We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel with incredible food, but stay away from the cocktails”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cuna del Angel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Dominical
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, very clean in a great setting. The photos speak for themselves.

The staff is nice, not as helpful as in other hotels we have stayed at, but overall good.

You should have a meal at their restaurant, I will easily say my husband and I had one of our best meals EVER there. However, when the waiter kindly offers you a cocktail, go ahead and ask how much it is. Mine was 20 bucks, just saying!

Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawandreann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcda, Gerente at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Thank you very much for the time in writing your comments, we feel happy that you had a good time with us, yes, as you say the food is very good, probably one of the best restaurants on the area. We hope you can come and visit us again soon, it will be a pleasure to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 527 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel had a pleasant appearance at first impression but the room we had was well worn down and disappointing. The AC was so loud it kept us awake. The ceiling fan above the bed had settings for 3 speeds but only the high speed worked. The shower spray was substandard. It consisted of a heavy dribble. The floor drain in the bathroom released a constant odor of sewer gas. The tub tile was well worn and gross. At least the towels were thick and in good shape. The mattress was pretty worn and should be replaced. But the room was clean and a good size over looking the pool. The hotel staff were very accommodating once we checked in. It was strange that the staff saw us pull in the parking lot but no one came down the stairs to help us bring our bags up the 30 or so steps to the reception. The only way in the hotel are by the stairs. The hotel staff were very professional, friendly and helpful with questions. the restaurant food was excellent along with the service. the pool was very nice. Seems as though this hotel is overdue for some much needed maintenance. I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueJake12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you very much for the time spent in writing your comments, we will defenetly put attention to every aspect that you pointed out, we feel very happy that you enjoyed the service, the food and the areas surrounding, but we are concerned about the feeling of lack of maintenance, I promise we will do an effort on the aspect and check every point you mention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel was fine and comfortable, and the restaurant was truly exceptional. The menu was not full of exotic dishes; rather, every dish we tried was exceptionally well prepared and beautifully presented. We liked the food so much that we asked to talk to the chef to compliment him personally. The pool was lovely, the setting was very nice. The ground floor room opened up to the garden, which was nice, although the room was quite small.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatjaSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

The food for our guests in the restaurant has been always one of our priorities, we feel very happy that you liked and enjoyed it. Thank you for the time to write your review, please come visit us again, we will be waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place is top notch, five star all the way, a rarity in the Dominical area. The staff are all eager to please, the accomodations are super comfortable, and the food in the restaurant is wonderful. The pool is stunning. I wish we could have stayed here longer!

Room Tip: A room on the side will be farther away from the pool and restaurant if seeking a lot of privacy or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you very much for the time taken to write your nice comments so all readers can see what a great time you had. We feel very happy that you had such a good time with us, we hope you can visit us some time again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in December 2012 in one of the standard jungle rooms. From the time we checked in, service was wonderful but the room we were allocated was tiny, dark, hot and smelled of mould. For nearly $140 a night I expected better. We asked to upgrade to a deluxe room in the main house but unfortunately there were none available the first night of our stay. The front desk staff were incredibly kind and eventually upgraded us for our second night. We had no complaints about the food, the staff or the other services and we were very grateful for the help with our eventual room move. Nevertheless if we'd been able to do it all over we would have booked a deluxe room in the house (althought that was at an admittedly very steep price of $240 per night) because our original jungle room was such a disappointment.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank floorbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear friend, thank you very much for the time taken to write your review, we feel glad that you were very weel treated and with very good service. Jungle rooms are smaller and more rustic compared to the deluxe rooms, some people enjoy them because they are in the middle of the rainforest, but considering that you didn´t liked them, we feel glad that we could move you to the other ones. Happy to hear that you liked the food and the service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

With our Ara Tours Flexivoucher we were really excited to stay at this luxurious hotel. Unfortunately this was the only hotel where we felt we didn't get an upgrade. On the contrary, our room was the smallest we ever had while traveling! The bed was 1.20m wide, the bathroom so tiny you could barely turn, and the terrace not worth spending time on. The swimmingpool was very nice, and the restaurant looked lovely but we felt simply was out of our budget at the time, even for breakfast. In fact, compared to the other hotels we stayed at in the area, we felt this was our least favorite just because of those reasons; luxury from a distance while you're stuck in a tiny room just isn't that enjoyable. Which is a shame, because the hotel is obviously very thoughtfully decorated and high-end. I think this hotel is only interesting when you can pay for all it has to offer; the half-measured approach simply isn't up to par to the other options the area can offer you. Oddly enough, even though this is one of the most luxurious places we stayed at, this was the only place we found a cockroach in the room!

Room Tip: Pick the rooms next to the swimmingpool, not the ones in the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolanda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

We are very sorry you could not fully enjoy the property as you wanted, rooms assigned to the flexi voucher ar the jungle rooms that, yes, are smaller than the deluxe ones but they sitll have a charm and are located in the middle of the rainforest where you can see lots of wild life just from the terrace, that is the reason why you found the insect you mention, it is not due to lack of cleaning , it is because they are right amidst the forest. Maybe next time you can have meals with us, and fully enjoy. Happy new year to all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

OMG this is a wonderful treasure located in the beautiful jungles of Dominical, Costa Rica. I will definitely be returning...From the amazing landscape and rooms to the incredible cuisine in the restaurant the owners have covered every detail imaginable. The service in impeccable and that of a 5 star hotel and all of the tours/extra's we went on WERE AMAZING!! Every room is named after an angel and there are even some rooms right in the jungle!!! We saw tons of different wildlife and birds right from the property. It is easy to get to and a secret oasis in a gorgeous rainforest. Everything that you can think of they have, my husband and i even got amazing chocolate massages! Definitely a destination to add to any Costa Rican Vacation. Do the waterfall tour definitely but unless you are a star kayaker stay away from that...was hard and exhausting...lol Surfing is a must...such beautiful and serene beaches...DEFINITELY WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!!!!

Room Tip: most rooms overlook the pool unless you get a jungle room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcda, Manager at Hotel Cuna del Angel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Hello Shelly , first of all , we would like to wish you a happy new year, full of good things and to all the readers at the same time too :).
Regarding your comment, thank you very much for all the nice things you say. We feel very happy that you liked the service we offered, we work hard on that, and that you enjoyed our food at the restaurant. The activities that you can choose from are also great in the area, glad you had such a great time with us, it will be a pleasure to have you back with us.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dominical
4.7 mi away
MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical
1.3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#4 of 14 in Dominical
422 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villas Rio Mar
Villas Rio Mar
#3 of 14 in Dominical
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Waterfall Villas
Waterfall Villas
#6 of 14 in Dominical
213 reviews
4.3 mi away
Roca Verde
Roca Verde
#8 of 14 in Dominical
90 reviews
5.4 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cuna del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cuna del Angel

Address: | entrance to Puertocito, 9 km south of Dominical Beach, Dominical 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Dominical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dominical
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dominical
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dominical
#4 Family Hotel in Dominical
Price Range: $92 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cuna del Angel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cuna del Angel is an exclusive and cozy boutique hotel that is committed with high quality standards in service and sustainability, its facilities are comfortable and intimate with an atmosphere of tranquility and romance surrounded by exuberant nature in the South Pacific of Costa Rica. Cuna del Angel is the ideal scenery for honeymoons and fantastic adventurous vacations. Located in Bahia Ballena, at the amazing South Pacific of Costa Rica, where the resplendent green of mountains can be admired year around. The name Bahia Ballena (Whale Bay) is to honor the yearly arriving of whales to the region; these impressive mammals can be easily seen year after year when they come to mate and give birth to their calves. Bahia Ballena is considered a strategic location to visit and explore important tourist attractions such as: Manuel Antonio National Park, Marino Ballena (Whale Marine) National Park and the worldwide famous Corcovado National Park, besides a wide variety of exciting activities in the vicinity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cuna del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuna Del Angel Hotel
Cuna Del Angel Dominical
Hotel Cuna Del Angel Costa Rica/Dominical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing