domilocos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Domilocos to your Saves list
Hotel Domilocos
Dominical, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Dominical
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
171 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Unkept, questionable sanitary conditions”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We arrived in Dominical for what we thought was going to be for 5 nights to do some scuba diving. The pictures on reviews reflect this hotel when it was new. Not sure what has happened here but it has become dilapidated and undesirable. We knew that Dominical was a small surf town but we just could not bring ourselves to stay more than one night. To start off, the woman at the desk did not want to honor our reservation for the same price. The very small courtyard between the restaurant and office was unkept with about 3 or 4 cats using it for their facilities. The hot tub was not operational. Our beds were cheap and squeaked (more liked screamed) everytime you moved. The air conditioning only worked well if you kept the bathroom door shut which made it very stuffy, although it helped drown out the machinery running out back all night. We did have a small fridge in the room, held shut with a strap of duct tape. Our free breakfast was an even bigger concern. You had to fight the flies away from the jam pot while making toast and not everything looked especially desirable. I couldn't bring myself to even eat the fruit thinking there had been flies all over it on the open platter. No where else we stayed had even one fly, we think it had to do with all the cats, and there was the whiff of it in the air. Please think twice before staying here. Probably ok for surfers on a very tight budget but you still might not want to take any chances.

Room Tip: This place really needs serious improvement and the lady running the desk needs a course in customer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in low season and for the price of a hostel-room we got a nice hotel! The breakfast was so good-especially the PANCAKES!the rooms are nice and clean and the hotel is very close to the beach.Michael is very helpful.We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanChlumsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
224 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was a bit dark in the room as one of the lights was out over the sink area. AC worked fine once I figured out how to work the controls, too many buttons! There was breakfast with the rate which is always nice but again pretty basic, mostly because of low season and low number of guests.
But for 40$ what can ya say, not too bad and with the low number of guests it was quiet.
We are returning guests so I guess that says something, and I do remember the walls being really thin.
Beach location is right across the road, the road really needs work though, I thought I was going to lose my car in one of the sink holes in the road on the way to the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bulldogtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We chose Hotel Domilocos because the signs in town offered incredibly inexpensive rooms. They were somewhat higher when we negotiated at the desk, but by skipping the a/c (not necessary in October) we kept the price to a minimum. The hot tub wasn't operational in the off season, but the hotel grounds are well kept and rooms are clean. The owner is Dutch, and the rooms have a European feel that is different in CR. The beds have beautiful black bamboo frames, are very firm, but creak when you turn over. That's my only negative. Location a few steps from the ocean, fantastic buffet in the morning in a beautiful room, good showers and maybe in season, a working hot tub.

Room Tip: A/c is optional. By skipping the a/c, you can pay for the great breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We enjoyed a 3 night stay at this fine hotel. Room was clean, had cold AC, and plenty of hot water. We needed reliable wifi for some online school that needed to be completed during our stay. We were pleased to find high speed wifi access in the room. Many hotels claim to have wifi, but often the service is intermittent or only works in the lobby. This was not the case here.

Breakfast was very good. Gallo pinto, eggs, fresh fruit, and pancakes available buffet style.

Only complaint, which is fairly significant. The beds were not comfortable and they squeaked and creaked very loudly with only the slightest movement. Merely rolling over was enough to wake you up, and any further movement was enough to wake your neighbor.

Restaurant was not open for dinner during our visit.

Overall: Great value, but beds need work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

This was a fun place to stay. The town of Dominical is tiny, but the reputation of the hotel is large. And everyone who has stayed there knows the owner, Michael. From his first firm handshake you know this is a well run business. The rooms are basic, but we didn't come to sit inside. The beach is a 5 minute walk from your room. The restaurant was closed for the low season, but breakfast was good. They are especially proud of their pancakes, which are more like thick crepes. If you have any questions about the area Michael is your man. He pointed us to a beach called Dominicalito, which turned out to be the best beach of our whole vacation.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was recommended Domilocos by a friend on a recent business trip. I liked that it is not in the very center of town but at the further end of the road. A one block walk to the beach on a lovely quiet road. Michael was very friendly and the room was perfect. Airconditioning, lots of hot water in the shower, cable TV, WiFi, and a very nice restaurant to hang out in with a great breakfast. It was buffet style which I like because I love to have my cups of coffee before eating. It was so comfortable and clean and I think it had great value at $45 for TWO people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
0.0 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
0.0 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#9 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#6 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diuwak
Hotel Diuwak
#13 of 13 in Dominical
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#2 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rio Lindo Resort
Rio Lindo Resort
#8 of 13 in Dominical
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domilocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domilocos

Address: Dominical, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Dominical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 21 room hotel located at 50 meters from the beach, with a very popular Italian restaurant called ConFusione. The spacy, clean rooms are all equipped with A/C, private bathrooms and hot water. The standard rooms can accomodate up to 4 people, the big rooms up to 7 people. We have a huge jacuzzi, and end of may 2008 the lounge bar will be ready. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Domilocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domilocos Hotel Dominical
Hotel Domilocos Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#